We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
247
28
7
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
28
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews khwai river hot coals wild dogs game viewing ralph lauren long table hot water bottles thought of everything bush baby safari experience main tent wonderful safari morning activity family tent mokoro ride moremi reserve amazing days
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 285 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2015

This is the first time that I've really had a chance to sit down and write about Machaba. Definitely the wow factor.

We just stayed at an amazing 6 star lodge in the Timbavati Region, so staying in a tent was going to be another experience.

We stayed for 3 nights and was not disappointed in any way. If this is camping then bring it on. We had an amazing tent that looked straight at the Khwai River, so we were able to see the wildlife. Elephants and hippos were always in the water. They would also walk around your tent - you felt safe, there was no danger. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was fantastic with an outside shower as well.

The food was excellent. The staff couldn't do enough for you and they were so polite. Richard, Carl and Elke were always around to ensure everyone was comfortable and they didn't want for anything. Fernando the trainee was great as he mingled with the guests.

We were very very lucky to have experience a bush dinner and a champagne breakfast, These were done as surprises and wow, they did surprise and I couldn't get over the amount of effort that went into making us have the most memorable experience ever.

We also did the mokoro ride and once again memorable. It is a must do when you are there and included in your tarrif.

With the game drives, again, fantastic. It only took a little while and our guide (omg can't remember his name) was chatting and we were all laughing having a good time. He got us to see the last of the Big 5 - leopard. We also were lucky to see the end of a kill. Just amazing. They really take the time so you see every animal possible.

As we still have to work our business whilst away, there is Wi-Fi. Only available sometimes, no hassle, believe me we wouldn't be doing anything on the internet if we didn't have to.

Machaba was the end of our safari's and I can't recommend this camp/lodge enough. No wonder it has just been voted the No.1 destination in 2016. You will not be disappointed.

Thank you to Elke, Shaun, Richard, Carl and Fernando for just the most amazing experience ever. Oh and getting bogged in the sand whilst the sun is setting and the leopards are still feeding on the kill, was just the best highlight.

Room tip: All tents are good.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JazzbabyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2015

Spent the last three nights here while on safari. Comfortable accommodation, nice view over the green channel with resident hippos. Good service, the food was a little disappointing here and the guides seemed a little less enthusiastic, however the staff were friendly. Plentiful wildlife, a family of hyena's with two young cubs, wild dogs and lots more. I also enjoyed the Mokoro trip and the walking safari. There is a Spa menu available for tied safari bodies or just like to relax in the siesta time.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travellerjanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2015

Spent 3 nights at Machaba camp. Had some lovely wildlife encounters which included observing a lion kill, a hyaena den with a small cub, a leopard, a group of red billed oxpeckers preening an impala in beautiful light not to mention the elephants and hippos. Great view of many birds of prey, a Pell's fishing own and a grey collared Kingfisher.
The camp was very comfortable and the staff were very professional, friendly and welcoming. I feel so lucky to have experienced such a wonderful place.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKateA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2015

My wife and me just came back from Botswana, spending last 2 nights in this camp, after being in Chobe and in Moremi. Machaba was the best by far, from the facilities ( with big tent well equipped), to the staff, really friendly people who enjoy their job, with special mention to our guide, Shaun, incredibly skilled and always willing to please you stopping for photos as many times as you ask for.
We got lucky to see, after a rain, how millions of flying termites covered the sky, a bit annoying feeling but for sure hardly repeatable.
Therefore, we highly recommend this Machaba Camp.
Alexandra & Joan from Barcelona (Spain )

Room tip: romos closer to common área are safer facing posible visits of big animals
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alcaraz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2015

We, 2 adults from Denmark, spend 3 nights in this exclusive camp (14.11-17.11, 2015), coming from Chobe Elephant Camp (3 nights) and from Vic. Falls in Zimbabwe (4 nights).
This was our 8th trip into an African safaris destination, so we have lots of experiences to compare with, however our conclusion is that Machaba Camp is among the best we have ever experienced.
Having been part of the global Travel Industry for more than 45 years, we should know what we are talking about.
We stayed in a big exclusive Tent located very few meters from the edge of the River, Elephants few meters from the Tent, very high standard. From early morning until late evening - from management level to every single staff member - we were met by smiling and service minded people only interested to do everything to get you feel happy and comfortable.
The food was very well prepared, served properly at the table or by the buffet, very good tasting.
Our best recommendation to this Machaba Camp.
Helle & Flemming Ekstroem / Copenhagen / Denmark

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damai1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews