We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It' s good, but no wine list and limited wines”

Yew Tree The Indian Courtyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Yew Tree is a contemporary Indian restaurant serving both Classic and Modern Indian Food. Private Barn Room with facilities for Private and Corporate events for up to 30 guests. Live Barbecue and large outdoor beer garden and decking area with breathtaking views of the local Farnham Common & Hedgerley country side village. Offering seating capacity of 60 guests in our restaurant, fully licensed bar with selection of best Indian and International Wine, Beers and Spirits. At Yew Tree (The Indian courtyard) we cater for all occasions like Wedding Receptions, Birthday Parties, Corporate Events, Christmas Parties, Private buffets. Meetings & Conference Facilities in our air conditioned Natural Day light and pillar free barn room with 55" LED TV and Bose surround sound system. Large area for team building exercises and onsite free parking for up to 30 cars.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Went to the yew tree Saturday 20th the food is very fresh, but the waiter didn't have a clue about wines, he actually brought 3 bottles to me to ask which one I wanted!!!! but the food was excellent, and the chef gave us little entree before our meal, which were really nice, the nan bread was yummy, and the paneer was very good also my husband enjoyed the chicken, the chef also came to us to ask if we had enjoyed our meal and I asked him about the ingredients, if only your waiter knew wines or you had a wine list it would of got an excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kathryn q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritesh C, Owner at Yew Tree The Indian Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for your valuable feedback we would surely introduce training on wines to make sure our staff is aware of our drinks list we offer

we are presenting awaiting for our new drinks menu and have not got it yet, we apologise for the inconvenience caused and hope to see you soon

please let us know when you are here next and we shall organise a suitable discount as a gesture of apology

many thanks

Ritesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 176 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Delicious food, Sensible price and courteous service in an exceptionally pretty place. What else can you expect from a restaurant.
I've heard they are starting Weekdays buffets at just £6.99 , that’s a bargain not to be missed.
Thank you for a lovely evening. We shall be back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritesh C, Owner at Yew Tree The Indian Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Mr. Zudan

thanks very much for such valuable comments, we hope to see you soon

Many Thanks

Ritesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My partner and I came to Yew Tree on the 6th April through Taste Card website as, unlike other restaurants, they allow taste cards on the weekend. We did not know what to expect but we were greeted with a very warm welcome by the manager himself. We were given exceptional service and the food was delicious. We are looking forward to our next visit especially as it gets warmer outside as the garden has panoramic views over the countryside and we cant wait to spend time there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jordanp805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritesh C, Director of Sales at Yew Tree The Indian Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking your time out for your feedback. It's much appreciated.
It was a pleasure to serve you. I am glad you had a pleasant experience.
We look forward to welcome you back real soon.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu & The Yew Tree Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Been twice now and the food has been absolutely fantastic! I would say it is the equivalent of an Indian Alacarte not your glowing orange chicken with tikka sauce. Proper Indian food extremely well cooked. Lamb falls apart its so tender and sauces are individual and full of flavor. It has been empty and for that reason a little chillie, but wasn't bothered as food was so good. Service was fantastic and very friendly. Highly recommended! Lucky I live less than a mile away. See you again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mart2706_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritesh C, Owner at Yew Tree The Indian Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Mart

Thanks very much for such valuable comments, it makes our day when we hear such lovely words, we would also be introducing buffet service on weekdays only for as little as £6.99 from mid april

It gives us great motivation to try our best to make our restaurant a busy place

thanks very much and see you soon

Ritesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Friday night - the place was empty apart from three other tables. Popadoms and chutney were forgotten despite lack of diners. Restaurant was cold and lifeless. Food was OK but not of the standard raved about in other reviews. Wine list was non existent. Overall very disappointing - we will not be going back. On the plus side they try very very hard indeed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritesh C, Owner at Yew Tree The Indian Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Mr. Mark

I'm sorry to learn that your meal experience was not up to the mark.

We do not do complimentary popodums anymore but do chefs choice canape's instead, would apologise again if you did not get that

We are presently awaiting our new drinks list from our supplier and should hopefully be printed and ready by mid of april

On a second note, we are also introducing buffet meal from as little as £6.99 per person from tuesday to thursday, it would be on from mind of april again

When we took the restaurant from september end it was quite down and trying our best to increase our standards and guest awareness, as a gesture of apology i would be happy to offer a great discount on your next meal should you decide to try us again

We hope you would give us another chance to impress you

Many Thanks for your valuable comments

Ritesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yew Tree The Indian Courtyard also viewed

Farnham Common, Buckinghamshire
Farnham Common, Buckinghamshire
 
Slough, Berkshire
Farnham Common, Buckinghamshire
 
Farnham Common, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Yew Tree The Indian Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing