We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbeatable!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BonnieJea...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbeatable!”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The sun shone on us in Embleton, not only because we had booked The Old Police House - an asset of Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel - and what an asset! Accommodated seven of us comfortably including our grandson - and the two dogs loved it too! Only returned last evening, having spent the first beautiful sunny weekend of the year at the above, all of which served to enhance (if that is at all possible!) the Old Police House and its environment. Having reserved a table to eat dinner on our first night at Grey's Inn (just around the corner!), all agreed it was a "good shout"! sitting in a convivial atmosphere with the glow from the real fire! On our first full day, a group of the party ventured down to the hidden gem of Embleton Beach, with gran and grandson barefooting it into the water to jump the waves, after which we visited Warkworth where we ate a lovely lunch and enjoyed the walk around town and castle before heading to Amble - a very worthwhile journey to sample wonderful ice-cream from the ice-cream parlour before touring the "pods"! Journeyed on to Alnmouth to check out 9-hole golf-course alongside a beautiful beach, then returned to ready ourselves for eating dinner at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel - all thoroughly enjoyed it and finished off by relaxing by the fireside at "home" for the weekend! All slept well in comfortable beds! Day 3 the dogs were walked around Embleton while listening to the beautiful church bells chime before heading to Cragside (stunning!) in order to celebrate Mother's Day...no need to book for lunch - after eating that in the sunny Visitor Centre courtyard (step back to admire the towering pine trees behind!) - which on this Mother's Day were topped by a cloudless blue sky - we delighted in boarding the shuttle bus with good northern rapport from the driver who dropped us off at The House! From there we climbed and climbed via a range of steps, encountering wonderful photo-opportunity vistas along the way, to eventually reach the play area! Then gran and grandson ventured forth on the "Barefoot Walk", the finale of which was to walk through ankle-deep "freezing" dark wet mud!!! Oh the delight for gran to be a child again - and for the child to see that sometimes adults can return to childhood - if just for a little while! All too soon, the visit was over from this wonderful National Trust property, the extent of which cannot be covered in one visit! Returning "home" the decision was made to sit around the kitchen table and order take-away dinner (ssshhh!....pizza!) and then dessert was ordered from the hotel! This was promptly brought across to us by George and a female member of staff from the hotel - all served with a smile! Much enjoyed! Day 3 concluded our visit but not before Gran & Gramps christening their clubs at Alnmouth 9-holer with a great deal of help from their grandson! Checkout at 11am, so a quick run back to do that followed by all the family stopping off at Bamburgh for a lovely lunch followed by walking along the glorious beach behind the castle and a few races on the sandiest dune by various family members - grandson still claims to be the champion! Gran & grandpa chased the sun last September arriving in unknown Embleton and staying at the hotel! We enjoyed our visit then so much, that we brought most of our family this time to sample the delights of this Area of Outstanding Beauty - they were certainly not disappointed! All intend to return!!!.....I could not believe it when on Sunday late afo we went up to Greys Inn for a coffee. Who should sit down on the same seats as they were in last September but one of three couples with whom we had spent a great evening in conversation at that time!! They live south of Newcastle...and it was their first return (as it was ours) since we had last met!! Now, there's proof if ever it was needed! The area needs to be checked out!......but certainly not least the above accommodation in Embleton.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2017
Dear BonnieJean_12

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2017
Dear Paul1596

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of "the Old Police House" at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LizSmiff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Surpassed expectations”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

When I booked this cottage and saw the pictures on the web site I thought that they had probably been taken to show the cottage at it's best, however, they don't do it justice, it is amazing, so warm and spacious, so comfortable and everything you could possibly need and more. We have stayed in lots and lots of self catering cottages but this is the best one ever, unfortunately this has probably ruined it for any others we stay in as nothing could be as good as this. We loved every second, the weather has been a bit seasonal, ie very cold and windy but having to snuggle down at night in front of the lovely wood burner (wood provided), watching the tv (better than ours) was absolutely no hardship. Wanted to stay, no actually wanted to live there permanently! Whoever owns this should be proud that they have made this cottage such a wonderful place to stay. Will definitely try and book in again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
Dear Liz

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feeling.
Liked least: Could not find any faults.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
Dear Phil
We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of the Old police House at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
46PoshSpi...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Loved It”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Booked The Old Police House for our family who were attending a wedding at Newton Hall.
Could not have been better ideal distance to the venue, excellent accommodation for our family of 6 adults, 2 further adult members of the family and 2 grandchildren joined us for the friday, lovely evening enough room for us all, walk to the beach 10 minutes, lovely hotel opposite everything you could want in a break. Thank you again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not just one thing enjoyed the whole weekend
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2016
Dear Guest

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of the Old Police House at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2015
Dear Ms McDonough

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Old Police House The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you again in December.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MelanieMa...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Family break despite the inclement weather!”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The house was perfect, very comfortable yet stylish. It was well equipped with everything you would need for a holiday break. We will definitely be re-booking. The area was great with lovely walks to the beach and surrounding areas. Thoroughly recommend this holiday rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2015
Dear Melanie

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of the Old Police House at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
PS we will try to improve the weather the next time you stay with us!
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing