We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Cosy cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Dune Cottage living Room with natural flame fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dune Cottage living Room with natural flame fire
Dune cottage kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Dune Cottage living Room with natural flame fire
Dune cottage kitchen
dune cottage living room and patio doors
Great village location, yet so close to the beach
Private patio area with outdoor seating & BBQ
Quiet courtyard setting
Pristine golden sands of Embleton Bay just a 5 min walk away
Clear blue skies of Northumberland
Autumn sunrise over Dunstanburgh Castle
Beach walk to the Ship Inn at Low Newton-by-the-Sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RDHappyti...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cosy cottage”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just been to Dune Cottage for my birthday weekend and had a wonderful time. The cottage is just lovely, cozy, comfortable and everything you want for a cottage in beautiful Embleton Northumberland, the stars on an evening were lush. It has the best beach we have ever been to and we walked to Seahouses in the sunshine which was amazing. We had the breakfast package at Dunstanborough Castle Hotel too with dinner on the first night. The food and service was just so lovely, the Hotel is fab. Mike and Michelle looked after us perfectly. Thank you to them and everyone at the Hotel and cottage for a great weekend, can't wait to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you back soon
DCH
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dune Cottage”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Cosy cottage in a great location. Perfect for getting the kids to the fantastic Embleton Bay and visiting the Northumbria coast. Kids loved it, we loved it. Very well stocked kitchen made self catering easy and fantastic that we could order meals for delivery from hotel. Will definitely be back to Embleton in the future but may need a bigger cottage as the kids grow!.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2017
Pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Larger cottages are available!
Best wishes
DCH
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley523...
Washington,Tyne&Wear UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very good BUT”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is extremely well appointed, cosy and perfect for walks along the stunning beach to either Dunstanburgh Castle & Craster or Low Newton. We would have given it 5 if there weren't a few niggles. We arrived in darkness and one of the security lights was off which meant quite a hazardous walk down the side with a very excited dog. This would be very easy to fix. There is building work being done to the adjacent property so the garden area wasn't very attractive with rubble and building material piled up and what I assume will be an excellent water feature but unfinished so held green stagnant water, so we had to ensure the dog didn't drink it.
The biggest niggle was we booked this for our Anniversary and we're looking forward to being able to order meals from the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel to be delivered as stated in the information. However the hotel was closed for the month and therefore no service. Also this fact was not mentioned in any of the email traffic about the reservation before we arrived. One of the other pubs in the village was also closed so thank heaven for the Greys which was excellent and dog friendly. Therefore I would think twice about booking in January.
However during the rest of the year I'm sure it would be an excellent place to stay, particularly during the lighter nights and when the building work is complete.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2017
Dear Lesley5234
We would firstly like to apologise for your experience and thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. I can assure you that the experience you had is not indicative of the standard of customer service which we strive for.
I would however like to point out that you booked your self catering holiday via a self catering website. Whilst I appreciate that it may appear helpful to put opening and closing times of the hotel on to this website it is simply not possible for us to advertise any other service, including the hotel's opening & closing times. We do however close the last Sunday of every November and reopen the first Friday of ever February, as is clearly stated on our website and Facebook page. Regarding the email contact between ourselves and yourself we do not get that information until you have paid your balance, roughly four weeks prior. It may be helpful if you were to contact holiday lettings directly to find out the reason why.
Finally, we would like to reassure you that we have taken all the necessary steps to ensure that we do not repeat these failings you have highlighted. Should you be kind enough to visit again, I am positive that you will not experience similar problems.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIrch-hou...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just needs a little more love....”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Dune Cottage is very clean and tidy, the kitchen and bathroom fittings are good quality. However the cottage just needs a little more attention to detail to make it perfect. The pillows are in need of replacement, totally flat and offering no support. The hot water to the shower is strange, its got no adjustment its either on or off. The bathroom has nowhere to hang / dry towels, an electric towel rail would be fabulous. The curtains in the sitting room wouldn't close as the track seems to be broken.

The location is good, the cottage is nice and modern and the staff at the hotel are very friendly and accommodating. Just a few little updates would make this cottage perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2017
Dear Birch-house-21
We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are happy to report that all the items mentioned have been attended to. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
regards
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clodagh B
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay in a different cottage”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I (and on occasion friends and family) have holidayed many times in all four Policeman's cottages. Everything has always been perfect and our recent stay at Dune Cottage was no exception. We're looking forward to returning in late August, staying in two of the police house cottages with some family members but will probably sneak in an extra visit before then...... could not recommend a holiday in any of the cottages here more highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Dear Clodagh

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timcallag...
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The cottage is excellent on location, space, furnishings, equipment, decor, and facilities.”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in many cottages, Rural Retreats, Landmark Trust and many others Dune cottage is one of the best. The cottage is a cosy, well presented holiday retreat. Everything about it is high quality and you have the facilities of a very good Hotel at your disposal as well, you can order from the a la carte menu to be delivered to your door !! We have stayed 3 times and intend to return soon !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishings ,decor and facilities
Liked least: nothung
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
Dear Tim

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrummyChe...
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in lovely area”
Reviewed December 4, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this cottage but there are a few concerns. It was lovely and clean and very cosy inside. No washing machine which was not a problem as only stayed for 3 days. The track leading up to the cottage is very dark and the lighting is not brilliant until you get through the gate to the cottage. No mobile phone signal or phone and no wifi so trying to keep in touch with family was a pain although they did assure me that wifi was being connected after we left. The hotel was lovely and we had coffee in front of an open fire and the food was lovely too. There is a little shop in the village and a pub all very friendly. Had a lovely walk down to the beach on arrival which was 10 mins walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was very cosy inside
Liked least: Building work next door
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2015
Dear Pamela

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest?s comments and are continually striving to improve. Regarding the washing machine those facilities are offered in the guest notes and I am happy to tell you the wifi and smart tv are now fully operational. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing