We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another lovely stay in a different cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Dune Cottage living Room with natural flame fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dune Cottage living Room with natural flame fire
Dune cottage kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Dune Cottage living Room with natural flame fire
Dune cottage kitchen
dune cottage living room and patio doors
Great village location, yet so close to the beach
Private patio area with outdoor seating & BBQ
Quiet courtyard setting
Pristine golden sands of Embleton Bay just a 5 min walk away
Clear blue skies of Northumberland
Autumn sunrise over Dunstanburgh Castle
Beach walk to the Ship Inn at Low Newton-by-the-Sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clodagh B
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay in a different cottage”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I (and on occasion friends and family) have holidayed many times in all four Policeman's cottages. Everything has always been perfect and our recent stay at Dune Cottage was no exception. We're looking forward to returning in late August, staying in two of the police house cottages with some family members but will probably sneak in an extra visit before then...... could not recommend a holiday in any of the cottages here more highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Dear Clodagh

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timcallag...
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The cottage is excellent on location, space, furnishings, equipment, decor, and facilities.”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in many cottages, Rural Retreats, Landmark Trust and many others Dune cottage is one of the best. The cottage is a cosy, well presented holiday retreat. Everything about it is high quality and you have the facilities of a very good Hotel at your disposal as well, you can order from the a la carte menu to be delivered to your door !! We have stayed 3 times and intend to return soon !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishings ,decor and facilities
Liked least: nothung
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
Dear Tim

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrummyChe...
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in lovely area”
Reviewed December 4, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this cottage but there are a few concerns. It was lovely and clean and very cosy inside. No washing machine which was not a problem as only stayed for 3 days. The track leading up to the cottage is very dark and the lighting is not brilliant until you get through the gate to the cottage. No mobile phone signal or phone and no wifi so trying to keep in touch with family was a pain although they did assure me that wifi was being connected after we left. The hotel was lovely and we had coffee in front of an open fire and the food was lovely too. There is a little shop in the village and a pub all very friendly. Had a lovely walk down to the beach on arrival which was 10 mins walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was very cosy inside
Liked least: Building work next door
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2015
Dear Pamela

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest?s comments and are continually striving to improve. Regarding the washing machine those facilities are offered in the guest notes and I am happy to tell you the wifi and smart tv are now fully operational. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 25, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff and food
Liked least: no mobile phone signal
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2015
Dear Heather

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest?s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
Dear 650Amber

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest?s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tony E
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Honest Opinion”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Dune Cottage is very nice and comfortable with a great bathroom In a quite location. The description of private garden however is misleading, It is shared with the adjacent property and as a previous reviewer has stated currently undergoing renovation so in effect you are sharing with the builders. No mention of this when cottage booked and i find this quite remiss of the management. The builders to be fair were never too noisy but nevertheless when somewhere states private thats what it should be. Overall we enjoyed our stay and it iwas central to the areas we wanted to visit. Wi-fi would be a welcome addition as would a little more cutlery and crockery. Plenty of pans etc but too little crockery to warrant using the dishwasher really. Again this is only an opinion. Was going to give 3 stars but the cottage is a nice and pleasant place to stay so 4 stars despite reservation of privacy and no mention of building work by the management,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, some issues”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great location to explore the coast and the fabulous pubs locally. We walked out dog everyday and found it to be a very relaxing holiday when away from the cottage.
Accommodation is perfect size for two. However, building work on the house next door detracted from the quiet ambiance that we sought. Had to move car from risk of rubble hitting it from nearby skip. Car covered in rubble dust. Blind was broken in the bedroom. Remnants of washing up popped up in the bath that meant the cottage had an unpleasant smell at times.
Stayed first week of August and reported faults. Having read a recent review I note that they were not addressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
Dear Mr Lunt
We would firstly like to apologise for your experience and thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. I can assure you that the experience you had is not indicative of the standard of customer service which we strive for. The concerns you highlighted on departure have all been dealt with.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing