We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel - great food and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Just stayed two nights, very cosy and friendly hotel. The staff are smashing. the food was very good, using local ingredients and well cooked.

The hotel is located perfectly for good walks to the beach, good pubs and the castle.

The rooms are not amazingly glamorous, but that's not why you go there, they were very clean and comfortable.

There is a a couple of comfy lounges with sofas and a nice garden to sit in.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greentomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 806 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2010

I have just returned from a short break with friends in one of the Police House Cottages which are part of the Dunstanburgh Hotel in Northumbria. Originally I tried to book rooms in the hotel but it was fully booked and I was offered the remaining cottage with two double bedrooms. This turned out to be a very fortunate choice. Our booking was for bed and breakfast but we had two evening meals in the hotel. The menu offered variety, the portions were satisfying and the food was well presented. One night we catered for ourselves as the cottage has everything you need. The cottage was very clean, spacious and pleasantly furnished with comfortable beds. The en-suite bathrooms were not large but were well fitted out. (Meant to tell the owners the bathroom floor squeaked but I forgot!) Apart from this the cottage was a quiet and peaceful refuge. This cottage would be great for a self catering holiday as there was a small entrance hall with a separate downstairs cloakroom and storage space over a washer and dryer with ample hooks for outdoor coats. The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. Broadband was available free in the hotel which I found useful. The owners are obviously making needed improvements to the main hotel decor and we will be recommending the cottage and the surrounding area to our friends. We visited the excellent Alnwick Gardens where we had lunch in the Treehouse ( Beef sandwich and bacon baguette were splendid). We didn't plan a shopping spree but fun shoes were bought in the colourful Moshulu shop in Alnwick and more purchases were made up the coast in Bamburgh where Country clothes have some very attractive and original leisure wear. The beaches, birdlife and country walks made this a very pleasant and peaceful few days.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windhover147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We stayed at three bases in Northumberland, two B & B's and this hotel. The hotel was much more expensive but poorer in every way. We felt everything was done to a budget, small rthings, but they all added up. Half a tomato for breakfast, no hot chocolate, small thin bath towels. There was nothing on the table d'hote menu for vegetarians and little on the breakfast menu. (Some improvement when we complained about breakfast but nothing else) Previous management replies to negative reviews always said they could not do anything because they did not know, this was not the case. If the place had been up for sale we would not have been surprised.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Owner at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

This guest has painted an unfair and inaccurate portrait of our hotel - maybe they are disappointed because they expect "nothing but the best" (as seen on their on their profile) from a modest two star hotel.
We NEVER buy cheap inferior products for our hotel and we always try to provide food that guests will enjoy, even if it is not on the menu.
We buy our towels from a well known reputable supplier to hotel trade who describes them in their brochure as a "high quality 500 gsm towel" - I even use these towels at home and can say that they are neither thin nor cheap.
We do put half a cooked vine tomato on our standard breakfast grill, along with free-range eggs, sauteed mushrooms, award-winning Alnwick sausages and locally-cured bacon - all these ingredients are of the finest quality and from feedback that we have received, our portion sizes are more than adequate for the average guest.
We happily provide larger portions for guests wanting more food, so I cannot see why this would be grounds for complaint.
My partner and I have been vegetarian for over 15 years and feel that a vegetarian breakfast of fruit, cereals, toast & preserves, free-range eggs cooked scrambled, boiled, fried, poached, mushrooms, tomatoes & beans on request is more than adequate. However, we have been discussing the addition of a specific vegetarian breakfast grill to include veggie sausages and beans and we will introduce this to our menu within a few weeks.
As for vegetarian options on our table d'hote menu, we actually give all vegetarian guests free reign to choose any dish from the a la carte menu as well as the table d'hote - this gives vegetarians atleast five veggie starters and four veggie main courses to choose from each evening.
This particular guest would not have been aware of this policy as they did not actually eat in our table d'hote dining room during their stay - but felt compelled to complain about it on trip advisor nontheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Staff friendly and helpful and food (as part of DBB package) limited choice but well cooked. Room was the smallest room we've ever seen with lumpy bed. It's worth paying the extra for a cottage which was spacious and modern.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne99England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

This was our third visit to the hotel, and yet again we were not disappointed. We were greeted with a warm welcome, and throughout our stay we also met with cheerful helpful staff whether in reception, the bar or dining room. We also found that the housekeeping was excellent. Our meals, from the Table De Hote (as we were staying DB&B) had good choices and were very good. The breakfasts too were excellent (and the kippers really tasty!) This is a hotel where you know that you can relax, when returning in the evening after exploring the wonderful areas surrounding Embleton, and know that you will have a good meal with pleasant service, after a drink in a small but pleasant bar.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberta00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We were looking for a dog friendly hotel near the coast, having never been to Northumberland before, how lucky were we to pick the Dunstanburgh Castle at random.
I`d read the reviews, and arrived mildly concerned that we`d find a hybrid of Fawlty Towers and Bates Motel. What we did find was a lovely simple clean hotel with very helpful friendly staff, in a great peaceful location. The food was relatively basic, but the choice was good and everything we ate was lovely. The service was excellent, and not to be ripped off at the bar was as refreshing as the coastal scenery. I`ve stayed in four star hotels which were not a patch on this for cleaniliness and comfort. I think we did have one of the "premier" rooms, but even so, for a 2 star, it was superb, and the hounds were very complimentary about it also.
We`ll definitely be going back there, sooner rather than later.
Granite City Tourers

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EberdeenLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We had a standard room which was very newly decorated with a beautifully clean and also very new bathroom - great shower. We had table d'hote menu which was excellent. The menu varied each night and we could have eaten any of the meals on offer. the service is excellent and the staff are inredibly friendly. Breakfast is so good that we barely ate anything again till evening!! This is a great base for exploring the delights of northumberland. A real gem - no wonder its regularly fully booked

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
2.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
529 reviews
6.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
15.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
386 reviews
10.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range: $95 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing