We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place in england border”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very kind hosts and warm welcome. The restaurant is very good both for guests buffet or by menu service. Bar and lounge (with wifi) where you can stay longer for a tea, a beer or just talking with other guests. One of the most beautiful regions to visit in UK.
The hotel is a bit old and doors and floors produce some noise, but nothing quite serious. I spent a pretty good weekend there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FernandoLamego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear FernandoLamego


We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 850 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

Top marks all round here, staff were so friendly and were very accomodating. Allowed us to drop our bags in the room before hand so we could attend a wedding. Arranged a taxi for us to the wedding venue, delicious breakfast the following morning. Really made every effort to make sure we were comfortable and looked after.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anthony Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Anthony Q

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We only booked this hotel because it had availability when others in the area had none, so we went with trepidation that we may regret the decision. No need to have worried though, because we really enjoyed our time at the hotel. The food in particular, and the service are worthy of mention. Only downsides were the room was cold when we arrived and took an eternity to warm up, and the advertised wifi was only available in a lounge area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CFB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear CFB49

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Came across this looking for dog friendly hotel for Spinone walk at Druridge Bay. stayed 2 nights b&b in serviced cottage suite which was ideal. large enclosed well cared for garden. breakfast basic and could be improved but enjoyed excellent evening meal in lounge as with dog. staff very helpful and friendly. According to owner only 2 star AA rating because no room telephones apparently otherwise would be 4 star. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Chris E

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have been staying at this Hotel for 10 years now and visit 2/3 occasions per year. The accommodation, food and staff service are second to none.The Hotel is ideally located for visits to the numerous attractions which Northumberland offers. Embleton village is tranquil and the residents/visitors are well served with a garage, convenient store/post office, pub and church.The coast is less than one mile from the Hotel location.

Room Tip: If you are playing golf then book one of the cottages. You can store your golf equipment in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear john B

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was my sixth stay at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel since Easter 2010. It has always been my hotel of choice when hiking in beautiful Northumberland. This review is in relation to my two night stay in April 2014.
Setting:
Embleton is a sleepy, attractive village with a leisurely pace about it. From the hotel, you walk over a hill and down a lane to the golf course and then the stunning beach of Embleton Bay with the imposing Dunstanburgh Castle keeping watch on your right. An even stroll just as the stars are awakening is a must.
Accommodation:
This hotel is spotlessly clean throughout. I stayed in a recently renovated room (I know because I've stayed in the same room before) and the newly added window seat was a joy to look out over to the village church. Its power shower was excellent. It has two comfortable living rooms with books to read and a homely bar area located at the rear of the hotel which is particularly snug. The bar is well stocked with a good variety of beers, wines and spirits.
Dining:
I booked bed and breakfast but chose to eat in the evenings on both nights of my two night stay. I was not disappointed. Having on a few occasions eaten around in the neighbouring areas and eaten some subordinate and indifferent meals, I have regretted not booking a table in the hotel's grill room. Not this time. The food is beautifully cooked, presented and is priced well considering the quality of the dishes. I chose pork and beef from the specials board. I saw some excellent looking fish and chips served to a couple on the neighbouring table and decided that alone would be my excuse to return for a seventh stay. The cooked breakfasts are not "enormous" but I had plenty to eat and there is the usual choice of cereals, toast and the speciality of Seahouses kippers as well as a Vegetarian breakfast option.
Staff:
The staff are friendly, attentive, welcoming and are keen that your stay is a comfortable, happy and a contented one. This does feel like a home from home now.
Any negatives?:
Just the one. I found my room a little cold at night and found myself reaching for the t-shirt in bed. The heating elsewhere in the hotel was fine and ironically, as I sat eating my breakfast on the last morning of my stay, the radiator was very warm behind my chair. In fairness, April is a difficult month to gauge.
In conclusion:
A hotel where you are made to feel special, serving excellent food in a homely, relaxed and friendly setting at a very reasonable price.
Allow yourself the pleasure of a stay in Embleton's Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. I have my seventh stay in the back of my mind already!

Room Tip: Rooms with village views are particularly lovely. Enquire when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richthehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Richthehiker

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Sitting here writing this looking forward to a nights sleep after three nights without...why is this? We have previously enjoyed this Hotel and in the cottages....however this time we were kept awake by the continual racket made by the boiler ...with intermittent rattling from the freezer... not to mention the whistling pipes....terrible ...on the gaps when there was no noise there was not a sound in this peaceful village. The heat was drying and unpleasant even though we turned down the thermostat....and I also mentioned this after our first night and nothing was done to help us. The bathroom could indeed have been acceptable as a sauna...it being the by far hottest area from the underfloor out of control heating...Phew!

We had paid for our Evening meal which was good and made all the more enjoyable by James who is a spot on waiter and personality....but ...when informed there is a supplement should you order from the grill menu...watch out...it's not the usual fiver or so...no no...£12....yes £12 on top of the amount already paid for the meal....sadly we thought this was the price of the steak not the supplement on top...tut..tut.!

We felt that some sort of concession should have made as we have never complained before but only received a rather insincere apology and asked to pay up.....we will not return ...and we do hope that their customer service improves .

Room Tip: Stay in the Hotel building or Police cottages.....although the Hotel lounge could do with the ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twoofusanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Owner at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

We are very sorry that you did not find your stay with us as peaceful and restful as you have in the past. We have had our maintenance department look at the heating and the freezer in the cottage in question, and our subsequent guests have said that they are most comfortable and quiet.

I am sorry that you were surprised by the £12 supplement for your 10oz Northumbrian Sirloin steak with field mushrooms, onion rings, slow-roasted tomatoes, hand-cut chips and extra sauce.
We always buy the best quality local produce that we can - prime Northumbrian beef does have a cost attached, so that a steak with all the trimmings costs just over £20 if ordered from our a la carte menu.
The extra menu that this guest ordered from did show any supplements very clearly in a price column labelled "supplements" - most dishes are shown as £0 because they don't have any supplement at all, some have a supplement of £2-3, but sirloin steak does have the highest supplement of all because of it's cost to buy.
As readers can see from other reviews, we always try to offer friendly and sincere service to all our guests and would be happy to recompense any guest for a genuine mistake on our part. However, as we had not made a mistake with the bill, I did not feel that money off your bill was appropriate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
2.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
6.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
399 reviews
16.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
8.9 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range: $58 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing