We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband, myself and our 3 year old daughter decided to add an extra night onto our weekend break after exploring Edinburgh, and came across Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, it was about 4:30 pm in the afternoon and my husband went to ask if there were any rooms for the night, thankfully there were, we were shown two very spacious family rooms to choose from, we choose room 1. It was lovely and warm with a huge bed and sofa bed for the little one, the bathroom was modern and immaculately clean. There was tea, coffee and biscuits available, and all the usual, hairdryer etc.
We ate in the hotel and were not disappointed, the food was excellent however we did find the menu slightly limited. The service was fantastic every member of staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Overall a really positive over night stay we would definitely stay here again to explore the area more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemma k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 857 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

A great weekend at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, staying at The Stable. Spotless and very comfortable. Lovely log burning fire, unfortunately, the hotel only provided enough logs and kindle for one fires worth for our stay. Anymore had to be purchased near the laundry room. Food was excellent and service was perfect. The staff were very attentive and friendly, will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ange W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A wonderful return visit to the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We stayed in one of the Police House Cottages - the cottage was beautifully warm, cosy and immaculately clean and the perfect place to celebrate Christmas and my birthday - the cottage had everything we could have wished for. Plenty of space for three adults and three dogs; two ensuites plus a downstairs cloakroom was well beyond expectations. We previously stayed in one of the Rose Cottages - both equally gorgeous. Great local pub in Embleton (Greys Inn) and likewise just up the road at High Newton (Joiners Arms) - both very dog friendly. Walking on the beach in brilliant sunshine on Boxing Day was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnthonyandKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just had short break in our favourite place of Northumberland and stayed at the Old Barn, Rose Cottages in Embleton. Previously stayed at the Police Cottages but the Old Barn was just as nice. Supposed to have The Stable but really pleased we didn't as this was bigger for myself and daughter. Very cosy and very clean. Quiet and plenty parking within walking distance of Embleton Beach. Thank you Dunstanburgh Hotel for another lovely stay - we will be back

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank rsboauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had a lovely stay in police house cottages, it was clean and new. Underfloor heating was a bonus and was lovely and cosy also cottage had ample parking, there is a lovely beach near by and great walks for the dogs.
Would recommend this these cottages.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debra930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Dunstanbragh Castle Police Cottages for 6years and absolutely love it. It offers comfortable accommodation for our family and family dog. The location is perfect for lovely days out in the beautiful Northumberland. We will be booking again for another weekend to look forwards to in the new year.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreacleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed in the lovely Stables cottage, one of the Rose Cottages directly opposite the hotel. There is ample car parking beside the cottage and the facilities inside the cottage are fantastic - the decor is lovely and the underfloor heating is brilliant. There's also a wood burning fire, but not being used to using real fires we were a bit unsure how to get the fire going, but once we did it made the cottage even cosier. The cottage has everything you'd need for a self-catering stay, the kitchen facilities and bathroom are both really modern and the whole place was spotless. We took our foldable dog kennel, which fitted neatly under the open-plan stairs. Just a short drive and gentle brisk walk down to the beautiful beach and dunstanburgh castle, then a few pubs in the village too - we think our puppy enjoyed this lovely stay as much as we did - we would definitely recommend - and definitely plan to return in the summer..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
2.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,316 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
545 reviews
8.9 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,108 reviews
10.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
360 reviews
15.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range: $136 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing