We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure where the castle is?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, friendly, warm welcome greets you on arrival.
The rooms are nice with all the usual suspects present and correct.
I stayed on a dinner, bed & breakfast package, which is a good idea because it's a bit in the middle of nowhere, and the food is good. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomroyce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 857 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I last visited this hotel in 2004 and had very fond memories from our stay then. This time round, we took advantage of one of the hotel's "Fireside Breaks" from 16-23rd March. It was even better than we remembered, with a special vegetarian menu, which had been created with a lot of thought (not the usual left-over offerings here!). The accommodation was very clean and the bed was large and comfy. The staff were very professional and the welcomes were warm! I think it is a shame that this hotel only merits 2 stars,as my husband and I think it should be more, based on the quality of the accommodation and the excellent food. Many interesting places to explore and lovely people to meet! I think another visit in the future is definitely in order!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had an excellent 3 night break in the very well appointed Old Police House cottages which are associated with the Hotel. Very comfortable, well equipped and super warm - good value too!

We didn't use any of the hotel facilities so can't comment on them specifically. We would certainly return to the cottage however.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank FamilyAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just back from a fireside break. Good value and friendly staff. Set in a quiet village within an interesting area. Great beaches to walk to. Dogs allowed in rooms but not in other areas.
Food was very good and vegetarians are well catered for.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our fifth stay at the hotel. The location is superb giving easy access to many excellent coastal walks from Embleton to Lower Newton by the Sea, Beadnell and Craster, as well as to the places of interest of Alnwick, Seahouses, Bamburgh and Holy Island. The hotel is without comparison in the area and a true gem. The hotel does not "rest on it's laurels" and continues to improve year on year. The hotel's cottages offer five star accommodation including a log burning fire! They have all you need for a self catering stay, or, if like us, take advantage of the hotels dinning facilities. The breakfast and evening meals were both outstanding and as always the service is friendly, relaxed and faultless. You are treated very much a a member of the family. The staff can not do enough for you to ensure that you have a relaxing stay. If we could rely on all hotels in the British Isles being of the same quality as the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel then the tourist industry would have nothing to worry about! If you are looking for a small hotel offering excellent high quality accommodation, super food at a sensible price, friendly service and a relaxing atmosphere, then look no further - the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel at Embleton is the place that you have been looking for!. Many thanks to everyone for another thoroughly enjoyable stay - see you next February!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

On our way back from the beach, tired & hungry, we reached that point where you just want to find the right place for a bite to eat, but know it's not going to happen...well, it did! Really good homemade soup, a warm welcome, fire lit just for us, nothing too much trouble..and really good coffee. A real find, and just what we wanted. Thank you! Rachel

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Baleal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked a one-bedroom cottage suite based on the hotel's website and the 2 nights for £100 offer and also on the reviews here on Trip Advisor. In the past we have left other accommodation and come home early due to it being damp, dirty and smelly so you can understand our trepidation at booking this break. However, we were delighted with the accommodation and the attention to detail and I would like to offer a massive thank you to all the staff involved for restoring our faith in the quality of holiday accommodation available in the UK (particularly for those of us who take our dogs with us). The cottages were immaculate and the staff/people we met were all friendly and helpful. Embleton is in a really lovely location with a beautiful beach only a short walk away but there are also so many other wonderful places just a 30 minute drive away. On our first day the heavens opened and it was torrential all day but we were quite happy tucked up in our cosy little cottage, the following day was glorious and we took full advantage of the winter sunshine and walked for miles. I am happy to recommend the self catering accommodation to anyone and will certainly be returning next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bertiebald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
2.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,313 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
543 reviews
8.9 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,107 reviews
10.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
359 reviews
15.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range: $135 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing