We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real gem”
other travelers have booked this property
The journey is over.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The journey is over.
And relax. Enclosed patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
The journey is over.
And relax.
Enclosed patio.
A stroll down to the beach before dark, watch the sun going down.
Time to make a meal?
Set the table?
Open that bottle of wine
A good nights sleep
Up in the morning, don't forget your wellies!
Dunstanburgh Castle across the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Markwarin...
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

poppy cottage is gorgeous spotlessly clean ,homely and inviting.We were left a lovely hamper on our arrival which included a gorgeous lemon drizzle cake and homemade loaf ,jam,bacon ,eggs and butter as well as tea coffee and milk ,how lovely after a long journey.The cottage is ideally placed as there are 3 pubs wihin a 5minute walk all serving food ,The greys is definitely worth a visit the welcome is warm ,two lovely warm coal fires and the food was really tasty and plenty of it fish pie and steak pie with home made chips n veg really scrummy n a good choice of beers and lagers,the locals were also very friendly .Embleton beach amazing,Craster and newton by the sea close by and a lovely walk .Will definitely be staying at poppy cottage again.A real gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie N
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing Break”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Great location for some lovely coastal walks. The cottage was immaculate, very well equipped and the welcome pack from Clare was a lovely touch. Our dog was made to feel welcome too. We could not fault our stay at all, it was utter bliss and we will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total bliss”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This has been our second visit to Poppy Cottage and won't be the last, it is brilliant, Clare is a master for the finest touches to her cottage, every detail is a touch of brilliance, from start to finish, the welcome pack is a lovely touch, spotless, comfortable and homely, recommended to all, thank you

Steve and Elaine
Sunderland

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuddyswi...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding little cottage”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

From the moment we arrived we knew we'd found a gem. My 7year old son declared it was the best cottage ever. The welcome pack was such a great start and made us feel at home straight away. We headed straight for the beach which is a 15 minute stroll down hill and is as good as any beach in the world in my humble opinion!! We were blessed with the weather, but for us what made our break special was having somewhere to come back to that we felt completely relaxed in! I hope we will be able to come back again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrollyDol...
Ketton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Fantastic cottage beautifully decorated & very well appointed. Lovely welcome pack - many thanks Clare!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend stay”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is a true hidden gem! A beautiful cottage that offered everything you need plus more! Very clean with excellent facilities! Clare left us with breakfast items and a generous hamper including home made bread, wine and little treats!

This is definitely a must if you're considering staying in the area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very pleasant stay in a well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Poppy Cottage is one of four almost identical cottages set behind and to the left of the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We were welcomed by Clare and shown around the cottage. A fantastic welcome pack was included including a pair of Seahouses kippers for myself and lots more. Real yummy. All rooms are well presented and decorated with sufficient comfortable furniture and a full range of kitchen equipment for four. My wife and I were very happy to share the cottage with Winnie, our 6 month border collie. She was provided with her own towel and some goodies by Clare. No complaints at all. We look forward to our second stay next year.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing