We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy retreat? Absolutely!”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of Snowdrop Cottage -south facing & sheltered.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Snowdrop Cottage -south facing & sheltered.
Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Front of Snowdrop Cottage -south facing & sheltered.
Lounge area
Dining Area
Kitchen area
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
The view looking south from Embleton Bay, with Dunstanburgh Castle in the background.
The view looking north from Embleton Bay, just a stroll up the beach to the village of Low Newton.
The front of Snowdrop Cottage - with a wooden bench and patio table and chairs.
Lounge area
Dining area and Kitchen
Clementines not included
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lollipop1...
Lancashire, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosy retreat? Absolutely!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lovely self catering accommodation suitable for two adults and with the second bedroom good for 2 more children or adults. Facilities were great with wifi dvds games books available. The kitchen area was spotless with all the equipment needed - and an oven with separate grill which I've rarely seen - a small thing but appreciated!
Location wise the cottage is in a beautiful area with easy straight forward access to the coast and castles - the main reason for our visit.
The local store was great for bits and pieces but a visit to the main supermarket in alnwick would be advisable if a full food shop was needed.
Communications with the manager ahead of the booking and visit were great - friendly professional and helpful.
Snowdrop Cottage has alot going for it and we would definitely consider booking again if we were to return to that area.

Date of stay: May 2014
Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B
Dronfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location for exploring Northumberland”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was our first visit to Northumberland but definitely won't be the last. Snowdrop Cottage is a cosy base, with everything you could need. The booking process and check in instructions were faultless and helpful. My husband and two children (12 & 8) loved the location and the beach is exceptional. I would recommend Greys Inn in the village for an excellent pub dinner, warm welcome and local beers. Fifteen minutes away in Alnmouth we caught the train the Edinburgh for the day. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay, but not long enough.

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarmerFam...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent cottage with wifi”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a lovely short break at Snowdrop. The cotage suited our family of 4 perfectly. It was clean and equipped to a high standard. I would definetly recommend this property.
The booking process was simple and efficient.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wifi - essential as mobile signal was poor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smileypig
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“When can I move in???”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We honestly could not have asked for a more perfect place. Location was ideal and perfect for exploring our favourite beach in Northumberland. Nothing quite takes your breath away as the view which hits you as you walk over the golf course and onto the beach..... I almost don't want to tell people about it so it can remain "my beach".....

The house was clean, tidy and had everything in that you would possibly need. The linen and towels which were provided and the games, DVD’s and books were a lovely touch too turning it from the normal rental to something a little bit special. The bed was lovely and comfy and the bathroom immaculate with a lovely shower. The kitchen had really good facilities and pots and pans etc were all in a good condition, so much so that we cooked both nights of our stay rather than venture out. Something I was glad of after a long walk! :O)

I’ve already recommended it to many of my family and friends and will certainly be returning as it made a most lovely surprise birthday weekend for my partner.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quality of the interior of the house
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan W
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a wonderful wee village”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I decided to visit Northumberland for a spot of sight seeing and to visit my uncle and Snowdrop cottage met our needs perfectly.
My first impressions of the cottage was it was smaller than expected, however it turned out to be a case of quality over quantity. The cottage is very comfortable to stay in, the kitchen has practically everything you'll need to prepare meals. We had a great sleep thanks to the lovely big bed and the peace and quiet. The free wifi was a very welcome facility which we found extremely useful.
The cottage is perfect for a couple wanting a relaxing break or a young family looking to explore as Northumberland has a lot to offer. There are many beautiful beaches along the cost and plenty of things to see and do. On this particular break we visited Alnwick, Berwick, Bamburgh Castle, Seahouses, Amble, Lindisfarne and Newcastle, all of which could be reached in under an hours drive.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice location and cosy cottage
Liked least: Would benefit from having a better stereo
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceypin...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful cottage, spotless and very cosy. Everything you could possibly need to make your holiday complete. The location is fantastic - near the beach and lovely walks in all directions.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoot61905
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for a week's walking in Northumberland with your dog”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We’ve just spent a lovely week at Snowdrop. It was our base for a week of walking, castles and pub lunches and was perfect.

It’s not a rambling old farmhouse or anything like it – it’s a comfy, warm cottage, big enough for four and ideal for a week or rest and relaxation. It looks like Snowdrop and the neighbouring cottages are a barn conversion.

It’s well furnished downstairs with plenty of space to eat, cook and relax. There are two comfy sofas and a table for four people to eat around. There’s enough crockery for a week’s holiday and the oven is excellent.

The heaters warm the cottage up quickly and the shower is excellent. Space is used brilliantly upstairs – it might be quite a compact cottage, but use of sliding doors upstairs means that it doesn’t feel cramped. And we loved the open plan downstairs.

It comes with an iPod dock – the first I’ve seen on holiday cottages – and the vacuum cleaner is a top of the range Miele. There’s no washing machine – but who wants to do the washing when you’re on holiday?

The location couldn’t be better – tucked beside the hotel, just off the road. Two mins from the pub and 10 mins from the single greatest beach on earth.

The owner was helpful and communication with him was excellent.

We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and wifi
Liked least: Nothing - it was perfect for us
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing