We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We liked the fact that a lot of the food was sourced locally e.g. Embleton Bay Sea Trout. There was nothing to dislike.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Maryshoe

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    41
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warks, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent meal all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were a group of eight golfers, just traveled up from Yorks, arrived on a Sunday evening just before 9pm. Two of our group were staying in the hotel, the rest in a house close by. Having tried the local pub for food we found they stopped serving earlier, so were well pleased when the hotel managed to put us together on a table for eight. The service we received was very helpful and especially from the lady behind the bar, couldn't help us enough. The starters were great and the main courses were delicious and substantial. For late on a Sunday night the hospitality we received was superb. Everyone was well satisfied. If in the area again will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank APM_Lazlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear APM_Lazlo

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not dog friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We called in to see if dogs were welcome. We were told that we could go into the lounge with the dog, not the bar area. Went out to the car to get the dog and returned into the hotel to find the place deserted, not a person in sight. We hung around for a while and called for attention but still no staff, so it was back into the car and off.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SxiSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear SxiSan
We would firstly like to apologise for your experience and thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. I can assure you that the experience you had is not indicative of the standard of customer service which we strive for.
We pride ourselves on being dog friendly, however they are not allowed in the food service areas.

Finally, we would like to reassure you that we have taken all the necessary steps to ensure that we do not repeat these failings you have highlighted. Should you be kind enough to visit again, I am positive that you will not experience similar problems.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good staff and food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The staff here are all outstanding. The food is exceptional and better than you might expect at this grade. James the waiter is worthy of a special mention, friendly but not over familiar, helpful but not obsequious.
The rooms are a little lacklustre and on the Spartan side for the price. Wifi not widely available beyond the lounge.
We did notice special offers on prices but we had paid the full rate by booking in advance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Chris K

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Meal good in parts but poor vegetables”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We visited this hotel for my birthday meal and had been looking forward to trying the Castle Grill Room for some time, given the good reviews. The meals were ordered in the bar area and we were shown to our table which was booked for 7pm, however there was a very long wait for the food to arrive. Thankfully there were some small rolls and butter on the table for us to nibble on.

The choice available was rather poor as all three main course specials were fish. Two of us had Chicken breast in wild mushroom sauce which was very good, my wife had beer-battered cod with mushy peas and chips which she said were awful and soggy, and the other guest had salmon. Vegetables are important to me and were served separately but were mediocre and rather tasteless, and the quantity given was not really enough for four people; no more were offered. Why won't chefs pay more attention to the quality, presentation and amount of vegetables?

The staff were cheerful and polite but not attentive and it took some effort for me to obtain another drink at the table. Desserts were delicious, my wife had panacotta, two of us had lemon posset and the other had strawberries with meringue. This appears to be a lovely homely hotel, spotlessly clean and we were comfortable given that it was a chilly wet evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Peter2305

We would firstly like to apologise for your experience and thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. I can assure you that the experience you had is not indicative of the standard of customer service which we strive for.

With regard to the choices available, on occasions we do have 3 fish dishes on the special board, but we are able to provide almost any alternative provided we have the ingredients.

We have taken on board your comments regarding the vegetables and I am sure you will find significant improvement.

Our team are normally very attentive, although we strive for a relaxed experience and not overly fussy. We have taken steps to ensure a constant presence within the Grill Room.

Finally, we would like to reassure you that we have taken all the necessary steps to ensure that we do not repeat these failings you have highlighted. Should you be kind enough to visit again, I am positive that you will not experience similar problems.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel also viewed

 
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
 

Been to Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing