We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burnham
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfectly average”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Tucked away down some very narrow, pot-holed country lanes, but worth finding.
We stayed as wedding guests for one night only. All the staff we encountered were courteous and helpful. The room (223) overlooked stables at the back of the hotel. Not much I can say but it was adequate for the short time we were in it. A very enjoyable self-service breakfast, but no fried eggs! Perhaps you have to ask.
Considering the room price, I feel I have stayed in better hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gah1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are a popular Wedding Venue on the border of Buckinghamshire and Berkshire, and hope that you enjoyed the day. I am very pleased to hear that our staff were courteous and helpful, as we pride ourselves on our friendly staff and high levels of customer service.
We are happy you enjoyed your breakfast, and are always happy to prepare eggs on request.
Many thanks once again for your feedback.
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    213
    122
    67
    39
See reviews for
148
327
17
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Burnham Beeches for the weekend with the family as we were going to the League Cup Final. The hotel is in a great location, only 4 miles from Windsor & 2 miles from a direct train into London. Facilities at the hotel are good. We had a Executive Family Suite which was a great size with a partitioned off sofa bed for the kids. Room was spotless and looked like it had been recently refurbished. We didnt find the time to use the pool area, but it looked okay. We didn't eat in the restaurant but breakfast was great. The bar area was small, a little quiet and pricey but I have yet to find a hotel that doesn't charge over the odds so no surprise.

What sets Burnham Beeches apart is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. They organised some flowers for us prior to our stay and while we were there they were friendly and provided a high level of customer service. Thanks.

Only down point if the weekend is that our team lost in the final :(

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JonFozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such great feedback! We are an ideally located hotel near Windsor and London, with great transportation links. We are very proud that we are a Country House Hotel so close to London, but in such peaceful surroundings.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in an Executive Room – we are always looking to improve the hotel, and especially proud of our newly refurbished areas. Also, I have passed on your comments regarding the spotlessness of the hotel to our housekeeping team.
As always, I am delighted to hear such positive feedback about the team here. We are all exceptionally dedicated to good service, and are always happy to go to the extra mile for our guests – thank you so much for acknowledging this.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Burnham Beeches Hotel for another Weekend Break.
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed on a living social deal (very good value) however I ordered a small bottle of cider which I was charged £6 that makes it £12 a pint!!!!!!!!!!!!! that's silly prices. I was very glad I didn't go to the bar after our meal which was first class. Would love to go back for food but not drinks!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristolcity94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Our Weekend Break Deals are very popular, and we are pleased to hear that you considered this deal to be good value – we do hope you will return again in the future. Your comments have been taken on board regarding the bar prices, but please do bear in mind that we have a variety of different drinks and prices at the bar, in order to accommodate to all of our guests tastes. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the food in our Rosette Awarded Restaurant, and look forward to welcoming you back there in the future.
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Well what can I say about the hotel. Absolutely fantastic. We got married here in February 2012 and came back to celebrate our first anniversary, (a surprise for the wife).
Our wedding day was brilliant, staff were attentive and helped with every part of planning and helping on the day.
Our anniversary was great and we had a lovely meal in the restaurant. I then arranged for us to return to the Windsor Suite to recreate our first dance. I was helped by the staff and they had even uncovered the dance floor. As we walked through the music started and we had our dance. My wife cried more than at our actual wedding.
Thank you to all the staff for everything that you have done, we would recommend this to anyone as a hotel and as a wedding venue.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DClifton1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind words. We very much enjoyed working with you towards your wedding day, and were delighted to welcome you back to the hotel for your one year anniversary. We are very proud of the food and service in our Rosette Awarded restaurant, and hope you will dine with us again in the future. Additionally, I have spoken to the staff involved in helping with the surprise, and they said it was an absolute pleasure. We are always very happy to go the extra mile for our guests, and look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel in the future. Happy Anniversary!
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have our for coming wedding reception at burnham beeches this summer so when we got the opportunity to sample the food,service and rooms for valantines weekend we jumped at the offer. The experience surprised our expectations, the staff were diligent and attentive and all the elements of the stay have filled us with confidence in the team and venue. We can't wait to return in the summer with our guests for our reception. Thanks to all the team and for Kate in sorting the arrangements!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ross O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Ross,
Thank you for your great feedback – we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Valentines package here at the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the 7 course gourmet tasting menu and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the summer for your big day!
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Charged £17.50 for a single brandy !!!!!!
Excellent very friendly staff, always very helpful and service with a smile.
Hotel needs upgrading in several areas.
Now know why there was empty spirit bottles in the gents loo at the end of the evening

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foreverfriends190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the service at the hotel, and hope you enjoyed your night.
As a four star hotel we feel it is important to offer luxury brands, but we do carry a variety of whiskies, brandies and spirits at varying prices. The Hennessy XO Cognac is a very premium brand and obviously carries a premium price at £17.50, but our house brandy is currently charged at £3.85.
Your comments have been passed on to those concerned, and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a one night Living Social Deal stay at the hotel last weekend (Saturday 9th Feb). It was a Christmas gift to our two daughters and we were looking forward to spending some time together as a family. Our experience was mixed.

The Good

Beautiful hotel with nice, well kept grounds. Very good location for visiting Windsor and Eton.

The restaurant is lovely with a good atmosphere, excellent service (5 rate for this), especially from the head waiter who clearly runs a tight ship, and first class food, both at dinner and breakfast. Couldn't fault it.

Comfortable beds, well furnished, warm rooms. All hotel was very clean and generally well maintained.

The Bad (or at least, 'could have been better')

My husband had taken a lot of trouble discussing the booking with a reservations assistant to arrange a double room for us and a twin for our daughters which were close to each other. To upgrade both to larger rooms would have cost us another £80 (which kind of defeated the object of a cheap out of season getaway) and we were told the positioning of the twin rooms meant we would be at different ends of the hotel - not ideal. We therefore opted for classic rooms and were assured of the requested rooms. On arrival we had been placed in rooms next door to each other but the girls were also in a double room. The receptionist told us there were no twin classic rooms at all and if they wanted to change, we would have to pay another £20 and move them to another area. We decided to stay put, but as a surprise gift it took the edge off. The receptionist really was quite abrupt to my husband almost suggesting he had not booked a twin and making no concession or apology for what to us, was inaccurate information given by the hotel.

I would agree with the reviewer that the general ethos of the hotel (apart from the restaurant) is that of a chain and lacks personal service. Having been to another hotel on a similar deal arrangement (although cheaper) a few weekends before, the service there was outstanding and we were really made to feel like special guests and treated no differently. At Burnham, this was not the case.

The classic rooms are OK, very clean, good flat screen TV and quite nice decor, but very small and dark with a small window which felt rather claustrophobic. Double not king beds. Dim lighting. No real character, which was a shame as the hotel looks so beautiful and classical from the outside. The bathroom (very small) was looking a bit worn and could have done with an update. No fridge.

The 'spa' was OK - swimming pool very nice and warm as was the jacuzzi, but it is really small, dark and lacks style. There is a sign up which says no more than 4 people in the sauna and 8 in the pool and this number I felt was actually too crowded. Guests were queuing for the sauna. One lady told me she had asked for a robe at reception and been told no because she was not staying in an executive room. A couple of chairs covered in towels so you had no-where to relax - not sure it can be called a spa exactly. The gym looked good although we didn't have time to use it.

The rules seem to be made for the hotel's convenience rather than that of the guests.

The Ugly (at least definitely 'unpleasant')

This could not be deemed the fault of the hotel staff in any way, but it would certainly put me off from ever booking another weekend break away where a large wedding party is being held. We accepted there would be a certain amount of party noise until midnight and would want the married couple to have a fun time at their wedding. However, it's a shame some of their guests were so inconsiderate. In the early hours, those in the next room to ours returned worse for wear, literally shouting at the top of their voices, put on loud music and showed absolutely no respect for others sleeping in the hotel. There was a loud knock with someone shouting 'room service' - I hope this was someone messing about and not the hotel staff bringing them more booze! My daughters tried hard to get to sleep but it was impossible so in desperation, phoned the hotel staff. We could hear a male guest being very rude to the hotel staff and telling them he would not be turning down the music for at least an hour.

Not sure it was the same group as we hadn't seen them, but when checking out in the morning, we witnessed more loud and aggressive responses from wedding guests. The receptionist was trying to impose a fine on a man for being caught smoking in the room and having two complaints made about his conduct. He didn't feel this was right and said he wouldn't be paying it. Whatever happened to personal responsibility? Actually, perhaps he should have paid the bills of the people whose weekends he ruined too!

Anyway, this is not to criticize the hotel staff who did try to deal with this, but more to make people aware of the risks of staying on a Saturday night where a hotel makes most of their income from large weddings and fill other rooms with customers on special offer deals.

We've been blessed with staying at quite a lot of hotels in the UK and abroad - I wouldn't return to Burnham Beeches except for dinner perhaps. If you want a fairly decent hotel with excellent food, for a night or two's stay in the area, its fine, but not special.

Room Tip: We didn't see the executive rooms but the upgrade is expensive. Be sure you know what you are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnakeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such in-depth feedback.
In regards to the isolated incident with the wedding guests, we can only apologize. We do host 60-70 weddings a year, with little to no negative feedback from other guests. In this particular case, the guests were actually from another local wedding venue, and were simply staying at the hotel overnight, but we are very to sorry to hear that they tarnished your experience in such a way. We appreciate your acknowledgment of our team’s attempt to address this issue, and can assure you that any late night room-service orders would certainly not be delivered in the manner described in your review.

With reference to your bedroom bookings, the Living Social advertisement does clearly state that the voucher is redeemable for a stay in a Classic Double Room. We do not have any Classic Twin Rooms, only Executive Twin Rooms.
As a seasoned hotel guest I am sure you can appreciate that different room styles come at different prices. Our twin rooms are all styled in an executive, luxurious style and are also larger than our Classic Double Rooms. We would usually charge £40 per room for an upgrade to one of these bedrooms, but as part of the special deal this was offered to you at £20 per room. As you were staying for one night only I can assure you that it would not have cost £80 to upgrade both bedrooms.
We are somewhat surprised by your comments regarding the way our receptionist dealt with your query. Our small and dedicated reception team is regularly praised for their welcoming attitude, and commitment to quality customer service.

Similarly, we are surprised that you found the service and ethos to be impersonal, as our entire team works hard to get to know the guests in house and make their experience as personal as possible. As this is now the second comment of this nature it will of course be looked in and we look forward to improving our service even further.

We are very proud of our swimming pool, Jacuzzi and leisure facilities, and can assure you that the rules are there for the health and safety of our guests, which we consider to be our highest priorities.
In regards to the bathrobes, it is the case that we only have a certain amount of bathrobes on site, and these are all included in the Executive Bedrooms.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future to sample more of what the kitchen has to offer.
Additionally, your comments regarding the furnishings and maintenance of the hotel are great to hear, and have been passed on to all concerned.

Many thanks once again for your review.
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham
1.1 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
588 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
2.8 mi away
Stoke Place
Stoke Place
#2 of 2 in Stoke Poges
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
391 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
661 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnham Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnham Beeches Hotel

Property: Burnham Beeches Hotel
Address: Grove Road, Burnham SL1 8DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Burnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnham Beeches Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from the M4 and M40, Burnham Beeches Hotel is the perfect location for a Weekend Getaway near Windsor, or a Country House Wedding near Buckinghamshire or Berkshire.The four star hotel boasts its own rosette awarded restaurant, acres of stunning grounds and relaxing leisure facilities, as well as free parking and free Wifi throughout the building.Additionally, being only minutes from Burnham Station and Slough Trading Estate the hotel’s conference facilities and stylish executive bedrooms make it the ideal venue for Meetings, Conferences and Team Building Days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Burnham Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Beeches
Burnham Beeches Taplow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing