We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valantines weekend - fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burnham
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have our for coming wedding reception at burnham beeches this summer so when we got the opportunity to sample the food,service and rooms for valantines weekend we jumped at the offer. The experience surprised our expectations, the staff were diligent and attentive and all the elements of the stay have filled us with confidence in the team and venue. We can't wait to return in the summer with our guests for our reception. Thanks to all the team and for Kate in sorting the arrangements!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ross O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Ross,
Thank you for your great feedback – we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Valentines package here at the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the 7 course gourmet tasting menu and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the summer for your big day!
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 850 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Charged £17.50 for a single brandy !!!!!!
Excellent very friendly staff, always very helpful and service with a smile.
Hotel needs upgrading in several areas.
Now know why there was empty spirit bottles in the gents loo at the end of the evening

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foreverfriends190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the service at the hotel, and hope you enjoyed your night.
As a four star hotel we feel it is important to offer luxury brands, but we do carry a variety of whiskies, brandies and spirits at varying prices. The Hennessy XO Cognac is a very premium brand and obviously carries a premium price at £17.50, but our house brandy is currently charged at £3.85.
Your comments have been passed on to those concerned, and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a one night Living Social Deal stay at the hotel last weekend (Saturday 9th Feb). It was a Christmas gift to our two daughters and we were looking forward to spending some time together as a family. Our experience was mixed.

The Good

Beautiful hotel with nice, well kept grounds. Very good location for visiting Windsor and Eton.

The restaurant is lovely with a good atmosphere, excellent service (5 rate for this), especially from the head waiter who clearly runs a tight ship, and first class food, both at dinner and breakfast. Couldn't fault it.

Comfortable beds, well furnished, warm rooms. All hotel was very clean and generally well maintained.

The Bad (or at least, 'could have been better')

My husband had taken a lot of trouble discussing the booking with a reservations assistant to arrange a double room for us and a twin for our daughters which were close to each other. To upgrade both to larger rooms would have cost us another £80 (which kind of defeated the object of a cheap out of season getaway) and we were told the positioning of the twin rooms meant we would be at different ends of the hotel - not ideal. We therefore opted for classic rooms and were assured of the requested rooms. On arrival we had been placed in rooms next door to each other but the girls were also in a double room. The receptionist told us there were no twin classic rooms at all and if they wanted to change, we would have to pay another £20 and move them to another area. We decided to stay put, but as a surprise gift it took the edge off. The receptionist really was quite abrupt to my husband almost suggesting he had not booked a twin and making no concession or apology for what to us, was inaccurate information given by the hotel.

I would agree with the reviewer that the general ethos of the hotel (apart from the restaurant) is that of a chain and lacks personal service. Having been to another hotel on a similar deal arrangement (although cheaper) a few weekends before, the service there was outstanding and we were really made to feel like special guests and treated no differently. At Burnham, this was not the case.

The classic rooms are OK, very clean, good flat screen TV and quite nice decor, but very small and dark with a small window which felt rather claustrophobic. Double not king beds. Dim lighting. No real character, which was a shame as the hotel looks so beautiful and classical from the outside. The bathroom (very small) was looking a bit worn and could have done with an update. No fridge.

The 'spa' was OK - swimming pool very nice and warm as was the jacuzzi, but it is really small, dark and lacks style. There is a sign up which says no more than 4 people in the sauna and 8 in the pool and this number I felt was actually too crowded. Guests were queuing for the sauna. One lady told me she had asked for a robe at reception and been told no because she was not staying in an executive room. A couple of chairs covered in towels so you had no-where to relax - not sure it can be called a spa exactly. The gym looked good although we didn't have time to use it.

The rules seem to be made for the hotel's convenience rather than that of the guests.

The Ugly (at least definitely 'unpleasant')

This could not be deemed the fault of the hotel staff in any way, but it would certainly put me off from ever booking another weekend break away where a large wedding party is being held. We accepted there would be a certain amount of party noise until midnight and would want the married couple to have a fun time at their wedding. However, it's a shame some of their guests were so inconsiderate. In the early hours, those in the next room to ours returned worse for wear, literally shouting at the top of their voices, put on loud music and showed absolutely no respect for others sleeping in the hotel. There was a loud knock with someone shouting 'room service' - I hope this was someone messing about and not the hotel staff bringing them more booze! My daughters tried hard to get to sleep but it was impossible so in desperation, phoned the hotel staff. We could hear a male guest being very rude to the hotel staff and telling them he would not be turning down the music for at least an hour.

Not sure it was the same group as we hadn't seen them, but when checking out in the morning, we witnessed more loud and aggressive responses from wedding guests. The receptionist was trying to impose a fine on a man for being caught smoking in the room and having two complaints made about his conduct. He didn't feel this was right and said he wouldn't be paying it. Whatever happened to personal responsibility? Actually, perhaps he should have paid the bills of the people whose weekends he ruined too!

Anyway, this is not to criticize the hotel staff who did try to deal with this, but more to make people aware of the risks of staying on a Saturday night where a hotel makes most of their income from large weddings and fill other rooms with customers on special offer deals.

We've been blessed with staying at quite a lot of hotels in the UK and abroad - I wouldn't return to Burnham Beeches except for dinner perhaps. If you want a fairly decent hotel with excellent food, for a night or two's stay in the area, its fine, but not special.

Room Tip: We didn't see the executive rooms but the upgrade is expensive. Be sure you know what you are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnakeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such in-depth feedback.
In regards to the isolated incident with the wedding guests, we can only apologize. We do host 60-70 weddings a year, with little to no negative feedback from other guests. In this particular case, the guests were actually from another local wedding venue, and were simply staying at the hotel overnight, but we are very to sorry to hear that they tarnished your experience in such a way. We appreciate your acknowledgment of our team’s attempt to address this issue, and can assure you that any late night room-service orders would certainly not be delivered in the manner described in your review.

With reference to your bedroom bookings, the Living Social advertisement does clearly state that the voucher is redeemable for a stay in a Classic Double Room. We do not have any Classic Twin Rooms, only Executive Twin Rooms.
As a seasoned hotel guest I am sure you can appreciate that different room styles come at different prices. Our twin rooms are all styled in an executive, luxurious style and are also larger than our Classic Double Rooms. We would usually charge £40 per room for an upgrade to one of these bedrooms, but as part of the special deal this was offered to you at £20 per room. As you were staying for one night only I can assure you that it would not have cost £80 to upgrade both bedrooms.
We are somewhat surprised by your comments regarding the way our receptionist dealt with your query. Our small and dedicated reception team is regularly praised for their welcoming attitude, and commitment to quality customer service.

Similarly, we are surprised that you found the service and ethos to be impersonal, as our entire team works hard to get to know the guests in house and make their experience as personal as possible. As this is now the second comment of this nature it will of course be looked in and we look forward to improving our service even further.

We are very proud of our swimming pool, Jacuzzi and leisure facilities, and can assure you that the rules are there for the health and safety of our guests, which we consider to be our highest priorities.
In regards to the bathrobes, it is the case that we only have a certain amount of bathrobes on site, and these are all included in the Executive Bedrooms.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future to sample more of what the kitchen has to offer.
Additionally, your comments regarding the furnishings and maintenance of the hotel are great to hear, and have been passed on to all concerned.

Many thanks once again for your review.
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Average hotel in a great location, would like more time to explore the area. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Feels like a chain hotel, lacks personality. Exec room dissapointing, space taken up with a second, single bed.....not worth the price uplift. Bedroom walls lack sound insulation, (in room #152) could clearly hear neighbours talking. Overall an ok experience for one night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review.
As a country house hotel so close to London, we certainly are proud of our ideal location and beautiful surroundings, however we are disappointed that you felt the hotel lacks personality. Our staff Endeavour to make each individual’s stays as special as possible, and we constantly strive to update the hotel whilst maintaining a traditional Georgian style.
Our executive rooms are ideal for families or those wishing for a little more space in their room and are also decorated in a modern contemporary style. Your comments regarding the sound insulation have been taken into account, and will be investigated as a matter of urgency. I have also passed on your positive feedback regarding the breakfast to all those concerned.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Absolutely one of the best venues we have ever used!
The service was outstanding and I would rate this at 5* with lots of finishing touches that surprised and delighted all of us (49 guests).
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all communication prior to the event was prompt and helpful.
We would recommend this venue for any event, private or business, as it was so imopressive and reasonable too.
We had a member of the family stay overnight and she was really impressed with the accommodation too.
Overall a wonderful experience that we will all reflect on for a long time!! Well done.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your lovely review – we had a great time working with you, and hosting your celebration. As a popular 4 star hotel we certainly do aim for 5* standards, and are delighted to have you acknowledge this. We hope that you will return to Burnham Beeches Hotel for future events and behalf of all of the team here at the hotel I would like to wish your mother a very happy 90th birthday!
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Staying regularly in the Slough area, this is always my first choice of hotel and thus I end up staying there most weeks. The Burnham Beeches is always clean, tidy and consistent. The regular rooms are basic but comfortable, and the executive rooms are very well appointed and (importantly in summer) are air conditioned. Free wireless throughout (which performs pretty well too, bet than average for a hotel) and a nice little health club.
The staff are however what make this hotel particularly good, a good sign for me is that they retain their staff for good lengths of time! Always helpful, attentive and really go the extra step.
The food is always good, but a little expensive and with the new bar/room service menu the portion sizes are smaller, leave me feeling a little hungry if just have one dish.
One final and important note - the showers are EXCELLENT! Every room I've ever stayed in has a really strong and high flow shower, absolutely brilliant!

Room Tip: Go for an executive room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocketsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your very kind feedback.
We are always pleased to hear from our regular visitors, and delighted that you always enjoy your stay here. We are very proud of our Executive Rooms, and our other facilities within the hotel [including our free Wi Fi, strong showers and newly refurbished leisure club] – thank you for taking the time to acknowledge these features.
We do feel that one of our greatest strengths is our hardworking and dedicated team, and we are so pleased to hear that you feel welcomed by the team.
Your comments regarding the room service menu has been taken on board, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Burnham Beeches Hotel next time you are in the Slough or Windsor area.

Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Fell in love with the venue on first sight and both Leanne and Kate were great wedding planners. Winter wedding package included everything making our wedding affordable. Food and service was first class and our guests commented on both the quality and service provided by the hotel as being exceptional. They even put in a private breakfast the following day due to the number of guests we had staying over. Would def recommend the venue to others

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekir T, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Sarah H,
Thank you for your feedback – it is great to hear from you both!
Our wedding coordinators Katie and Leanne thoroughly enjoyed working with you in the lead up to your wedding, and we are very pleased that you had such a fantastic day! It was a lovely day, and great to see all the personal touches you added to your Wedding Package!
We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service, and are pleased to be considered one of the best Wedding Venues in Buckinghamshire. We very much look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Burnham Beeches Hotel.
Yours truly,
Bekir Togus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham
1.1 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
634 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
476 reviews
5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,094 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stoke Place
Stoke Place
#2 of 2 in Stoke Poges
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnham Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnham Beeches Hotel

Address: Grove Road, Burnham SL1 8DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Burnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burnham
Price Range: $123 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnham Beeches Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from the M4 and M40, Burnham Beeches Hotel is the perfect location for a Weekend Getaway near Windsor, or a Country House Wedding near Buckinghamshire or Berkshire.The four star hotel boasts its own rosette awarded restaurant, acres of stunning grounds and relaxing leisure facilities, as well as free parking and free Wifi throughout the building.Additionally, being only minutes from Burnham Station and Slough Trading Estate the hotel’s conference facilities and stylish executive bedrooms make it the ideal venue for Meetings, Conferences and Team Building Days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burnham Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Beeches
Burnham Beeches Taplow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing