We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a country pub”

The Blackwood Arms Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Burnham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A quintessential example of a traditional English Inn. Home cooked local produce, 6 real ales and a great selection of wines by the glass. Open Log fires, country walks and scenic views. Dogs, horses kids n critters all welcome Open Bank Holiday`s
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gem of a country pub”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

It's set in a beautiful forest. We happened upon it by pure chance (luck?).

It has the most beautiful flower baskets outside, and somewhere to tie up your horse. :) Loved this little touch.

The bar ladies were super friendly and really delivered fab service. More than just pulling a pint, that's for sure.

The menu is good with a nice variety. We tried a few dishes and I was very impressed. (Loved the 'smaller' portions. Works well for kidlets and if you want a lighter version). Nice selection of ales and a bunch of the usual suspects as well.

Can't believe we didn't know about this little pub. It's only 3km's from where we live. We'll be back often!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaRetief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    71
    28
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“You'd Have To Be Lost To Find Us!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

As the Blackwood Arms business card amusingly reads "You'd have to be lost to find us" this friendly country pub is certainly hidden away but is absolutely worth the find. My family visited for a Sunday lunch having found the details on Tripadvisor. It was a warm sunny day and we were warmly welcomed by staff before being comfortably seated on one of the many bench seats in the pretty garden. There is a good selection of draft ales on tap and a choice of fine wines, the lunchtime menu is excellent including the tasty steak & ale pie (a proper pie as the menu states) with roasts and vegetables, an equally tasty fish pie and delicious deserts (sticky toffee puddings with ice cream) all provided to our garden table including drinks by our attentive friendly server. This is a really lovely pub which deserves the high ratings it receives. We shall definitely return, now we know where it is!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Hidden away in Burham Beeches, this pub/Restaurant offers a touch if old England.
The menu is not vast but very well prepared and they are happy to adapt to meet your wishes.

I look forward to returning

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alasdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“classic country pub”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

tucked away in the woods of Burnham is this gem of a country pub surrounded by breathtaking countryside with excellent walks on it's doorstep and it's dog friendly as well, so you can take Fido on a long walk then relax with a pint and some welcome food. Bar staff are friendly as is the owner. Well worth a visit.
Just a small note on the food, avoid the cheese ploughman's lunch. Lazily presented with 2 huge lumps of cheddar, a large chunk of cucumber, half a tomato, a piece of apple that came out with a fly on it that the staff apologised for but didn't replace and spring onions and celery that looked like they hadn't been washed.
Now I don't mind having the option of cutting the salad up myself but at least give me a decent knife to do it with.
No pickled onions and NO BREAD until we asked for it!
Food that was brought out for others looked good though and the Chocolate Brownie that we had for afters was delicious.
Will definitely visit again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tucked away but worth finding.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We went to The Blackwwod Arms as a family (including the dog) for Mrs Rippydog's birthday and I'm glad we did. The pub is well off the beaten track but it was well worth finding. The young lady that served us was lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. The setting is idyllic (it helped that the sun was shining) and we could've esily spent much longer just sitting and taking it all in. Sadly, we opted to go home and watch England being beaten by Uruguay instead. The food was excellent, I had the burger which was great and with cheese on it that you could actually taste. Mrs Rippydog had the mushrooms which elicited much oohing and aahing. The kids had a ham. egg and chips between them (extra plate provided, no dramas) and the dog sat there looking hopeful. She was disappointed as all plates were returned to the kitchen empty. One tiny bump was that my pint of Guinness was served in a lipstick coated glass but, again, this was dealt with and replaced with absolutely no fuss and a genuine apology. The food along with a Guinness, Appletise and two Fruit Shoots was for a very reasonable £37.05.

Genuinely can't recommend this place enough and we will be back. I'm almost looking forward to the winter just to see what it looks like with the fire on.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rippydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackwood Arms Country Inn also viewed

 
Burnham, Buckinghamshire
Farnham Common, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Blackwood Arms Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing