We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas do”
Review of Crab & Boar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crab & Boar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Christmas do”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Really Good food & OK service. Be wary of the size of the main courses as they are smaller than your starters. Specially Gnocchi- but it was delicious. A bit expensive but a good treat for your pallet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nammi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    168
    100
    57
    53
See reviews for
62
446
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We booked in for our (small) christmas do. The rooms are fun and unique, and show many signs of luxury : coffee machine, chocolates, attention to detail in the bathrooms etc. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable however, and was far too high (Bali Room). The jacuzzi is just wonderful and makes the whole experience a real treat. The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious. Suppose if I'm being critical, the receptionist on arrival was very rehearsed, not particularly welcoming, and just regurgitating information. Booking information didn't seem to be booked correctly (room package, time in restaurant, numbers of people eating etc). The staff on departure were superb and as you would expect from somewhere of this calibre. A really relaxing wonderful treat, and will go again, and would highly recommend it. Just a few details that could have made it perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyLado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

As ever, we couldn't fault the quality of the food.
A dozen oysters, my main motivation for booking, fantastic, could have had another dozen.
I had half a lobster, wife had pan fried salmon (beautifully cooked).
Triple cooked chips, I don't recall tasting better. Washed down with a bottle of Chablis, simple but perfectly cooked and delicious meal.
Only gripes: half lobster was very small, about 5 or 6 small pieces already cut free from shell. It was a good job it was still in the shell, it bulked put the appearance, I'm only glad that I paid £25 for the half, not £49 for the 'whole' lobster.
Service a little slow.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MARKDL995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My partner & I treated ourselves to a night away 'without the kids' this weekend, and enjoyed a room with a hot tub. The rooms were lovely & warm, everything was clean, it was a very pleasant stay, the staff were excellent, very attentive and smiley.

The food was amazing, the Pork Belly melted in the mouth. The staff, again faultless, and we even managed to get our dessert back to our room.

The only downside to our stay was we had no hot shower in the morning, and although the reception staff were (again) very attentive, and came in to have a look, we didn't manage to fix the problem, which when you're spending almost £400 on a night away, is a small but significant thing.

Overall a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Always worth going for a room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marketing F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

"The Crab" as it is affectionately known has long been a favourite of ours. It never fails to deliver on food or service, and remains one of the all time greats in Berkshire.
Many thanks to all the staff for your kind attention at Sunday lunchtime.

Room Tip: Ask for a hot tub room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Treated my boyfriend to a Sunday night stay on the 10th November for his bday ! Hotel staff showed us to our room(with private outdoor hot tub)explained that hot tubs were emptied and cleaned on a daily basis (very nice to know) we stayed in chiva som room,Thailand inspired and it was wonderful,beautiful relaxing coffee machine,home made cookies,teas etc.nice touches in bathroom shampoo soaps etc,2xrobes came in handy getting in and out hot tub,the bamboo low bed was so comfy with Egyptian cotton sheets.we didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked so lovely and very quirky!!! We used room service and had breakfast in bed the next day,breakfast was nice(apart from the sausage) and the toast was a little (little)!! Posh style toast basically a tiny corner of toast.we had pancakes to which said with syrup but came with berries(nice but I wanted what I thought I was getting).
The wifi was not available in rooms which was s pain!!
The hot tub was lovely,boiling(until the cover had been off)always put it straight back on when not using it.nice flat screen large tv on the wall to watch the news at breakfast time,hair dryer iron and ironing board!!
Over all this place was amazing for the £115 I paid to stay,I did not want to leave!!at leaving I spoke to the accommodating receptionist about the other rooms and she said everyone had checked out if I wanted to see them so I got to see all the rooms with hot tubs my favourite was our room, some were a little smaller but bird island,cipriarni and bora bora looked nice too! What a lovely place can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemsyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for my birthday on the Friday night deal. Arrival nice and shown to room professionally.

Chocolates in the room and nice touches like a good coffee machine, selection of teas & delish cookies. Had the room with a 'cobbled' floor which was cool!

Room was hot so had the window open, but in the early morning we where awoken by the noisy road, which is about a foot from the window. Not ideal, but not a deal breaker.

Food was excellent, good choice on the menu, although the lobster was small.

Good cocktails and nice breakfast.

Overall I wouldn't pay full rate for the rooms as they are on the smallish side and noisy if you are on the road side, but on the £190 deal for room, £100 worth of food, bottle of wine, prosecco & chocolates it was good value and I would go back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foxy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
3.6 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
10.8 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.9 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley on Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Dundas Arms
The Dundas Arms
#1 of 1 in Kintbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab & Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab & Boar

Property: Crab & Boar
Address: Wantage Road, Chieveley RG20 8UE, England (Formerly The Crab at Chieveley Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crab & Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Berkshire countryside, The Crab & Boar is a stunning country pub with rooms offering award-winning British cuisine and 14 country-style bedrooms. Sink into one of our 14 stylish rooms and unwind in your own private corner of the Berkshire countryside. All bedrooms feature antique furnishing, luxury throws, Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen TVs, natural Bramley bath and body products and Tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have their own private hot tub. Dogs are more than welcome. The two AA Rosettes restaurant serves beautiful seafood and seasonal game in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Head Chef Tom uses locally sourced and seasonal ingredients so you can expect that every plate on the Crab & Boar menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With an easy access to the M4 motoway, The Crab & Boar is located 25 minute drive away from historic Oxford, 16 minutes from Newbury Racecourse and 19 minutes from Highclere castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crab & Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crab At Chieveley Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Chieveley
Crab & Boar Chieveley, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing