We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too big for their boots”
Review of Crab & Boar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crab & Boar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The food was delicious and couldn't be faulted. The service was offhand and sometimes downright rude. No-one offered to take coats; check on progress during the meal; ask if more drinks were required or if we had enjoyed our meal. The bill took 25 minutes to arrive and no-one said thank-you or goodbye. Perhaps four women of a certain age do not elicit much attention! I would single out the Maitre D. in particular as "non-user friendly".

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 761 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice little Hotel, very unique and individual in character. Great fish restraunt. Rooms are either with or without own private hot tub and all have a different theme. Quite pricey, but great for that special getaway.

Room Tip: Definitely any of the rooms with hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sqwirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The meal was lovely, although we were sat in a very strange location on the restaurant as if they'd just shoved in another table. The food and wine was great, but we were practically ignored for dessert and had to ask a number of times for the menu. By the time we'd finished it was so incredibly late and we were all tired.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Emmslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our first wedding anniversary as we liked the idea of the the hot tubs and thought it would be a very romantic setting.

The hotel looks lovely from the outside and we were very excited to see our room. As we stepped inside the room it smelt musty and dirty from old hot tub water and uncleaned items. The general look of the room was pretty, but this ominous smell completely put me off. I went into the bathroom, the toilet had not been properly cleaned and the towel rail was leaking hot water onto the floor, which i reported, but nothing was done about it during our stay, even though i requested someone to come and look at it during dinner. There were tiny bugs living in the stone tiles in the bathroom. There was no sheet protector on the bed, so we were lying on a bottom sheet directly on the rather STAINED mattress (the sheet may i add did not properly fit the mattress which is why i found out it was stained). The bed had a lovely patterned quilt cover over it - also stained with a rather ominous white stain, which quite frankly made me feel sick. All the pillows and cover then went straight onto the floor. The furniture was broken in places, the hot tub back seats were all broken off and there were bugs in the room.

I have stayed in a lot of varying hotels in my time all round the world, but quite frankly this was one of the worst. There is no excuse for dirty rooms. Cleanliness is a basic requirement for a hotel room and this is the first time i have ever considered sleeping on a towel.

Our room was directly next to the main road and the cars coming past us all night kept us awake, as did the movement of the staff the next morning moving pots and pans out of cupboards behind our heads!!!

Our first wedding anniversary was ruined, but i'm sure they were smiling from the price we paid.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tigerlilly1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in Bora Bora with a hot tub and it was fabulous. The room was pink with an amazing bamboo bed and I loved the lamp. The young staff were welcoming and professional - special mention for Natasha with many thanks for the ice bucket, champagne glasses and strawberries, delivered by a charming young man.
The hot tub and the sunset combined with these for a very romantic time!!
The food was lovely and we had the set menu, which at £19.95 was a real bargin with plenty of choice, we had chilli soft shell crab starters (very tasty) then the sea bass (which was delicious) and I had a wonderful dark chocolate creme brulee and my husband enjoyed the cheese board
All in all a great way to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversart

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandapatch29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha H, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Hello pandapatch29,

It was fantastic to see your review titled "Great for a special occasion", thank you for leaving your comments.

We do like to make things as special as possible, especially if you are celebrating something important, so I am pleased you enjoyed the strawberries!

It was lovely to have you stay with us, and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future!

Many thanks,

Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've been to The Crab dozens of times and on only a few occasions has it been average; this was not one of those. The food is uniformly good. Very good in fact. The choice, whilst fish led, certainly provides for the pork, beef, and lamb lovers. And I'm sure chicken and duck also appear on the regularly changing menu. The wine list appears in a new format from a new supplier, so the wines are more common for someone like me who dines out frequently, but in general the choice is good, and the pricing is comfortable. Gone are the days of a 300+ choice though. Thank god. The service is professional and competent too. I thoroughly recommend this restaurant ! Pricing is circa £60 per head including drink.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

decided to pop in for a drink. outside looked very quirky and inviting. the inside looked nice too. we sat down and my partner went to the bar to get our drinks. the bar man took his order, said ok....then carried on doing his own thing! a few seconds later another barman came in and my partner had to reorder, while the first barman carried on like he didn't exist. cant say anything about the rooms or food, but i had the most expensive pineapple juice in history i think, at £5.90 for a large....over a pound more than my partners pint of beer! cant fathom that one. we were sitting drinking and i kept smelling wet dog, took me a while to work out where it was coming from, then realized it must have been the shells hanging in nets off the ceiling, the smell was quite strong and not pleasant. i know it was the shells as i have been in a room with seashells everywhere before and it does stink of wet dog. no atmosphere here at all, staff are unfriendly, i wouldn't want to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faedensmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
3.7 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
689 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,959 reviews
3.2 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
196 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
2.9 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab & Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab & Boar

Address: Wantage Road, Chieveley RG20 8UE, England (Formerly The Crab at Chieveley Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range: $117 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crab & Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Berkshire countryside, The Crab & Boar is a stunning country pub with rooms offering award-winning British cuisine and 14 country-style bedrooms. Sink into one of our 14 stylish rooms and unwind in your own private corner of the Berkshire countryside. All bedrooms feature antique furnishing, luxury throws, Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen TVs, natural Bramley bath and body products and Tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have their own private hot tub. Dogs are more than welcome. The two AA Rosettes restaurant serves beautiful seafood and seasonal game in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Head Chef Tom uses locally sourced and seasonal ingredients so you can expect that every plate on the Crab & Boar menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With an easy access to the M4 motoway, The Crab & Boar is located 25 minute drive away from historic Oxford, 16 minutes from Newbury Racecourse and 19 minutes from Highclere castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crab & Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crab At Chieveley Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Chieveley
Crab & Boar Chieveley, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing