We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary”
Review of Crab & Boar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crab & Boar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wow, What a amazing wedding anniversary, my husband had arranged this for our 19th anniversary well it was amazing ! It was a surprise we had to be there at 3.30 to be greeted by a lovely lady we had afternoon tea it was fantastic! Then was shown to our room Bora Bora it was
Amazing , champagne chocolates ! Then to my surprise the curtains open onto a patio with a hot tub! The evening meal was fantastic we had the turbot with scampi tails 10/10 for the chefs !
Waitress /waiter ! The breakfast was fantastic to, not snobby felt really at home and totally spoiled
The room I loved it ! Lovely selection of coffee /tea mineral water . Big soft fluffy towels .Thankyou to you all and especially my husband x

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha H, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Hello Michelle536,

Thank you for your comments and it was lovely having you stay to celebrate your wedding anniversary.

We do aim to ensure that all of our guests feel at ease when they stay and are able to relax. I am glad we managed this for you.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 752 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our youngest son had a birthday in September, but as he lives in Dubai, we put off the celebrations here till he was home at Christmas. We booked for just after Christmas for my husband, myself, eldest son and his girlfriend and birthday boy with his fiance. We were there just for a meal, but Peter, whose birthday it was, has stayed over on several occasions when they have gone there for a celebrations and is always full of praise. We had a stonking meal, everyone had fish dishes apart from husband and myself as we noticed venison on the menu and went for that. Peter went for the full fish dish which was amazing. The wine was excellent, and in terms of the food and ambience, there were no complaints. I think the night we went they were having some staffing problems as we waited an age for everything, and we only spotted two waiters on the floor during the evening...certainly our waiter seemed to be chasing his tail! That didnt spoil the meal though, which was as always, a great success. It is expensive though...my husband sighed with relief when only two bottles of wine were consumed..!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha H, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Hello Carol D,

Thank you very much for your comments.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the meal for your sons 30th birthday! As with any establishment, we do sometimes have staffing issues, but if we managed to ensure that you had a good evening, that is our main goal.

We look forward to welcoming both you and your family here again.

Kind regards,

Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A real treat to find such beautiful fine food - the chef is excellent with vision - try the tuna steak - just watch it arrive! Te rooms are all individually decorated - mine was "Indian Plantation" with fantastic baths and large screen Tv and DvD - pick a room away from the road though and watch it as you leave! The exit is blind to oncoming traffic.

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe F, General Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear TimR

Many thanks for your feedback it is much appreciated.
I am glad you have enjoyed the room and our hospitality,in regards to the exit from our premises we are working with the council to see if we can make it better in any way,many thanks for your feedback on that as well.
I sincerely hope to see you back with us soon,

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

A weekend break booked to surprise me was frankly outstanding.
Easy to find (great for Newbury races) and greeted in a friendly and professional manner.
Our room was "raffles" and frankly had it been a raffle, this was a top prize. With an oriental them, amazing yet quirky furniture and stunning bed. It really was unique.
Clean, warm and all you would want with tea, coffee, robes and all utilities.
Food was an evening meal of three courses.... Where to start.... All I can say is fantastic, this fish restaurant is magnificent with great menu, busy but with great service. We were unrushed, over fed and watered well... If you're a foody you have to come here.
Breakfast, more of the same, quality product and service, unrushed and polite.
The staff throughout the stay were friendly and super professional. Nothing is too much trouble is the feel here.
The grounds and location look great for warmer times, and a good base to explode this area of the uk with Southampton, Oxford, lamb ours etc all within striking area.
I feel priveledged of the experience, some of the rooms have hot tubs... Again, a summer visit is the thought.
Highly recommended is my synopsis of this stunning find. Thank you for my stay, and for my second birthday this year x

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncoote69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe F, General Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Johncoote
I would like to thank you for taking time to write a review about us,is greatly appreciated.
Here at The Crab we do take Pride in what we do and I am glad to see from your review that we have made you feel very welcome and your staying was most enjoyable to yourselves.
I hope to see you soon with us again and all the best from us at The Crab.

Thank you kindly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I booked The Crab based on recommendations from friends, and was not disappointed!!

We stayed in Bora Bora as a birthday treat for my partner. The room was lovely and not dated at all as I have read in other reviews, there is a lovely coffee machine and delicious biscuits! I was pleased to also find iron and ironing board!
The hot tub was a lovely touch also and really relaxing!

Dinner in the restaurant was delicious especially the desert (mandarin cheesecake). The ultimate treat was breakfast in bed!

Will definitely be staying again!!!

Room Tip: Bora Bora room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe F, General Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Lil_Wun
Many thanks for your kind feedback.
I am glad that your Fiancé has enjoyed the surprise that you have prepared with us at The Crab.
Could I also take this oppurtunity to welcome you back to the Crab in the near future and once again thank you very much for you kind feedback.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I surprised my Fiancé with a trip here last weekend and I have to say it did not disappoint! We stayed in the Cipriani room - one of the hot tub rooms. The room was lovely, there were dressing gowns and slippers provided, along with a lovely coffee maker, a jar of cookies and essentials such as an Iron, hair dryer and nice toiletries. The private hot tub was brilliant, and the area was so peaceful you could not help but feel relaxed which was just what we needed! We had dinner at 7.30pm in the restaurant, we could not fault the food it was lovely. This is perfect for a romantic break away from the hustle and bustle of it all! we will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: The hot tub rooms are not massive but I would reccomend going for one with a hot tub, it just adds s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe F, General Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Luvstrav
Many thanks for your feedback.
I would like to offer my apologies if you think your complaint was not handled in a proper way,although if I may say I did ring you personally when your letter was received but I have never obtained a reply to the message that was left on your phone.
Has for the alleged indisposition that you have found in your stomach I would like to reassure you that our product is fresh in on a daily basis and we take great pride in the food we serve,although I would like to offer my sincere apologies for your indisposition.
I sincerely hope you give us the oppurtunity to make amends in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed on the xmas package our second visit as we stayed overnight in one of the hot tub rooms back in august. I have noticed some very different reviews and whilst overall we like the crab and concept the venue does have issues.
Rooms and the place overall is tired and needs decorating and maintenance to justify and compare with other venues in the same revenue stream. Food is good quality but not outstanding the breakfast is superb however. The hot tub we had was tired and had no cushions so you could not lie back in the tub and the parasol was bent - again general maintenance required. Staff are very friendly. Customer service when or if you do have a problem is poor and unprofessional. We came home from our xmas break on boxing day with sickness and bad stomachs we were ill for two days. We wrote a letter at the beginning of January and had to chase four times before an email of a rather offhand nature offering a free set meal arrived two months later ..Shame this place has great potential but does not match the standards of other establishments we will not be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luvstrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha H, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Hello Luvstrav,

Thank you for comments.

We are currently in the process of redecorating areas of The Crab and hopefully it will be looking refreshed for time to come!

I am sorry that you thought the customer service was poor, as we try very hard to ensure that all of our guests feel comfortable, even if there is a problem. I do hope that you will use the invitation to come back and have our set menu as we would very much like the opportunity to change your mind.

Please let me know if you would like to dine with us and we will do our very best to ensure you have a lovely meal.

Kind regards,

Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
3.6 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,935 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
678 reviews
3.2 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
195 reviews
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
4.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab & Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab & Boar

Address: Wantage Road, Chieveley RG20 8UE, England (Formerly The Crab at Chieveley Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range: $108 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crab & Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Berkshire countryside, The Crab & Boar is a stunning country pub with rooms offering award-winning British cuisine and 14 country-style bedrooms. Sink into one of our 14 stylish rooms and unwind in your own private corner of the Berkshire countryside. All bedrooms feature antique furnishing, luxury throws, Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen TVs, natural Bramley bath and body products and Tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have their own private hot tub. Dogs are more than welcome. The two AA Rosettes restaurant serves beautiful seafood and seasonal game in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Head Chef Tom uses locally sourced and seasonal ingredients so you can expect that every plate on the Crab & Boar menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With an easy access to the M4 motoway, The Crab & Boar is located 25 minute drive away from historic Oxford, 16 minutes from Newbury Racecourse and 19 minutes from Highclere castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crab & Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crab At Chieveley Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Chieveley
Crab & Boar Chieveley, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing