We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly owner and delicious tasting menu”
Review of Locanda Lu Vottaro

Locanda Lu Vottaro
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Trentinara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: "Lu Vottaro " , characteristic inn in the heart of Trentinara in a 1700 structure that keeps some remains dating back to 1000. And ' undoubtedly the exclusive use of selected raw materials that distinguishes it.
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a place outside and were recommended by a local to this place. She had actually closed but opened up for us. She served us a great tasting menu of all five starters followed by homemade pasta. She won many prices for her dishes. Definitely recommend to go here!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Mklrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 229 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2017

We had an incredible dinner in this exquisite, quaint little restaurant
with a burning log fire.
We were amazed with fantastic, fresh, home made food with such an attention to detail.
The chef Cristina was very friendly and welcoming.
We would definitely love to come back.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank varlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

At the outset it's important to stress what this charming restaurant is not. It makes no pretence to Michelin stars, it's probably not suitable for children or fish eaters, what it is is honest, charming and special. When we booked by phone, not a place to turn up at on the off chance, we were advised of the limited menu, lack of fizzy drinks etc. We were treated like old friends and made to feel at home, taken through this lovely old quirky house to the garden. Only two other tables there. The philosophy of the restaurant explained, only locally sourced fresh produce and that available on the day determined the menu. Some would find this restrictive, but I would suggest give it a try, because in my experience one stands the chance of finding a new culinary treat. The wine list is made up of locally sourced wines, but you really need to look no further than the house red. All dishes were lovingly described and diners asked before hand re vegetarian or vegan, or any allergies. I won't go into what we ate other than to say it was delicious with more than generous portions and all us loved the place. Go with the right expectations and I assure you of a memorable experience. Enjoy, we did!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank TimW1535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

An amazing experience from start to finish.

Walk through the quaint stone entrance and to your right is the kitchen. You will probably be greeted by the chef herself, Cristina. Then walk through the cozy dining room, and you'll find yourself in the magical garden where Christina grows many of her own fresh herbs.

The menu changes frequently because they source their ingredients from local farmers. Reservations highly recommended, but they usually have a couple tables available inside if you don't mind not sitting in their garden.

The food is nothing short of amazing. Go. Be impressed.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank MattPiontkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017

There is just something unfathomably perfect about Cristina's restaurant in Trentinara. Perhaps it is the town; quaint, quiet, beautiful sitting atop a mountain with incredible views. But more likely her perfect and delicious (not to mention artful) dishes, served beautifully. It is the most romantic setting and lovely restaurant environment I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. I truly cannot say enough amazing things about Cristina and her restaurant and would send my friends on a vacation specifically to visit Lu Vottaro. I should also mention I am a New Yorker so standards are high and Cristina exceeds all. Please please go to Lu Vottaro. You will be delighted!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda Lu Vottaro also viewed

Trentinara, Cilento and Vallo di Diano National Park
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
 
Trentinara, Cilento and Vallo di Diano National Park
Giungano, Cilento and Vallo di Diano National Park
 
Trentinara, Cilento and Vallo di Diano National Park
Agropoli, Province of Salerno
 

Been to Locanda Lu Vottaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing