We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gurkha Kitchen - CLOSED

Gurkha Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: European, Asian, Nepali, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to The Gurkha Kitchen, an Nepalese and Indian Cuisine at Boxburn.The Gurkha Kitchen offers such authentic food from the Himalayan region that you may get completely lost in the fresh herbs and spices. Forget that you are in the Broxburn,‎ West Lothian of Edinburgh, and let the aromas of cardamom and cumin take you to the land of the tallest mountains in the world. Enjoy the panorama photographs of the Himalaya as you savor the flavors of Nepal and India. Nepal is the country known as birth place of Budhha ,Highest peak in the world Mt. Everest and great bravery of Gurkha soldiers.Gurkhas come from the hills of Nepal and have been recruited to serve in the British Army for almost 200 years. The incredible bravery and loyalty of these remarkable people has won them great respect and affection. Today, the Gurkhas remain an important part of the British Army. In more recent times, Gurkhas have served in the Falklands and Gulf Wars, Iraq, and Afghanistan. Peacekeeping missions have taken them to Kosovo, Bosnia, East Timor and Sierra Leone. We are here to serve Nepalese traditional food with friendly manner of service together with great quality freshly prepare food by Nepalese Chef with his own style at its most authentic and vibrant form. Our aim is to stand out from the crowd to enhance Traditional Nepalese food in most significant way as in Nepal.
Uphall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic lunch!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have tried the full menu which was great and decided to try out their new lunch deal.
The lamb Pudini was full of flavour and the lamb tender. My starter was chicken Tikka and this was also very tasty.
The other main dish was chicken Achari and it was also delicious.
Perfect portion size and unbeatable value.
We will be back again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    18
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gurkha Kitchen”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Excellent food, plenty on the plate good service a little pricey for location but all and all very good

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drewpee100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west lothian
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great meal !”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Visited recently with friends and had a fantastic meal. Staff could not have been more attentive and were happy to explain all the dishes prior to ordering. Was keen to try the Nepalese dishes on the menu and we were not disappointed. Good sized portions and very, very tasty. A very good night out and definitely recommend. Try the Nepalese Super Dish with lamb ......... fantastic !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Indian for a small Scottish town”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Not as good as one of the better restuarants in a large city but very acceptable and it should be patronised far more by the Broxburn Locals. Food was better than decent with good sized portions and very good service. good value for money and I will certainly be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer1490852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food - ever”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Popped in for lunch as passing and the smells from the restaurant would not let me pass by!!
Ate from lunch menu and well worth the visit. Made food to personal order and beautifully presented - second to none. Very inexpensive for what we ordered. Will definitely be going again.
Very welcoming and attentive waiting staff too. Thanks for lovely lunch!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scoish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurkhasKitchen, Manager at Gurkha Kitchen, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
Thanks for your lovely review.
Satisfy customers were our biggest asset and reward.
Its our pleasure that you enjoyed our special lunch. We would like to welcome you to try our more varieties which you can get in dinner and make your evening special.
Thanks for your precious time to share the experience.

Gurkha Kitchen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Kitchen also viewed

Livingston, West Lothian
Broxburn, West Lothian
 
Broxburn, West Lothian
Broxburn, West Lothian
 
Broxburn, West Lothian
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing