We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian Food - ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gurkha Kitchen - CLOSED

Gurkha Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: European, Asian, Nepali, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to The Gurkha Kitchen, an Nepalese and Indian Cuisine at Boxburn.The Gurkha Kitchen offers such authentic food from the Himalayan region that you may get completely lost in the fresh herbs and spices. Forget that you are in the Broxburn,‎ West Lothian of Edinburgh, and let the aromas of cardamom and cumin take you to the land of the tallest mountains in the world. Enjoy the panorama photographs of the Himalaya as you savor the flavors of Nepal and India. Nepal is the country known as birth place of Budhha ,Highest peak in the world Mt. Everest and great bravery of Gurkha soldiers.Gurkhas come from the hills of Nepal and have been recruited to serve in the British Army for almost 200 years. The incredible bravery and loyalty of these remarkable people has won them great respect and affection. Today, the Gurkhas remain an important part of the British Army. In more recent times, Gurkhas have served in the Falklands and Gulf Wars, Iraq, and Afghanistan. Peacekeeping missions have taken them to Kosovo, Bosnia, East Timor and Sierra Leone. We are here to serve Nepalese traditional food with friendly manner of service together with great quality freshly prepare food by Nepalese Chef with his own style at its most authentic and vibrant form. Our aim is to stand out from the crowd to enhance Traditional Nepalese food in most significant way as in Nepal.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food - ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Popped in for lunch as passing and the smells from the restaurant would not let me pass by!!
Ate from lunch menu and well worth the visit. Made food to personal order and beautifully presented - second to none. Very inexpensive for what we ordered. Will definitely be going again.
Very welcoming and attentive waiting staff too. Thanks for lovely lunch!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scoish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurkhasKitchen, Manager at Gurkha Kitchen, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
Thanks for your lovely review.
Satisfy customers were our biggest asset and reward.
Its our pleasure that you enjoyed our special lunch. We would like to welcome you to try our more varieties which you can get in dinner and make your evening special.
Thanks for your precious time to share the experience.

Gurkha Kitchen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    18
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wee gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Excellent food. We had the Nepalese varieties, but traditional Indian is on the menu too! You can even ask to have them customise how hot or mild you like your food. Great choice of dishes. Plenty of it too! we couldn't finish the array of dishes we ordered! Big helpings!! Service was excellent, warm and friendly, chatty staff. Attention to detail was all there. Lovely and tastefully decorated. Toilets are some of the cleanest, and classy we've seen. All in all a marvellous eating experience. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending it, and we are "foodies".

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dougiedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurkhasKitchen, Manager at Gurkha Kitchen, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam
Thanks for giving your precious time to share the experience of our restaurant. This, not only motivate to give more effort to our Gurkha Kitchen team but of course beneficial to all other customers. People got to know about the quality /quantity of food, what we served, The Feel-home atmosphere with reasonable price.

Heartily appreciated
Hope to see you soon.

Gurkha Kitchen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor food and no home delivery”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We phoned a few days beforehand to see if they did home delivery which they did. On the Tuesday evening when I rang, I was told there was no home delivery as a car was not available, I was not impressed especially as it was not even a Friday or Saturday night. I placed the order for my husband and I and was told it would be 20 mins. When I arrived at the empty restaurant I had to wait a further 5 minutes for the food. To say the food was disappointing is an understatement. I had 6 small pieces of chicken, the rest was a hot sauce that tasted of nothing in particular.
My husband had about 7 small pieces of chicken in his dish the rest was just a gloopy sauce. It was £20 including a small piece of naan and some rice. We won't be returning and should have gone to the curry house a few yards away which never fails to deliver on superb food and price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PamelaFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurkhasKitchen, Manager at Gurkha Kitchen, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Sir/Madam
Thank you for giving your precious time for sharing the experience .
We, whole Gurkha Kitchen team heartily apologized for inconvenient occurred to you. We accept due to some technical problems that we can't deliver on that day. And thanks for the compliments about the food so that we got the opportunity to rectify our weakness and able to assure the quality food with pleasant atmosphere reasonable price and of course good portion size to our valuable customers.
thanks
Gurkha Kitchen Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Starter of pakora had three pieces which were good but not enough , lamb dish was ok , service was good .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank m_watson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurkhasKitchen, Manager at Gurkha Kitchen, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience.
We are getting more concious on the portion size hopefully u feel the change on your next visit.
Hope to see you soon.

Gurkha Kitchen Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Gurkah Kitchen - best food we've had in Broxburn - by far - De-Lish :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had read some good reviews for the Gurkah Kitchen in Broxburn prior to booking our meal, and had eaten in local restaurants nearby too, which were good, but we were soon to find out were not on a par with this 'new boy in town' restaurant. We had never eaten this range of Himalayan food before and took bold steps of faith in selecting our unknown dishes from a wide ranging choice of menus. We were not disappointed with our selected meals, and very pleasantly surprised with flavour filled, colourful, very well presented delicious food - a new and wonderful experience for all 5 of our dining party. The portions were of very good proportion, I'm convinced my Chicken dish had at least to complete chicken breasts in my mouth wateringly tasty portion, and the choice of new foods available to us on the menu, combined with our wonderful easting experiences confirms that we WILL be back again to select other new dishes from the excitingly refreshing menu. We agreed that this was good food in clean, modern, inviting and relaxing atmosphere. We did find the background music a bit strange to start with but soon became attuned to it as time passed. However the staff were very helpful and friendly, and we left having known that we had eaten our fill having experienced a new and most enjoyable meal with dear friends. A charming lovely new 'Gurkah' theme venue to eat and meet friends, with exciting and very taste filled food menus. Something everyone needs to experience for themselves. There is also 'European dishes' like Scampi and chips on the menu if you want to 'play safe' :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Splishsplasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurkhasKitchen, Manager at Gurkha Kitchen, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
"A new Boy In Toun Restautrant " Appreciated the Title. Few young enthusiast giving maximum effort to add up one more option on selection of food repesentating the himalayan food with Feel-home hospitality. Heartly thanks for giving your precious time to share your experience about our food and service about ambience atomsphere of our restaurant. This definitly the biggest acheivement to all our Gurkha Kitchen Team.


HoPe tO sEe yOu agAin VeRy sOOn.

GUrkha Kitchen Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Kitchen also viewed

Broxburn, West Lothian
Livingston, West Lothian
 
Livingston, West Lothian
Livingston, West Lothian
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing