We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steaks to die for”
Review of Oatridge Hotel

Oatridge Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broxburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oatridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Broxburn B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Steaks to die for”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have used this hotel/restaurant many times and found that their steaks have always been first class and extremely reasonabley priced.
A village institution used by both visitors and locals, friendly staff and management with the option of joining in at the public bar next door. The house wine I find is pleasantly drinkable as well to top things of.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Having lots of family and friends stay at this hotel while visiting us I must say that all of them have been very happy with the Oatridge. Its clean, friendly and has an amazing Restaurant which we have visited many many times. The menu has lots of different choices and the wine list is really reasonable. I never hesitate to reccomend the Oatridge to friends or aquaintances in the passing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had lunch there today. Rib eye steak was the best I have tasted for a long time, sourced from Lawsons local butchers just a few doors away. Price was very reasonable at £41 for two people, two courses and coffee. Decor is perhaps a little dark in the dining room, combined with the small ish windows it makes the place feel a little gloomy. Waitress was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

If you want a fancy hotel then go to Edinburgh and pay triple the price.
I stayed a few nights and it was lovely. Had a great time and laugh with the staff as well. It building old and affordable, but worth it. Room was spacey and perfect for those who just want a decent room. Wireless in my room was weak (probably due to my location) but works perfectly in the hallway and downstairs. Staffs are friendly and welcoming. This is a small family business place so if you need anything, they're there. Breakfast was good. If you're not an early bird, talk to them and the staff will work with your schedule. No one expect a cheap room with breakfast to be a 5 star so don't expect too much. It's the usual (eggs, bacon, beans, tomato, cereals, and toast). Downstairs, they do run a night bar while the rooms are upstairs, so if you are one of them people who needs their silent and quietness, it is probably not the place for you. What can I say, they're scottish! Parking is very limited but Bus stops and mini markets is just right outside with small shops, fish'n chips, etc...and about 20 minutes bus ride to Edinburgh, FYI =) I say, it's worth it for those who want to have fun, save, and just enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickNeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The rooms could do with a little TLC a busy bar with a good local trade all in good spirits. The food is fantastic all red hot and enjoyable I would stop again
Al of the staff were very polite and did a good job. Well done

Room Tip: Eat the food in the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

horrible, tatty rooms, bar downstairs open til stupid o clock, full of drunks and noise, no parking to speak of, smell of deep fat fryer throughout the building all the time, and for £60 a night, the worst cooked breakfast ever! 1 bacon, 1 sausage, an egg and beans, thats it! in scotland? wheres the haggis, tattie scones, mushrooms etc? and very poor service too, grumpiest waitress i have ever met.
my advice is dont go there, you will be heartily disappointed.

Room Tip: old, tired and looks it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broxburn
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oatridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oatridge Hotel

Property: Oatridge Hotel
Address: 2-4 east main street | uphall, Broxburn, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Broxburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Broxburn
Also Known As:
Oatridge Hotel Broxburn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing