We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class B & B”
Review of Bankhead Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bankhead Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Broxburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have been staying at Bankhead for about six or seven years when I visit the area in late August.
Robert and Heather run an excellent B & B that suits me perfectly, because I prefer not to live in someone's house.
The accommodation is all self-contained and every room is fitted out to a very high standard. Housekeeping is of a similar high quality.
All rooms have hot drinks facilities and, although rooms do not have fridges, there is a large one in the kitchen where cold drinks etc, can be kept.
There is a large lounge with views across the farm. There is also a dining room and an adjacent kitchen. All can be used by all guests.
Because the farm is located at the end of an access road a little distance from the nearest town, guests are assured of a quiet night's sleep with no traffic noise.
The breakfast room has views across the fields in the opposite direction from the lounge.
Breakfast itself will not disappoint. There is a wide range of cereals, yoghurts and dried fruits, plus an extensive list of cooked items. If you like haggis for breakfast, order it the night before, as I do! If all that's not enough, there is as much toast and preserves as you can want as well as tea or coffee.
I would recommend Bankhead Farm to anyone who wants casual, but good quality accommodation.
My next visit in August 2014 is already booked.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Some upstairs rooms might not suit tall people because of the slope of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaguarEW02GRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BankheadBob, Owner at Bankhead Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments.It is a great pleasure to see guests returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Thanks to Google Earth we found this farm, checked the website and thought its worth a try due to the location. Since we are a family of 4 cause of our 2 kids I like to stay close to airport when on Holiday by car. This farm's location is thumbs up! Very close to Edinburgh Airport and to city as well. Just 20 - 30 mins far from Park & Ride where you can enter the city hassle free by bus (especially in August) and enjoy the beautiful Edinburgh. Breakfast is great and the full english cooked on order. Rooms very clean and comfy with country views Scottish style! Owners are very nice and helpful. On our next Scottish Holiday its a must to visit again when close to Edinburgh! Bankhead Farm .... thanks for making our Scottish holiday one to remember! Regards from MALTA.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Booked for one night at very last minute and no idea about the accomodation. So glad we did - great to get away from the motorway madness and into rolling countryside. We stayed B and B but there is also self catering. Breakfast great and only a short drive to our destination in Edinburgh. We much preferred to stay outside the city as we had private parking, peace and quiet. Room was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorrytyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

It was perfect for us and our boys. From the amazing family room to the friendly hospitality to the beautiful views. We will definitely will stay here again when we visit granny again. Our place of choice. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carloseltoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I visited Bankhead Farm after a recommendation from a colleague and we had a fabulous time.
It's pretty remote and found at the top of a dirt track but the welcome was warm, the room was spotlessly clean and very spacious. The whirlpool bath was great fun and the furniture was of a very high standard. Breakfasts were hearty and cooked to order, and they certainly filled us up for the whole day. We will definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrREvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Recently spent 5 weeks at Bankhead Farm whilst working in the area and found it to be very comfortable.As I went home at weekends I had 4 different bedrooms and all more than adequate, spotlessly clean and all with modern bathrooms and lovely views .Owners very friendly breakfasts excellent..Excellent value and would not hesitate to stay again when in the area.As off the beaten track you do need a car when staying here.Website does not do it justice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenandbecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Have been to rob and heathers several times over the years. Couldn't fault anything. Lovely people and a fantastic location. Breakfast great. Rooms great. Where does it end. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plymouthandproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broxburn
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
552 reviews
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,579 reviews
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
61 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bankhead Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankhead Farm

Address: Dechmont, Broxburn EH52 6NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Broxburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Broxburn
Price Range: $81 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankhead is a quiet tranquil spot in Central Scotland with superb panoramic views of the Pentland and Ochil Hills and over the Forth to Fife. We offer Good quality B&B or Self catering accommodation. We are ideally located close to Broxburn, Livingston, Linlithgow, Edinburgh and Glasgow. Edinburgh airport is under 20 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bankhead Farm Broxburn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing