We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”
Review of Isle of Coll Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arinagour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Isle of Coll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arinagour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was just over a year since my last visit, and once again I must say, the reception at the hotel is first class. The food is some of the best Ive ever had, and Ive eaten my way around the world!!
Whilst it is the only hotel/bar on the island the prices are very reasonable and quality is obviously high on their agenda
Many thanks for another great time

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank YOU-you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 227 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Coll hotel for 2 nights. We really enjoyed our stay. The room was nice and comfortable and we had a lovely view across the bay. There was tea, coffee, water, biscuits and sweets in the room which was a nice touch. There’s a guest dining room so you are always guaranteed a table if the restaurant fills up. Breakfast was lovely and I have to say the girls working in the hotel were very sweet and helpful and the hotel generally had a nice friendly feel.

I found the wifi a bit patchy. We couldn’t really pick it up in the room and would have to go down to the bar. There’s not a lot of mobile reception on Coll but the hotel does have a payphone. There’s also the community centre across the road which is very nice and they have internet facilities there if you really need it.

We used the free hotel bikes on one day. They were all very good quality, they have helmets too. It was a nice extra. The island was nice to ride around. It’s extremely quiet and remote with only 200 inhabitant, plus sheep! Everyone is friendly and helpful on the island, locals will give you a lift if you need one etc. We just really enjoyed our stay there. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GemmaR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed with family overnight on the way to Tiree. The hotel location is great as were the staff and both the breakfast Setting staff & all meals really great. Only issue was with room 6 directly above bar & smoking area. We stayed a busy Saturday night so noise from good natured crowd in bar below was unfortunately an issue until 00:30hrs. In fairness owners are aware of the problem and working hard to solve the matter. Also only likely to be issue for room 6 and only when bar busy.

You may wonder why I have written this review - its because I believe trip advisor only works if people write honest reviews both good and bad.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WillyEckerlyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here in a single room for two nights in July while younger members of the family stayed in the excellent new Island Bunkhouse nearby. The Hotel is very welcoming, the food is excellent. We had lovely weather and sitting out in the hotel garden with drinks was very pleasant. The family had dinner both nights eating the local seafood and it was delicious and very good value. Bikes are free and I loved whizzing about the Island. Coll itself is a lovely island full of welcoming people with lots going on and very pretty - the machair was in full bloom and the best I have seen in the Hebrides.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROMBunkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Book Now!

We ahve been visiting the island for 12 years now and without a shadow of a doubt The Coll hotel is the best in the islands.Kevin and Julie are amazing hosts in all senses of the word. The hotel is very much run as if it is an extension of their lives and not as a business, so be prepared for friendly conversations, amazing hospitality and food that is unrivaled.

Do not expect a city centre style approach to customer service, here you are a person with a name, not a room number.

Do not think the food will be the run of the mill , over sauced (just to add flavour) , fiddly , fancy small portions... here it is all about the raw produced, cooked very well, served as it should be.

This is the only hotel and the only bar on the island... remember, you are a guest to the island and therefore embrace it and enjoy the island banter. If you are expecting a sterile hotel chain style service with souless interiors .. dont come ..simples!!

I have read through a lot of reviews here and stagger to understand some of the comments... sheep poo on the grass... it is an island filled with sheep what do you expect??

Keep up the amazing work ... We love you. We love the island and we love your culture!

Room Tip: room 7 is perfect for kids as it can sleep 4. Room 6 has the best views as it is on the corner, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouglasMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited Coll en rote to Barra with 11 friends in two yachts and whilst we didn't stay at the Coll Hotel we visited for a drink and evening meal in the restaurant. The Hotel is set in a wonderful location with views over the bay and the friendliness of the staff was quite outstanding. The food was superb from a wide ranging menu/specials board and sensibly priced.
Well worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ken Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Spent two nights at the Coll Hotel recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a large room at the front of the hotel, with lovely views out over the harbour. The room was very clean and comfy with nice extras like home made shortbread and some sweeties. Breakfast was excellent, I couldn't see past the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs both mornings but the full cooked was good too by all accounts. We ate in the hotel on both evenings and the food was fabulous - really high quality cooking with plenty local seafood to choose from. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere is laid back and relaxed. Sitting outside with a drink before dinner after a day of cycling (bikes provided for guests) was just perfect. I can't recommend it enough and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinagour
12.9 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
129 reviews
17.6 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
433 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Coll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Coll Hotel

Address: Arinagour | isle of Coll, Arinagour PA78 6SZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Coll > Arinagour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arinagour
Price Range: $87 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Isle Of Coll Arinagour
Isle Of Coll Hotel Arinagour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing