We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Collector's Item”
Review of Isle of Coll Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arinagour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Isle of Coll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arinagour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The problem with Tripadvisor reviewers is they don't often state their expectancy levels up-front. They then go on to review a hotel assuming everyone understands what they were looking for. But actually, expectancy is key, and I'd say is even a responsibility of the tourist, to a degree at least.

Coll is a small, remote island (albeit with a very large, spanking new community centre) so it would be unrealistic to expect McDonalds, Alton Towers 2, an Odeon Multiplex and West Ham's new stadium. Similarly, the hotel is not going to offer an Olympic size swimming pool, paint ball, Bruce Forsyth in cabaret or even bingo nights. Some of the rooms are going to be on the small side. The restaurant is going to be a little cramped at times. The bars are going to be - take a deep breath and think of the Ritz - full of local people. Some of them, like the gentleman who has lived there all his life, will be difficult to understand.

But if you go with the right kind of expectancy, you are going to be delighted with this hotel. The food is fabulous: fresh, big portions. The staff are friendly, polite and genuinely responsive. In all, the owners have done a great job in creating a Tardis-like place, where the good will and hospitality is far larger than it looks from the outside.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 229 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

this was my first visit to Coll, and my company booked me into the Coll Hotel, arrived quite early and staff made sure my room was made up, great internet access for remote working, peat fire in the lounge bar for lunch and an evening meal to die for - probably the best sirloin steak i have ever eaten. Thought that couldn't be beaten, the breakfast was just as good. Room was lovely and homely, large en suite. Overall, one of the best hotels i have stayed. many thanks and roll on the next visit to Coll.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had dinner here 3 nights in a row and could not fault it. Given the location of the hotel the menu choice is varied and of really high quality. Very friendly staff. One to put on a wish list.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Scottish_Wanderer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were cruising in the western isles in July and visited the lovely island of Coll. We booked dinner in the little hotel and were greatly looking forward to it. My husband ordered lobster and said to me that this would be the place to treat himself to fresh lobster. What came was something that looked as if it had been either prepared earlier in the day or brought in from somewhere. It did not have the appearence or taste of lobster cooked that evening. It was served with some uninteresting salad plonked on the side of the plate. The presentation or food did not live up to the £28 price tag. I had a pasta dish priced at £17 accompanied by the same salad veg chopped up with a different dressing.
To add to the disappointment there was a birthday party of 10 people eating. the noise level was extremely intrusive and we could barely hear ourselves talk. We appreciate people want to enjoy a night out but loud parties such as this should be put in a seperate room. We walked bact to our boat with another couple who had similarly found the noise level unacceptable.
I feel the hotel need to consider the comfort of all their guests and perhaps learn a lesson from other restaurants .

Room Tip: Ask if any noisy groups of people are eating. Check if lobster is freshly prepared .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valhalla81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieIsleofColl, Owner at Isle of Coll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Our lobsters are fresh & delivered by our friendly island fishermen most days, be in no doubt, these lobsters are the freshest you will probably eat. If you would prefer your lobster whole for you to fight with please ask.

The noise level in the gannet can be high between June & August, we are very busy but if you avoid those months the Gannet restaurant is more peaceful. If you are a guest in the hotel, do not worry, you have your own dining room & can keep you table for the whole evening.

The Coll hotel is a busy & buzzy place. We like that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We arrived at Coll by boat - 18 of us - and walked the short distance to the hotel not knowing what to expect. What a delight. Friendly staff nice dinning room with fantastic view over the bay and boats. However the real test of a place on the west coast of Scotland to my mind is the prawns. Too often they are trawled travesties, sometimes over cooked and mushy.
The Coll hotel prawns however are the best this part of the country has to offer. Fat, succulent juicy, cooked just right and even split down the back to make them easy to eat. Creel caught. The rest of the crew reckoned they fared well with their varied choices - and the teenagers slipped back into the delights of early childhood when at the end of lunch a big bowl of midget gems was produced. Back to the boats and on or way vowing to make sure it's not too long before we return.

Stayed: July 2012
2  Thank Boatman100754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed on the 25th and 26th of June. The location is first class, the garden is a delight and if blessed with a warm day it is a haven whilst enjoying a gin and tonic or ice cold beer. The hotel and resaurant can get busy with the sailing set depending on which way the wind is blowing.We thouroughly enjoyed our breakfast both days, the staff were happy to alter the set menus to accomodate our dietary needs, and meals were taken in the residents dining room which was just a little bit cramped.
We only had dinner once during this stay and it is perfectly true to say the food was absolutely delicious! The squat lobster macaroni was one of the nicest meals I have ever tasted, really breathtakingly good, a joy to behold, a work of art!!
Used the hotels bikes and struggled up the hills of Coll and freewheeled down the other sides remembering to stand up when crossing a cattle grate.
My only criticism of the hotel was that our room (number 1) which was supposed to be a small double was infact a small single with a double bed somehow placed in it.Have however recomended the hotel to others.

Room Tip: don't ask for room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coln A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

I agree, when the hotel is full & there are a few extra kids too, the residents dining room can feel a little cramped but please ask, another time, to eat in the non residents restaurant. We can usually arrange that.
I also agree that room 1 is on the neat side for a double but we sell it as that with a room rate less than all our other bay view rooms. We also always advise booking guests that room 1 is a small double. When fitting en suite into all the rooms we decided less space was better than no en suite & compensated by fitting an amazing shower.
So glad you enjoyed the squat lobster mac'n'cheese. I agree again, it is absolutely delicious, a huge seller at a very reasonable cost.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Came over from Oban on a spectacular morning on the Lord of The Isles. Biked our way to the hotel and were shown to our room and made welcome. Following a mid am snack we made our way to the west of the island, to Crossapol and fell bays.
On return We selected the seafood menue, which was disappointing, as, the products were old and stale. On the second night we dined on rack of lamb which was perfect. Our stay was blessed with sunny settled weather. Perfection.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

I must disagree. Old & stale shellfish? That statement could not be further from the truth.
All our shellfish, lobsters, crabs, squat lobsters & langoustines, is creel caught from 3 Coll based fishing boat, our scallops are hand picked by Coll divers.
The produce is delivered straight to the kitchen door when they return from a day at sea, it is prepared & served.
There are no miles travelled, no deep chiller storage, no stashed at sea for days at a time before landing. Our shellfish could not be fresher.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the lamb. We are aware that not all our guests are seafood lovers and have given much more thought this year to our meat eaters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isle of Coll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Coll Hotel

Address: Arinagour | isle of Coll, Arinagour PA78 6SZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Coll > Arinagour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arinagour
Price Range: $90 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Isle Of Coll Arinagour
Isle Of Coll Hotel Arinagour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing