We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable small hotel on South Uist”
Review of Orasay Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lochcarnan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orasay Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochcarnan
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Comfortable small hotel on South Uist”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The strange thing about this place is that their own website gives an incorrect location of the hotel (via Google maps). The correct coordinates for this hotel are: 57.377568, -7.30034.
The room we got was spacious as was the en-suite bathroom. The hotel could do with a bit of refreshing and updating but all in all it suited our needs and the proprietor was very friendly. We also liked having free Wi-fi in the room. We had a delicious breakfast including some of the local salmon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scandilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    45
    14
    12
    5
See reviews for
12
75
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

At the Orasay Inn we had a very warm welcome and they were very hospitable. However, we felt that the establishment was somewhat overpriced for what is really a suburban bungalow in a peat bog. The rooms were very clean but extremely small and the ensuite bathroom miniscule. The food was fine dining prices but unfortunately not fine dining quality or presentation. The ingredients were fresh and of excellent quality but not always executed in the way they deserved. The rubber scrambled egg in a mound covered in smoked salmon for breakfast was inedible. The building was plain and the tat around the dining room a bit off putting.

We consider £100 per night for B & B in June expensive, £28 for a plate of paella excessive and £18 for a bottle of ordinary wine overpriced and did not constitute good value for money. A meal for 2 with wine was around £80 which is what one would expect to pay in a city centre. Need it cost so much for local ingredients? We would certainly not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orasayinn, Owner at Orasay Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Marked five for location described in the post as "a surburban bungalow in a peat bog".
Rather strange! As far as I am aware, bungalows are generally, fairly compact 2/3 bedroom houses, though some can be larger. They are certainly not T shaped with 9 en-suite bedrooms, residents lounge, dining room for up to 30 and service areas. The surrounding area, outside the fairly large garden and car park, is moorland and seashore. As previously mentioned, the costs associated with running a business in the Hebrides are formidable, especially fuel and transport. Yet we have to remain competitive with mainland locations. I believe this guest and partner spent 2 nights in a standard double room (the double and twin rooms have en-suite, comparable with most modern hotels) on their 3rd night, by prior agreement was spent in 2 (en-suite) single rooms, 1 with a smaller but perfectly acceptable bathroom. They paid £50 (normal rate £57) for each of the singles. Over £8 of that goes in VAT. Our wine list, sourced from a very reputable supplier, is priced from £14 to £25 (excluding champagne) and the profit margin is set below the acceptable level generally used in restaurants. The assertion that a paella cost £28 is completely untrue. We charge £22 for Hebridean Paella (no chicken) all locally sourced seafood (not cheap) and not over bulked with rice. It is possible to pay £80 for a
meal for 2 with wine. Then again it is also possible to pay £54 for a 3 course meal, with wine and coffee, for 2. It just depends how much you want to spend. It should be remembered that meal prices include 20% VAT. Totally unavoidable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were booked into this room by a travel agent who recommended it highly.

Our initial reaction, on reading some reviews, was doubt - but the travel agent was right.

An outstanding welcome, a lovely room with a view and decking to sit out on, and a great restaurant and food made this a great place to stop off and enjoy.

One of those places you could use as a base to explore from, as well as a stopping-off point on a journey, and so very comfortable to use!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but the ones with the sun desk have an extra something (but cost more too I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMEmbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Ate at orasay inn, we had great food , scallops were to die for!
Highly recommend this inn for food we did not have a room but we definitely stay there next time we visit uist .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mairi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The outside of this hotel is rather plain but don't be put off as everything else is excellent. We were made to feel genuinely welcome. This is place where the staff do really want to please.This is not obsequious service, they are nice people who are also very professional in what they do.
Our room was very comfortable and had a deck outside which we could have sat out on, if the wind had abated!
Sitting in the lounge having a drink before dinner allows you to chat to the other guests if you want to , but if you're not feeling sociable, the room is big enough for you not to feel you have to.
The food is cooked to order and is delicious. I had scallops as a starter which were first rate and so many of them! The breakfasts were to the same high standard. There were bowls of melon, strawberries and blueberries to help yourself from. The scrambled egg which I had as part of my breakfast was moist and creamy.
A good place to stay and an even better plcae to eat!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flapjack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Although the exterior of the hotel is somewhat unprepossessing the interior is very pleasant and comfortable.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is good and plentiful at breakfast and other meals - ideal if you are out in the fresh air all day.

Excellent value

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms that have decking and outside furniture that look out onto a 180 degree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianwatt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton Astley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Orasay Inn doesn't look anything special from outside... don't be put off. We got a very friendly welcome when we arrived after a long day's cycling. Our room was tastefully fitted out and very comfortable. We enjoyed a splendid meal in the restaurant which has lovely views over towards the nearby sea loch and distant Inner Hebrides islands. As you would expect in the Western Isles, superb locally caught sea food is always on the menu. Meat eaters are well catered for too, especially at breakfast where the "full Scottish" is high class.
Great location, good standards and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochcarnan
0.0 mi away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
477 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orasay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orasay Inn

Property: Orasay Inn
Address: Lochcarnan HS8 5PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Lochcarnan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochcarnan
Hotel Class:3 star — Orasay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Orasay Hotel Lochcarnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing