We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for exploring the Uists”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lily Pond Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lochcarnan, South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie T
1 review
“Ideal for exploring the Uists”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Clean, tidy, comfortable and with everything you could want from a base to explore the islands. Almost central in the island chain made it very handy for exploring - lots of places to walk and a great variety of wildlife to see.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2017
I am to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna S
Eilean Siar
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well equipped with views to the horizon and the wide open sky”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A very nice house with a wee loch to the front and the sea at the back. Everything you could need is supplied. The house is cosy and comfortable and while there was just the two of us staying, it would be a great place for a family or for three couples. Enclosed garden with sundowner seats to enjoy the sunset while listening to the birds. We saw so many different birds and I'm sure that if I had been at the kitchen window at the right time I would have seen an otter too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely comments. I do believe an otter has been seen from the kitchen window. Hopefully see you next year.
Kind regards
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildlife...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderfully comfortable holiday cottage”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have recently returned from our stay at Lily Pond Cottage and can thoroughly recommend it. The cottage was comfortable, well equipped and clean, with a supermarket not far away and a quiet location. The cottage's location was ideal for exploring the islands, being centrally located, whilst far enough off the main road to be peaceful and undisturbed. The kitchen was well equipped, even with pots of fresh herbs for cooking, the beds were comfortable and wi-fi, TV etc available.
We toured most of the Uists and had a day trip to Barra whilst staying here. We saw short-eared owl and a hen harrier in the fields around the cottage on most days, and saw an amazing variety of wildlife whilst touring round the islands. We were very fortunate to have a week of blue skies and sun, but even if the week had been wet, the cottage was always warm and cosy to come back to. We couldn't recommend it highly enough and would certainly love to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, comfortable cottage, good views
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Thank you for your kind review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you and hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinclair...
Crawley, West sussex
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage looks small from the outside but when you get inside the space is amazing. We travelled with our 14 year old son and he was able to have his own bedroom and bathroom, effectively his own area of the house. Extremely well equipped, one of the best equipped cottages we have stayed in and we wanted for nothing. Close to supermarkets as well. Very comfortable cottage with lots of space. Sandra was very warm and welcoming even though we kept her on the door step during a down-pour as we didn't hear her knock. Would thoroughly recommend it and would definitely stay there if we were to go back to South Uist. Thank you Sandra

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and comfort of the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirley c
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosy and welcoming”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

we stayed at lily pond cottage in may 2015 for 2 weeks. Sandra was very welcoming and we immediately felt at home. The cottage is equipped with every modern convenience that you
could possibly need and is very central for touring all the islands. From the lounge we saw
many birds including golden eagles, short earted owls and buzzards. I would recommend this cottage to anyone.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2015
Many thanks for your comment which is nice to know and share it for other guest to see. Hope you will be back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dazzle71
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A cosy and well equipped retreat”
Reviewed November 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We arrived on a bleak and rather windswept day after being lucky with the sunshine on Skye. Despite the weather the welcome by Sandra couldn't have been warmer or more welcoming. The cottage looks functional on the outside (at some point folks who live here all year round balanced the cuteness of a shieling and the thermal efficiency of insulation and made a wise decision) but inside it's cozy, warm, spotless and well equipped. It's located in a lovely position and is perfect for exploring the sights of South Uist or being lazy on the sofa with a good book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly and warm welcome
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midgemagn...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I LOVE this place- it's the perfect home for your trip to the Uists”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I've stayed at Lily Pond Cottage for the last 3 years, have been visiting the Uists self catering for 6 years, and it's a real delight to come back to Lily Pond Cottage. As soon as you walk through the door you feel like you're home!

The cottage is ideally placed for visiting the islands, enjoying a central position at the top end of South Uist, making it easy to travel in any direction ( and avoiding a long drive for your daily sightseeing). It's located only a mile or so off the main road, on a good minor road- again, means you have easy access yet a very peaceful base for your stay.

The cottage is several hundred metres from the nearest neighbours, so although you can see other isolated homes, you feel like you have complete privacy. It's a detached house in its own fenced grassy garden (nice to relax in on a sunny day), with room to park a couple of cars safely in the drive too.

The house has addictive views over a lovely tidal bay, where you can watch herons fish, shelduck paddle, and geese waddle. You may also be lucky and catch sight of an eagle swooping over the moor from your kitchen window (makes cooking more fun having that entertainment outside!) and according to the visitors book, other guests have also spotted an otter there. The front of the house has a stunning view over Hecla - it can be mesmerising watching the shade of evening light on the hillside. Just keep an eye open in case the bird going past the window is the Hen Harrier out hunting over his favourite haunt!

The house itself is always spotlessly clean! Unlike other places I've stayed, you never feel the need to do your own wee clean before you use anything, such as mugs or utensils- it's properly cleaned and it's so relaxing just to be able to kick your shoes off as soon as you arrive and pop the kettle straight for a cuppa on in your clean kitchen. The decor is modern and stylish yet uncluttered and not fussy- it's a nice place to even be stuck indoors in, on the rare occasions when the weather is set against you.

The cottage has everything you need and more besides. It's very cosy, with central heating throughout, and double glazed windows. The kitchen is well equipped and has a lovely table you can sit at and stare at the stunning views, there are 3 lovely king/double bedrooms (& hair dryer, so no need to pack your own), 2 bathrooms (one with shower over bath, the other with shower - ideal to avoid queues if you're in a large group), a very handy utility room with washing machine and separate tumble dryer- great for leaving all your walking gear, the lounge has a large TV with freesat, so you can relax in the comfy sofas in front of the box, provided you can tear yourself from staring at the view, and there's wifi too, so you can email friends and family to make them envious with your tales of Hebridean adventures!

The cottage is only a 5-10 minutes drive away from the main shop at Creagorry, so it's handy if you need to nip out for something. It's also not too far to drive to the nice new coffee shop near Balivanich: Island Deli (great to indulge in a cake there after a day out walking)!

The owners, Sandra and Calum, live around half an hour or so away and are extremely friendly and helpful- it's obvious to see the complete care and attention they have put into Lily Pond Cottage and into making sure you have a holiday home that is as lovely to spend time in as the scenery outside is too.

I would highly recommend you chose Lily Pond Cottage for your stay - BUT only as long as you don't pick the week I'd like to book for my next visit to the Uists!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, well equipped, perfect location, wildlife from your window!
Liked least: Genuinely can't think of anything to fault.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and looking forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing