We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient in a nice location”
Review of Borrodale Hotel

Borrodale Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borrodale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daliburgh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient in a nice location”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here on a cycling holiday with teenagers. There were big public areas including a large bar. Our room was satisfactory, as was the bar meal and the breakfast, but overall, we did not feel the same level of hospitality as we did elsewhere in the Outer Hebrides. Our accommodation was not as good as in other similarly priced hotels that we stayed in on this trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    28
    21
    11
See reviews for
19
52
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Friendly staff, good bar meals, great breakfasts in the conservatory, help with our bags, dog-friendly, easy parking. Lots of good walks nearby, beaches, golf, fishing. Didn't tick nightlife box as that might give the wrong impression but there's plenty going on in the evenings during the first full week in July when there's a festival with piping, fiddle, singing and dancing, all within easy walking distance. The bar can be lively then too.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quieter than others, so ask if that's important to you but it's not generally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boglieburn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elderslie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

thought this would be a nice Hotel for a bar meal. Service was not very good as there was a mix up over our meals . My daughter's meal came after my husband and I were nearly finished ours and her chicken was tough, certainly not worth the menu price. One girl behind bar always seemed to want to butt in so I feel this is where the confusion started. Nice for a quiet drink, but a meal I am not so sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Called in to book a table for 8 of us to eat and Sheila couldn't be more helpful. We also received lots of information on things to do in the area! When she showed us the menus, we couldn't believe the amount of fresh local produce they had on and also she showed the dinning areas, we decided to book into the dinning room, I felt it had great character, with lovely paintings in the lounge area hand painted by herself! We stayed for a cup of coffee, the tea/coffee deal caught our eye! The Caribbean cake was just gorgeous!
That evening we where taken great care of, Barbara (forgive me if not correct) couldn't do more to ensure we had a lovely meal and the rest of the staff very pleasant and attentive. Meals where delicious and the puddings where just mouth watering! We sampled a bit of everything, the choice was just too tough! Thankyou Borrowdale hotel for a lovely night for myself and my relatives! We will be back!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen-kelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The first impression was poor - the staff were sitting at the entrance to the hotel which double as the hotel smoking area so one has to walk through a cloud of cigarette smoke to enter the hotel. We had no help with our bags. Our room was tired and the curtains so thin that they kept out no light whatsoever and the room was filled with daylight at 4-30am!! For our second night we cut up a large plastic bin bag we had in the car and stuck this on the window glass to help keep out the light. The bathroom could have been cleaner, it constantly had a drain smell - whenever people ran water in the adjoining bathroom the plug holes in our en-suite bathroom 'glugged' and caused a smell. There was only a thin partition wall between the adjoining bedroom en-suite and our bedroom and you could therefore hear everything, and I mean everything, that went on in there! We didn't use the 'Residents Lounge' it was windowless, breakfast was ok but the breakfast room was soulless. We were meant to stay for 4 nights but we checked out after 2 - interestingly we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Landsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Borrodale. They added a breakfast area in recent years that is nice, but the rest of the hotel needs some sprucing up. Good location; closest hotel to Askernish Golf Club. Also close to the ferry terminals at Lochboisdale and Eriskay. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duck1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We visited the hotel twice to eat. The 1st visit was a Saturday night. Not knowing the hotel we popped into the bar for a drink and decided to eat there. The restaurant table de hote menu looked tasty, 3 courses for £25, but as we were early evening and there was nobody in the restaurant the bar food won out. When we left there was still no-one in the restaurant that we could see.
Bar menu starters ok but nothing too imaginative.For the main I had the highland cattle topside from the specials menu, a good quantity of meat but was a little chewy. The venison was rated highly and was also a good sized portion.
Desserts were from the specials board. There were 4 listed 2 of which2 became unavailable when we asked for them. What was disappointing was that as soon as we had been served 1 each of the remaining 2, then 2 different desserts were added to the board, nothing offered to us, poor stuff.
Price of beer reasonable and staff chatty. Not very busy for a Saturday.
The 2nd visit 3 days later still had all the same specials and desserts on the board, how fresh were these? The highlight was the scallops starter, a good sized portion. All else the same but more diners in the bar this time so a bit more buzz in the room.
It is pub grub reasonably priced in reasonable surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desmondo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borrodale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrodale Hotel

Property: Borrodale Hotel
Address: Daliburgh HS8 5SS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Daliburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daliburgh
Hotel Class:2 star — Borrodale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run small hotel with a warm welcome. We are in walking distance to the beach, lochs to fish and the world famous Askernish Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borrodale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrodale Hotel Daliburgh
Borrodale Hotel South Uist/Daliburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing