We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple of Good meals, Good friendly service and Dog Friendly in Bar”
Review of Borrodale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borrodale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daliburgh
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were staying in Daliburgh at a self catering cottage. We arrived late our 1st night and headed to the nearby hotel for an evening meal. I had steak pie and Hubby had chips. Both were fine, not earth shatteringly fabulous but by no means poor just decent hearty food in good sized portions with friendly service. We ate in the bar area, as our dog was with us, so can't say what the restaurant was like but it was the same menu.
Mid week we decided to cook in our cottage and have steak and chips (with the chips coming from the chip shop) after starting to cook the steak headed to chip shop to discover it was closed!!!! Borrodale Hotel to rescue - they happily did a large portion of take away chips.
Last night of our holiday we opted to eat at Borrodale again, this time I had Venison steak and Hubby had Thai green Curry both were very good and definitely well above average. Again huge portions and we had a friendly chat with the bar man and then a couple of games of pool. A very enjoyable evening. We would definitely go back for food and service

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Borrodale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Absolutely dreadful night. The worst bed I have ever tried to sleep in, the bed being small & creaky. We could hear neighbouring room noises clearly and the evening meal was bad value. A tired and characterless place. Quite simply this one night stay has ruined our holiday.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having had two weeks on uist used the Borrodale as my local watering hole . Staff always pleasant and welcoming . And i can recommend the food . And on one night there was good entertainment the night before the local golf tornoment by local artist nollie

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms were adequately sized, clean and with a comfortable bed. The en suite included a bath, and I had no problems, although some of my group had hot water problems. There was no lack of food for breakfast and dinner; the service was extremely slow and a bit amateurish..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The check in....great, very friendly and chatty...good start.
The room - number 11 - compact double room with combe ceiling, not room for two to move around in. The attached en suite bathroom was a good size but the blind prevented the window from being opened and there was some previous leakage damage (hole and black marks) in the ceiling above the toilet, and the rag rolling decor....all could certainly do with a refresh and fix.
The snug lounge, lounge bar and conservatory areas were nice, with attentive staff.
Thought we'd choose from the a la carte menu; venison steak ordered medium rare, and the crispy pork belly with risotto. No steak knife was provided, the steak was cooked well done and the pureed parsnip was so stalky as to be inedible. The pork belly was verging on over cooked to dryness with no crispy cracking. We did see some examples of the pub grub come through and they looked nice so maybe the chef was not having a good day on the a la carte side.... Our disappointments were mentioned to the waiter but no recompense was offered - I suspect he failed to mention it to the manager. On the plus side breakfast was fairly good and the chef provided a good poached egg.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephy12WestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stopped in for lunch during our holiday and were very pleased with the service and local produce on the menu.
The staff were pleasant.
The menu is extensive and reasonably priced.We had the smoked salmon and it was delicious.
A good choice of wine and beers are available from the well stocked bar.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our party of American golfers returned a year later, and the experience was just as delightful.
Friendly and helpful staff, good eats and potent potables, clean rooms, even got some laundry done. And very little begrudging when we asked for lots of ice!
We love South Uist, and Askernish, and the Borrodale,
See you again in 2014.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank srjense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borrodale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrodale Hotel

Address: Daliburgh HS8 5SS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Daliburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daliburgh
Hotel Class:2 star — Borrodale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run small hotel with a warm welcome. We are in walking distance to the beach, lochs to fish and the world famous Askernish Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borrodale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrodale Hotel Daliburgh
Borrodale Hotel South Uist/Daliburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing