We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice of local produce.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Borrodale Hotel

Borrodale Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borrodale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daliburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great choice of local produce.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stopped in for lunch during our holiday and were very pleased with the service and local produce on the menu.
The staff were pleasant.
The menu is extensive and reasonably priced.We had the smoked salmon and it was delicious.
A good choice of wine and beers are available from the well stocked bar.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    28
    18
    10
See reviews for
18
51
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our party of American golfers returned a year later, and the experience was just as delightful.
Friendly and helpful staff, good eats and potent potables, clean rooms, even got some laundry done. And very little begrudging when we asked for lots of ice!
We love South Uist, and Askernish, and the Borrodale,
See you again in 2014.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank srjense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a hebrides trip. We had a warm welcome when we arrived and had a really comfortable quiet room. Evening dinner was great with good service. Would certainly stay here again on a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Dropped into the hotel for coffee and scone. Delicious! A cafetiere of coffee two scones each with cream, jam and strawberries! When we saw the menu and specials for that day we went back for evening meal. Again delicious! The hot light
The breaded crab claws with garlic butter and lad were SO fresh as were the main course of Mussels in a thick sauce ( unusual) and fillet of haddock with a lightly chilli coating. The vegetables were crunchy and varied , the wine was cold, the service was quick and very attentive. The price was VERY reasonable too. All in all a highly pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Four of us stayed here in May 2013. The rooms (but not the bathrooms) had been recently refurbished. My room was smart and comfortable though the decor was not to everyone’s taste. The bathroom was very large and I really enjoyed soaking in the bath but my companion tried to have a shower and complained that there was no hook on which to put the shower-head.

We did not have dinner there. My breakfast was excellent, but I was careful to avoid some items that looked as if they had been on the buffet rather a long time: the concealed prunes and the crystallised apricots. The breakfast room was cold.

The staff were pleasant and courteous.

Overall, we got much better value in B&B’s on the islands but unfortunately there was a shortage of B&B accommodation in South Uist in May.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dene2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

ate here for nights. may 25th -28th. food average, but the service was dreadful. still eating desert at 10 20 PM.! get out the gaviscon. !! too late to enjoy a meal. the staff were pleasant enough but it seemed that one girl was carrying all the weight on her own.

Room Tip: although we booked in the AM. the meals were still far too long arriving., and went on far too long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stopped here on our way out around the islands. We were nearing 2pm and knew we needed to find some place to have lunch before 3, as most places close for lunch by then. We were ushered into the bar area and from the limited menu I chose minute steak on white bread with onions and horseraddish and my husband had spaghetti bolognese. It would have been an okay dish if the cook hadn't dumped a half a bottle of marjoram into the sauce. Mine was a complete disaster. Overcooked chunks of steak on the cheapest, flimsiest slices of white bread made all the more soggy and unmanageable by the wet onions and horseraddish sauce. I was so hungry I ate it anyway but immediately regretted it afterwards. They couldn't even get a pint of Guiness right. It had a very strange sour taste to it even in the foam which made it unpleasant to drink. Needless to say, we didn't stay for dessert but paid the bill and rushed out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank greenladybourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borrodale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrodale Hotel

Property: Borrodale Hotel
Address: Daliburgh HS8 5SS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Daliburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daliburgh
Hotel Class:2 star — Borrodale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run small hotel with a warm welcome. We are in walking distance to the beach, lochs to fish and the world famous Askernish Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Borrodale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrodale Hotel Daliburgh
Borrodale Hotel South Uist/Daliburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing