We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vrbanj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Quaich - 3 stone villa cottages and pool
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We spent a week at the Quaich in June 2011 and I would encourage any couples who want to explore the island from a good base in a quiet village, to book now!

The accomodation is really well done - living in central Europe it was really refreshing to see a bit of effort in terms of fittings and presentation. Mick & Chris helped us out wherever they could - recommendations on beaches to visit, restaurants to try and even acting as a taxi service.

We ate at the Quaich twice and both times were really impressed with the quality of cooking.

All in all, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriss7930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for The Quaich - 3 stone villa cottages and pool
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 51 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

What an amazing time we had at the Quaich!! The place was lovely, especially the outdoor areas. Our hosts, mick & chris, couldn't do enough for us. They made us feel welcome at all times....the beers when we got there and the iced towels by the pool, and Micks taxi service!! Would most definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpaddiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We travelled to the Quaich two days after our wedding for a week of rest and relaxation and that is exactly what we got. The island scenery of Hvar is spectacular, the Quaich complex has been restored beautifully and our hosts Chris and Mick went out of their way to make sure we had a brilliant time. From the provision of taxi pick-ups, to the service they can provide booking trips, recommending (and booking) restaurants, it made for a very stress-free experience knowing that they were on hand to help out. We hired a scooter for the week which was a brilliant way to get around independently but we also enjoyed time spent sunbathing on the lovely terrace and by the pool, enjoying the peace and tranquility of the village. Our cottage was great too, lovely bedroom with very nice homely touches and kitchen downstairs which means you can cook your own meals if you prefer (eating out isn't that cheap). Highly recommended for other couples or families, for us it provided the perfect break, and we hope we can return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josiemarie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

From the moment you get picked up off the ferry by Mick, in a smart black 4 x 4 with The Quaich logo on the side you know that you have made the right choice.

Despite being fully booked the week we chose, Christine and Mick let us rent the Main House, which is actually their own home and was stunning. For just the two of us it was massive over kill with all the space and luxury but we didn't mind one bit! I only managed to sneak a peak at the 3 rental houses and from what I could gather the style, decor and facilities were of the same magnificent standard as the main house. Put together with care and attention and style, a real home form home experience.

The communal terrace and pool area was delightful, even with some big families staying at the same time it never felt crowded. The pool is great, hammocks and beds perfect for whiling away a day with a book and a beer and the terrace offered a welcome shaded area complete with grapevine pergola, mini bar and BBQ - what more do you need?

The little village of Vrbanj is as quaint as it gets and the local Konoba (Restaurant) is well worth a visit. Its also well placed for getting all over the island.

The hosts and proprietors Mick and Christine were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble and they know everything there is to know about Hvar. Christine's cooking is great and Mick is the finest taxi man/fixer on the island.

To summarise, The Quaich is real gem of a place and one that we will definitely be returning to.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BMWilliams1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed in July 2011 on our honeymoon and Christine and Mick are perfect hosts.
They looked after us from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.
We even wanted to extend our stay, but they were already booked.

Had a very relaxing time, place is very chilled out. Hvar is a fantastic island and Mick's island tour is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed with Mick and Chris for a week in June 2011. We had a wonderful holiday - The Quaich itself is a perfect Oasis... it offers a great combination of self-catering / independence and yet Chris & Mick are on hand to cook / drive / offer advice to you should you need it. The accommodation itself is a beautifully converted property, decorated to an extremely high standard and with lots of little touches which make it seem very homely. The pool area is also very nice, quiet and relaxing. Would strongly recommend sampling the home cooking by the hosts - Chris makes all sorts of home-made jams as well as limoncello which was delicious! All in all, we had a fantastic time away and felt very relaxed from the first moment we arrived - something we attributed to the hosts making sure everything was as easy as possible. Would strongly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhunt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed with Chris & mick for 6 nights in mid April 11. Even though the weather was occasionally against us the Quiach was an intimate and wonderful holiday experience. our hosts made us feel like part of the family & the village setting was simply sublime. I recommend plenty of walks(get a good map) and rent a moped/car to explore the island. Chris's cooking is also wonderful & eAsily the best food we had on our trip. We will definatelty return. Hopefully to better weather. overall thoroughly recommend a stay with Mick & Chris in the Quaich. 5* treatment in a spectacular location. Steve & Jo

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevoWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Quaich - 3 stone villa cottages and pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quaich - 3 stone villa cottages and pool

Address: 21462 Vrbanj | Hvar, Vrbanj, Hvar Island 21462, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Vrbanj
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Vrbanj
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in the lovely village of Vrbanj, on the beautiful island of Hvar. The villa offers 3 separate self-catering cottages, which vary in size (2-6 guests), to suit your needs. The setting is a peaceful oasis away from the busy tourist areas with parking if you choose to drive, and transport can be arranged for those who do not (or just don't want to!) There are enough beaches in the vicinity for you to visit a different one each day, and there is a pool for those days when you just want to laze around reading or sunbathing. A large range of services are offered, including breakfast, lunch and dinner and most importantly - transport. Enquire about the Quaich Experience Safari service for the best tour of the island out there! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Quaich - 3 Stone Villa Cottages And Pool Vrbanj, Hvar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing