We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was more like a community house rather than a b&b all 3 rooms back onto one another”
Review of Hunter Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellbird
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunter Haven
Ranked #1 of 2 Bellbird B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was more like a community house rather than a b&b all 3 rooms back onto one another”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hunter haven B&B is down a road where you think to yourself . Hmm I thought we were going to the hunter valley ! It's an old red brick home and looks like my grandmas house back in the 60's /70's , my wife and I were given the holiday for our 3rd year wedding anniversary by our parents and from the look of the website we thought it looked great .... But as we were shown to our room as we passed their kitchen and living area and were walked down a narrow hallway where there were 3 doors in a row and we were shown our room not quite "luxurious accommodation " , we decided not to stay
Saying they are the gate way to the vineyards is somewhat true as I guess most of the areas going up the freeway could be classed as a gateway to the vineyards , the house is not amongst the vineyards at all
Over all as a couples getaway I WOULD NOT recommend this place , personally I feel it's more of a share house or good location if passing through

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamSKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette G, Owner at Hunter Haven, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
This person may have had a preconceived idea and did not allow us to show them the full potential. They stayed less than 10minutes and we believe they could not have assessed cleanliness or service as they did not even enter the room or allow us to answer any questions. We have accurate photos on our web site so he should have seen what was available before coming. We also have an exceptional cleanliness and hygiene rating from the local council.

This is not a fair rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    14
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kings Langley, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hunter Haven very much! Ken & Collette were lovely and were great hosts! Nothing was ever too much trouble for them and they often would go out of their way to make sure that we had a comfortable stay and were looked after. The room was beautifully presented and clean. Kens wine tour was very informative and he gave us options of what we wanted to do and see in the hunter valley, giving us as much time as we needed at each location. We had never been to the hunter valley before and Ken & Collette were very helpful recommending local attractions and restaurants. The breakfast served each morning was delicious! Hunter Haven definitely lived up to its excellent reviews and we would defiantly go back! Thanks guys!!!

Room Tip: Room 5 is around the corner from all the other rooms and it is across from the HUGE main bathroom wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmaleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hunter Haven was just what we were after for our weekend in the area. Ken & Collette were great hosts and we enjoyed a restful night's sleep on a very comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious! We'll be back - if we can get in!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our holiday began with arriving just after lunch and we were greeted with two extremely friendly people. It was not before long that we were acquainted with our hosts for the next three days - Collete and Ken. The three night break included a wine tour which was to be operated by Ken and there was much information available to assist us with deciding what the other days may hold. The B and B is exclusive and only holds three couples and therefore very intimate. The room we had was a typical double bedroom size (double bed) with a very clean and suitable en-suite. The living area is a shared one but due to its size and wonderful natural light you always felt there was plenty of space. In addition whatever you may have wanted both Collette and Ken were there to help – nothing was too much problem and they really treated their guests well.
Our experiences included eating out at some great locally recommended restaurants by Collete and Ken - including 2012 regional NSW best country restaurant ‘221’. Following a fruitful wine tasting tour we spent the warm afternoon in and out of the pool, hot tub and again including the great company and impromptu cheese and biscuits plate presented by Collete and Ken.
The breakfast was included as part of the package and with a mixture of cereals and home baked selection the choice including where you ate breakfast was of the highest standard. The choice was on various parts of the verandah, which was protected from all the elements and added to the relaxed surroundings.
In summary this is a holiday destination that is ideal for any short break in the Hunter Valley either way definitely worth a trip to meet Collete and Ken.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhango, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Recently had two nights at the Hunter Haven B & B. My friend and I stayed there on a package deal. Ken and Collette were great hosts, Ken a wealth of information. Enjoyed the winery tour. However, if you are basing your information from the website and think you are going to be in a relaxing quiet rural setting, this is not the case. You are on a main road with quite a lot of traffic noise, we were actually quite shocked when we arrived because we really did expect it to be out in the country. Basicaly Bellbird is like a suburb of Cessnock. All good otherwise, just wanted to clarify that.

Also if you have booked the twin room, this is downstairs in the basement and doesn't have windows.... :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaisiedaisie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette G, Owner at Hunter Haven, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. After extensive renovations the Twin Single has been returned back upstairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay with all the trimmings, the wine tour exceptional, when your guide can give you more information then the people who work at the wineries! We have been many times to the hunter, but this trip we came home with so much more knowledge.
We really can't wait to go back
Kylie and Celso Garrido

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie-meares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

It was the very first time we stay in a B&B and we were impressed! Ken and Colette gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived, and provided wonderful hospitality throughout our stay. Bedroom is clean and tidy and has all we need, all facilities are well maintained and we were frequently suggested to use!

Ken, thank you for showing us around the wineries and gave us advises during the wine tasting.
Colette, thank you for the wonderful breakfast, loved the Mexican egg!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellbird
2.0 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
7.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.3 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellbird Hotel
Bellbird Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bellbird
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cessnock Motel
Cessnock Motel
#1 of 16 in Cessnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Haven

Property: Hunter Haven
Address: 351a Wollombi Rd, Bellbird, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Bellbird
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bellbird
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family operated B&B with 4 rooms, all with en-suites. All rooms have wireless internet, there is a small one off connection fee, Digital TV and DVD players. We do our own wine tours, host a murder nights and will drive you to and from dinners, weddings, concerts etc. (Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hunter Haven Greater Newcastle/Bellbird, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing