We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halloween in Transylvania”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cisnadioara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Transylvania Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Cisnadioara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bucks
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Halloween in Transylvania”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

It all started well with fuss free travel on Wizz Air from Luton to Targe Mures. Great flight, good seats and reasonable cost.

We were collected from the airport by Nulutsu who drove us back to Cisnadiora as if he was driving on eggs. This was pleasant as a lot don't drive carefully.

Jez & Diana could not have been more helpful both prior to arrival and during our stay. We visited all or most of the regions delights including a horse and carriage ride through Astra. At the museum you can see how life has evolved in Transylvania. Some of the highlights were the many Saxon fortified churches along with Rasnov Fortress, Bran Castle, Transfagaras Highway and of course the wonderful Balea Lac

Jez is very knowledgeable on local history and is more than happy to change tours to suit weather or needs. A raconteur for certain.

Di on the other hand is determined to make every guest fat. The food is just beyond description and the portions overly generous. The local cats and dogs dine well on the scraps.

We cannot wait for a break in our schedules so that we can return to this idillyic location and these lovely people. The facilities and accommodation are scrupulously clean with plenty of charm and character.

The Lancaster Pub is Jez's bolt hole for evenings and serves a nice pint. Visitors included Doris & Sorin along with Dennis--Derek--Dolly et al

Room Tip: We went for Haloween 2012 but because I forgot to do the review it says March 2013
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BucksKittenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
96
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I visited Transylvania with my friend and can not recommend this package enough! Jez and Di run a brilliant guest house and have an amazing itinerary set up. You really can't go wrong with the help and care from them.

We booked the Ice Hotel trip with an extra day on the end to save money on the flights, the extra day B&B cost was still better than the increased cost of the flight. We got to spend an extra day in Sibiu which was really beautiful. If Jez and Di are amenable, I definitely recommend adding a day on for this reason.

The Ice Hotel at Lac Balea was incredible but I could see how it could be confusing without a guide, Jez really takes care of everything while you're there. He's also very knowledgeable about the area, the history and people. Any questions I had on our journeys were answered really well and it was clear that he enjoys the area.

Di's cooking is delicious and plentiful, you will not go hungry staying here! There's already a lot written here about the food so I won't go into it too much but it is noteworthy.

The trips are well planned, good fun and varied. You really feel like you're getting your value for money whilst going at your own pace.

I tend not to like going back to the same places twice, the world is too big to retread the same adventures but I do thoroughly recommend Secret Transylvania and I am considering returning in the summer months to see the country then, Romania is a beautiful place and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mongooseholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was definitely one of the highlights of our recent European trip. Di was brilliant from the first email conversation to packing us a lunch to take with us to the airport on the last day. Jez was completely awesome with picking us up from the airport, to taking us sightseeing to various places in Transylvania, to being waiter at meal times, to being the bar tend.
We did the ice hotel experience with them and that was completely awesome! Di's cooking is completely out of this world! (thanks for the extra 3 kilo's Di!)
I am already planning a return trip in a warmer season to do the other things that I missed out on!
To be able to spend some time in a tiny village in Transylvania was amazing, it felt like we had gone back in time 30 years. I fell in love with this little part of Europe and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaBaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was my first time visiting Romania, and staying here during Christmas was such a memorable experience. Di and Jez were incredible hosts and everybody else involved to help make our experience special really did do an outstanding job.

The food was absolutely delicious, and I am not just saying that. Especially whilst staying there during Christmas day, Di and Jez really did work hard and I definitely appreciated their efforts. (Best Turkey I have ever had!)

They also know a lot about the location, and will arrange to take you to places that are interesting and worth visiting. One experience I do recommend is visiting the ice hotel! Now that is something worth seeing as I have never seen anything like it! It was great to see all that snow during Christmas time.

Overall my experience was fantastic and I was never disappointed. Hopefully I will soon be returning to see Transylvania in the Summer! (Photos attached)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

“From making enquiries to booking nothing was too much trouble, our experience of Romania was made even more personal with those little extras catered for (other ice hotel guests envious of what lengths Jez and Di had gone to),

As both of our hosts were ex pats their knowledge of all the tourist spots and local history was second to none( Lisa and Angela still talking about their escalator ride?) absolutely brill.

Forget about dieting as the food was out of this world, home cooking on another level. and our new years eve in sibui before leaving was the icing on the cake on a wonderful break, a holiday experience the 4 of us never expected but ticked all boxes and more thanks to our hosts.

we will definitely be returning in the summer, thanks Di and Jez from Lisa ,Fran, Keith and Angela.

Room Tip: stay in guest house and be spoilt
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

You won't find a better holiday at any price! This was my third visit as a paying guest, 2 weeks with the family in the summer of 2011 and again in 2012 (see my earlier revues).

I've been looking for an excuse to return since then. The Ice Hotel package seemed like the perfect option. ;)

The quality and attention to detail hasn't waned at all. I travelled with an "Old" friend and I'm sure he will return for more of the same.

Di's cooking is worth the trip alone!! You will read this over and over again in previous revues, there is no exaggerating the food is superb and served in copious quantities, so bring elasticated trousers.

The Ice Hotel was spectacular and as always with Secret Transylvania everything worked like clockwork. Jez books a room in the nearby Cabana and minds the valuables overnight.

Now working out how soon I can get back to Cisnadioara or a 4th time!

Thanks again guys, see you all soon!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMarsBars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic week, Jez can't do enough for you, ferrying us here, there and everywhere. Di's cooking is, well, I have never had such a high standard of food for a week in my life, unbelievably superb.
Got to come back again and I can't wait.
Bad points? Only one, that was when I looked in the bathroom mirror whilst brushing my teeth and saw a tummy that had grown hugely in seven days, but it was well worth it.
If you're not sure about Transylvania then don't be, come here, relax and be prepare to be spoilt rotten.
Did I say I loved it?

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cisnadioara
0.0 mi away
House of Dracula Hotel
House of Dracula Hotel
#5 of 16 in Poiana Brasov
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Georgius Krauss House
Georgius Krauss House
#2 of 12 in Sighisoara
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 31 in Sibiu
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 167 in Bucharest
772 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#3 of 56 in Brasov
626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Transylvania Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Transylvania Guest House

Property: Secret Transylvania Guest House
Address: Str Biserilicor 15, Cisnadioara, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Cisnadioara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cisnadioara
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Secret Transylvania accommodation is in traditional Saxon houses, renovated to a modern standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Transylvania Guest House Hotel Cisnadioara
Secret Transylvania Guest House Cisnadioara, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing