We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate .. Book this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cisnadioara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Transylvania Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Cisnadioara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to Romania for a dozen years now as we support some abandoned children in Transylvania . Consequently we don't travel much but have recently started to branch out from our base in Tirgu Mures . The area around Di and Jez's Secret Transylvania
guest house is just splendid .. It it just amazing that this corner of Europe, which is so breathtakingly beautiful and makes Switzerland and Austria look quite puny ,
Is still so unknown and so unspoilt .
Having praised the region , I can now praise where hopefully you who read this will choose to stay ..
We found this place on Trip advisor and were lucky enough to get in on a cancellation at the last minute for a weekend . 2 Romanians and 2 Brits , sharing a lovely very clean and well equipped cottage in a very pretty village
( incidentally with a great restaurant in the village .. Quite amazing for Romania )
We did not go on an all - inclusive basis
but I would thoroughly recommend anyone visiting Romania for the first time to do this , Romania is not the easiest country to get around in , although this is changing rapidly , but it seems to me that Jez and Di ( who used to volunteer in a local orphanage ) know their surroundings so well and you really would have such a brilliant holiday with them . In fact we will definitely return ourselves and do an all inclusive ..
We didn't see the rooms in the main house ( but we used the lovely pool and drank in Jez's great little " pub " ) and we didn't get to try Di's food ( next time ! )
but the people staying there told us how
happy they were with both rooms and food ....
Take it please from someone who knows
the best and the worst in Romania , Secret Transylvania guest house and what the owners are doing could not be bettered... Choose this one ...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jilly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Secret Transylvania Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We loved this holiday! The Secret Transylvania team enable you to get a real taste of the region, with such a variety of activities and experiences. A great strength of the ST experience is the ease of accessibility to the activities - Jez or Nelutu were always available to get you around, and have a wealth of knowledge at their disposal, and could translate for us or guide us as needed. The area we travelled around over the week was really big, allowing us to see so much more than if we were just on our own. As well as gorgeous rural walks in meadows, small villages, and mountains, we visited stunning citadels, castles and churches, and urban centres such as the beautiful Sibiu. We saw bears deep in the woods (wonderful!) and floated in the salt lakes. All this exciting activity was balanced with ample time to chill out by the pool back at the guest house and enjoy a drink in the sun, or time to explore areas on our own such as Sibiu and Sighisoara. Di and Jez (and Nelutu and Doris!) really do work hard to look after you, and they are considerate, friendly, helpful and informative. We ate soooo well - Di's cooking surpasses most restaurants- it really is that good, and Jez always made sure we had what we wanted and were happy. We also got chance to eat out in Sibiu and other places and try traditional Romanian cuisine, which was such a great experience. In all, Secret Transylvania allowed us to see a special part of the world that is a little off the usual well beaten tourist track, and enabled us to do this with ease, with accessibility to a wide variety of things, and with all our meals and needs extremely well catered for. We feel like we've had a really amazing experience, so much more than just a holiday. Thanks guys for looking after us so well, we miss it already! Neil and Amy.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Before I retired I worked for the best part of 50 years in the Travel & Tourism industry. In all my experience I have never come across an establishment or operation that offers such a high degree of contentment. You are greeted with a warm welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is marvelous. Jez & Di go overboard in trying to manage the 'mix' of clients and ensuring that everyone is doing what they want to do. More important they make sure that everyone knows what there is available so they can decide what they want to do. Each evening your breakfast order is taken for anything from tea and toast to a sumptuous full English breakfast.
The countryside and scenery is simply magical.
I would recommend Secret Transylvania to anybody, but do please keep it a secret.

Room Tip: If possible ask for the pool room, but all rooms are wonderful.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterReigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

A warm welcome in a relaxed and traditional environment allows you to experience the uncommercial beauty of Romania.Its something a little bit different, with a variety of fun and absorbing things to do, with the bonus of comfortable beds and marvellous food(lots of it).The local knowledge of hosts Jez and Di means that your trip is individually tailored. I loved the pure clean air of the Fagarus mountains!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Two Birds One Stone!



Secret Transylvania are a local company who managed to answer all our ‘very many’ questions and their flexibility around itineraries and local knowledge was outstanding. Our initial goal had been to spend a night in an Ice Hotel, which was a brilliant experience! Being Transylvania though, we also got to do ‘the Dracula thing’. Having a wonderful night out in the Old Saxon Capital of Sibiu, visiting Bran Castle and Sighisoara (creepy old citadel where Dracula was born). All these places were a lot less ‘touristy’ then we’d imagined and S.T also got us along to a truly local market in a shepherd’s village, where we were the ONLY tourists. We came for the unique Ice Hotel experience but have left also with memories of a beautiful region steeped in a rich and diverse history. A place we will definitely visit again. Thank you the staff at the Ice Hotel and all the crew from Secret Transylvania!

Room Tip: Fly into Sibiu or Tigure Mures - Bucherest is at least a six (6) hour transfer from the Ice Hotel !
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I've just returned from a trip with Secret Transylvania. We had an amazing time there, they guys are amazing and went out of there way to do so much to make sure we enjoyed our trip, driving us around, showing us the sights and sounds of the area and cooked some fabulous food for us all. Highly recommend going, I'll definitely be coming back and recommending them to all my friends!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Normally we travel independently as we like the freedom it gives, but after some preparatory e-mailing with Di and Jez we were impressed and decided (with some trepidation) to take the plunge and stayed a week on the all inclusive basis.
What was clear was that Di and Jez were committed to giving us everything we wanted. They set an industry standard for customer service We only had to express a mild interest in something and it was arranged. The schedule of activity was made up day by day. We saw Saxon Churches, Orthodox monasteries, local markets, high mountains. We did rural hikes, cart rides, museum tours and so on. Jez was a cheerful knowledgeable guide wherever we went (on a couple of occasions we went around Sibiu on our own but if we had wanted guiding or menu translating this would have been provided)
In addition Di catered thoughtfully and enthusiastically for our vegan diet, complicated by a couple of food allergies (from food poisoning some years ago). Normally restaurants of all calibres fail abysmally, unlike Di who treated the week as a catering tour de force
Di and Jez are obviously liked in the local community. They have contributed in many ways to the village over many years, and do not operate as some kind of voyeuristic theme park viewing the quaint locals.
We stayed in the lower village house, where we had one of the two ensuite rooms plus a kitchen and basic lounge area (we did not really use the latter two as we were too busy)
Everything we needed was included in the price - all food, transport, even drinks with the meals.
As the icing on the cake - in the whole week we did not meet one Romanian who was anything other than positively friendly and helpful. We cannot think of another country where there has been such a 100% good experience

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cordelia2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cisnadioara
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea
0.0 mi away
House of Dracula Hotel
House of Dracula Hotel
#5 of 16 in Poiana Brasov
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 55 in Brasov
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pensiunea Ana
Pensiunea Ana
#1 of 7 in Bran
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
0.0 mi away
Hotel Transilvania
Hotel Transilvania
#12 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Transylvania Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Transylvania Guest House

Address: Str Biserilicor 15, Cisnadioara, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Cisnadioara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cisnadioara
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Secret Transylvania accommodation is in traditional Saxon houses, renovated to a modern standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Transylvania Guest House Hotel Cisnadioara
Secret Transylvania Guest House Cisnadioara, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing