We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am a little biased....”
Review of Cross Keys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cross Keys Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Llanymynech B&B and Inns
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“I am a little biased....”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is my local pub. AND I LOVE IT. There are 3 pubs in the village, put this is the only one worth trying. It is everything a hostelry should be. Warm welcome, good beer and very good food prepared fresh, every day. This is not like some pubs in various backwaters were 'non-locals' suffer silence. It is a proper friendly place. I haven't used the hotel rooms because I only live a 2 min walk away, but I am certain that the proprietor and staff would bend over backwards to accommodate your needs. Free parking, close to the A483. Great place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eebeegeebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
7
14
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here with 6 of my family after my son and nephew had completed the 3 peaks challenge and cycled between the mountains, so were pretty tired. The staff were so friendly and welcoming, yes the rooms are a bit dated but the beds were comfy and clean, all what you needed in the room, tea, coffee, hair drier, and the shower was good too. The best bit is the food, excellent and plenty of it and very reasonable, would definitely recommend this for a stop over.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Rooms large, but need some work and quiet dark. At the main road, so trafic noise day and night.
Towels, kettle, tea, coffee, bisquits, hairdryer - all in the room.

free Wifi in the room

Above the pub, but we were in the second floor, so you could not hear anything.

Food and breakfast excellent quality and quantity!!!!!! It was delicious!!!!!!!!

Owner very nice and very very flexible and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreada64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

I stayed at this hotel a good few months ago now and decided I probably wouldn't ever return, however had reason to be in the area and had heard that the new management that have taken over had made a real difference. The welcome I received was great, warm and friendly and a million miles different from the previous regime. I would heartily recommend this as a great value for money hotel to stay in, great breakfast, good craic in the bar and I enjoyed it so much I'm heading back in the New Year for another trip!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetskillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed for a long weekend. The hotel had recently been taken over and the new manager was very friendly and attentive. The room sizes were good and clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

we stayed at this b+b on the weekend, well i say b+b more like some ones dirty old pub that had a few rooms upstairs. We where greeted on friday night was a pub full of old drunk rowdy people shouting "i wouldnt stay here, dont go upstairs" that the owner was laughing about.... didnt find it very funny. The owner then said they had double booked most of the rooms for that weekend because it was a local event on (to try and get as much money as possible) so we should have stayed in a room, but he said he had converted his flat for the weekend as he had so many people staying there.... went through a door (with no lock) to a bathroom (extremely dirty) again with no lock, to a tiny door to our room again with no locks. I have travelled all around the world and stayed in alot of places but this room was by far the worst b+b/hotel room to date. The beds where tiny and very uncomfortable, wardrobes full of his stuff. one of the beds where pushed up against an unlocked door that kept banging against the bed, so we opened it to find someones living room. We finaly got to bed to then be woken up at 12 - 2am by the people in the living room being very loud.
The owner couldnt be bothered to get up on saturday morning to cook breakfast so we had to have cereal. saturday we walked in to the pub, someone different had come up to us and asked who we where and why we where there?! explained we had stayed the night before so we went to our room. we where in our room for 10 minutes and the guy came running in saying the fire alarm was going off, we couldnt here anything, so we found out none of the rooms have fire alarms and a little beep was coming from the system. im sure this isnt allowed??!
we then had enough, the owner came to try and fix our shower and we where told the small boiler supplied all 12 rooms so we would have to wait 30minutes or so to have a shower. it was now 10.30 and we had to be up at 6am. not happy.
our dirty cups of tea were still in the room, put onto the table with someone elses hair piled up in there!!!! and our beds wernt changed.
Was very glad to leave sunday. I have written such a long review because it was that bad. please for your own sake never stay at this "B+B" its really not worth the hassle. we spoke to 6 other guests who said the same.
DONT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smithers123Newport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llanymynech hotels

Crickhowell
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights. Landlord very friendly and attentive.
Good beer. Food good and plenty of it.
Bedroom large but slightly dark , noisey as on busy main road.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrickhowellEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanymynech
8.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
611 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
444 reviews
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
125 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
4.3 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Keys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Keys Hotel

Property: Cross Keys Hotel
Address: North Road, Llanymynech SY22 6EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanymynech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Llanymynech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cross Keys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cross Keys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing