We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”

Bradford Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanymynech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bradford Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Llanymynech B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We visited this pub using our gourmet society card, food is well cooked, all fresh and good value. Decor in restaurant a bit dated but food and service very good. Well worth a visit. Sirloin steak with pepper sce very nice indeed. No frozen food used all good fresh ingredients. Owner is a nice chap whom made us feel very welcome

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillj2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
20
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Called in today whilst in Powys. There is a Welsh Dragon theme befitting its border location. We arrived just prior to a huge walking group and together we took every seat. My wife started with a fabulous prawn cocktail whilst I had the soup of the day, potato and watercress. This was followed in my wife's case by scampi, quote "the best she had ever had". I had probably the largest fish I have ever seen. What made the scampi special was an imaginative side salad. What made the cod was the need to add the chips one at a time from he side bowl as the fish was so big. The cooking was second to none and the hosts superb. Good car park and a friendly local trade.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodyomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed one night when walking Offa's path. No one could say this is a sophisticated establishment but the warmth of welcome and help provided more than made up for this. Our twin room had everything required - including a hot shower and soft towels - and, at the end of the day, this was all we required. Plus good beer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0urDirect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I decided to bring my family (who were visiting from Scotland) for a meal after having been previously for drinks and enjoyed the pub. However on this visit we were very disappointed by the meal. We chose from the early bird menu which is two courses for £9.95. Starters were poor, goats cheese on salad was a slice of limp cheese thrown on to some even limper salad which had just been removed from the bag. Pate starters, the Pate itself was nice enough but the toast was served with one of those little plastic catering tubs of FLORA Margarine. never before have I had Pate served with margarine! yuck.
The Main courses did not present much better, three of us had steak and ale pie which resembled a single Birds Eye pie and was served with a load of peas and that was it. Scampi was pretty basic frozen scampi from Iceland or similar, served with a salad which at least looked nicer than the peas. One bowl of chips was served between 5 of us, which, with three hungry men in the party did not go far at all.
The best meal was a burger which was ordered from the main menu and not the early bird menu. This would suggest to us that the quality of the early bird meals was a lot poorer simply because we were paying less for those, which should not be the case.

It was clearly the landlord's night off, however the service from the barmaid and the young chap waiting on the tables was very good, it was just the quality/content of the meals that let this place down

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eligCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

A long walk ended with a cold pint of cider served by Bob the Landlord. He is perfectly at home behind a bar a born host.
A nice sized room with a large en-suite shower room. A powerful shower and lovely snuggly towels
Downstairs for our tea.
4 excellent meals with a few beers, just the job whilst walking the Dyke.
If i lived in Llanymynech this would be my local.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordieman2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Friendly welcome by Bob, the landlord, shown to our room which was a double on the ground floor.
Clean, warm room, despite the icy weather, with amply bathroom and tea & coffee supplies.
After settling in, we went into the bar/restaurant for dinner - great choice of food for all tastes and pockets.
Food was hot and plenty of it! I had chicken, the other half had steak. Both well cooked with plenty of veg and home made chips.
Choice of three real ales at the bar, and plenty of entertainment provided by Bob, and Cath, the landlady who doubles up as chef.
Have used the Bradford Arms as a base on a number of ocassions over the past few years, and never disappointed.
Great value for money, and always a great, friendly welcome!!

Room Tip: If you want to make your trip a bit more special, ask for the suite on the top floor - the attic has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I use this hotel when working in Wales, whether I am located 10 or 100 miles away I will always drive the extra mile to stay here because it feels like your own local. You couldn't be made to feel more welcome.

It looks like a traditional "old" pub, which it is... but the food is probably the best i've had and with the fact that I stay here week after week, it always tastes as good as the last time.

Bob and Cath make the pub without doubt and I can't speak highly enough of them.

Sounds too good to be true but this is the reason I drive 60, sometimes 70 miles just for a bed at night. It is by far the best value hotel I have stayed in, down to the fact that it is extremely well priced, excellent food, a good pint and what all good hotels need, character and atmosphere!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanymynech
5.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
12.1 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
8.6 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanymynech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandysilio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bradford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bradford Arms Hotel

Property: Bradford Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Llanymynech SY22 6EJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanymynech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Llanymynech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bradford Arms Hotel & Restaurant is a privately owned establishment located on the Welsh border in the idyllic village of Llanymynech. Originally a coaching inn dating back to the late 17th century, the property was victorianised when it formed part of the Earl of Bradford’s estate in the early 1900’s.Now under the ownership of Bob & Cath Hedley, an award winning catering team from North Yorkshire, it has been restructured and upgraded to a very high standard with five superb letting rooms and high quality cuisine and a car park at the rear of the building. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing