We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanymynech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Llanymynech B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed one night in the £90.00 rhandregynwen room it was a lovely room with a stunning en-suite and in the morning we had a lovely breakfast. Mark was very friendly and gave us a lift in the morning to pick our car up from a local pub. The pub was called the dolphin they do a excellent even meal and are very friendly which was recommended by mark

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kay w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 42 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Mark is a very nice man. The food at breakfast was good but the dining room was very cold which was pretty unpleasant. The house is a good base for walking in the area. Dogs are permitted and understandably cannot be left unattended but this can cause a problem at breakfast, especially if you've left your car at the restaurant the night before. A great idea would be to have a kennel or area to leave the dog in at such times, which we've experienced at other 'dog friendly' establishments. We enjoyed the clay pigeon shooting which is arranged by Mark and is in the grounds.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank NessaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannsen, Owner at Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thankyou for your review. I am sorry you found it cold, unfortunately you did not mention you were cold as we have a lot of backup heating and it really isn't necessary to be cold even on the coldest days. A shame we got such a low rating based on something that could have been rectified if you had asked.
We do offer a stable for dogs when unattended although I didn't on this occasion as it was quite cold outside.
Dog Notice
We expect dogs to be on leads within the garden, not to be loose in the house. Not to be allowed
in the kitchen or dining room. Dogs are not to be left in rooms alone at any time. Please also clean up after your dog.
Thankyou again
Mark Johannsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had a lovely weekend here in December a couple of weeks before Christmas. The rooms were very comfortable a nicely decorated with good quality furniture. The bathroom and whirlpool bath were also good. We had an attic room and it was blissfully quiet. Breakfasts were cooked well and were good quality. The owners were very pleasant and offered good sightseeing and dining recommendations. Good base for exploring the surrounding towns and countryside. Would definitely recommend for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannsen, Owner at Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thankyou for your review. It is always nice to know when people enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for almost a week whilst visiting different friends in the area. Lovely old house tucked away but close enough to pubs and shops.
I had no problem on arrival, as followed the instructions on the door and arrived after 4pm as told on booking. Room very clean and comfy, tea tray topped up daily with extras of my preferences ,though its private bathroom is along the hall slighty it wasn't a problem. Best nights sleep I've had for ages, good breakfasts, and the hosts who couldn't do enough for me.
If you want run of the mill with frothy coffee go to a bog standard hotel chain. If you want off the beaten track, luxuarious rooms, attention to detail and hosts that take the time to get to know you go here.

Room Tip: 2 of the rooms are ensuite and 1 has very close private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannsen, Owner at Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thankyou very much for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, we try to offer the best accommodation and food in the area. Therefor it is really nice when people let us know we are doing what we set out to do.
All the best Mark and Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were in the £90 a night suite. Nicely decorated and roomy. The proprietors live in the rooms next door and you can hear everything through the walls. Every cough, snore, conversation, and meal. The doors are fire doors so they slam shut.
When we arrived no one was there and there wasn't a note on the door. No answer from the phone. Eventually someone arrived to let us in.
No keys were provided the first time we stayed and on our 2nd evening a guest actually let themselves into our 1st floor room trying to find the owners as she had had no answer from the mobile or land line numbers. With our help we found someone but they were not happy to be disturbed by a paying guest.
On our second visit keys were provided.
Breakfast was ok. No tea options so take your own. No frothy coffee. I would expect this given their star rating.
We wrote a review before which was taken down without any notice from Trip Advisor. I hope this review stays put as its an honest review.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Faye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannsen, Owner at Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

These guests were friends of tenants we evicted from our outbuildings. The tenants had other people post reviews that we have had removed.
We now have a selection of tea available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed only one night but had positive experience, good size, clean room in very old house...two disappointments...1st : my bathroom was outside my room and 2nd place wasn't haunted but it well could be :) house has got a nice atmosphere...or the is 3rd one...place should be better signposted....
good breakfast!

Room Tip: ask for a ensuite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannsen, Owner at Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thankyou for your review. I would like to point out that the room you booked has its own private bathroom ,however it is not en-suite. Care must be taken when booking as we do not say anywhere in our publicity it is en-suite. Bath robes are provided to access the bathroom which is a very short distance away. The room booked is known as Rodneys Pillar. It is our only room that is not en-suite. No Ghosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a lovely weekends stay whilst visiting the area for a wedding. Very kind and considerate hosts. Would stay again. Great breakfast and beautiful room. Snuggled at the end of a lane no traffic to listen too. Nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tattyrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast

Address: Rhandregynwen Hall Stables Domgay Road | Four Crosses, Llanymynech SY22 6SN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanymynech
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Llanymynech
Hotel Class:5 star — Rhandregynwen Hall Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rhandregynwen Hall set in picturesque countryside, 8 miles north of Welshpool just off A483. This beautifully situated retreat offers three double rooms, two en-suite and one with adjoining bathroom (not shared), and family room.All rooms are equipped with LCD televisions, wireless internet, seating areas, and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served in the dining room on the ground floor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing