We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Honeyholm

Honeyholm On the banks of the Endrick river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Honeyholm On the banks of the Endrick river
Outside dining your spacious lounge with wood stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Honeyholm On the banks of the Endrick river
Outside dining
your spacious lounge with wood stove
Views of Dumgoyne over Honeyholm Bridge
Fun for kids !
Large kitchen /diner with extending table.
Lounge overlooking the gardens with views to Dumgoyne hills
Sunrise over Dumgoyne
Ground floor wheelchair friendly bedrrom
Easy access shower room
Relax in the bath !
Master bedroom
A Scottish Gem!!
Sun up !
Fun for the kids
Old Honeyholm before renovations
Spot our otter family in spring under Honeyholm bridge
The neighbours
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Balfron, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jon_Lewis
Lightwood
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Myself, my parents and our dog had a wonderful 5 nights at the cottage. It's incredibly spacious, fully equipped for the family and comes with a stunning view. Julie is very welcoming and hospitable. The accommodation is ideally situated to discover Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park and is not too far away from the coast, Glasgow and Edinburgh. It's a lovely cottage with character and I hope to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Dear Jon
Is it a year since you were here!!!
Time goes too fast
Hope you are all well

Please call if you want to visit again
Kind regards
Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyIrvi...
Kerteh, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Stunning, Superb and Sublime!”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with my family in January and absolutely loved it.

Julie is such a welcoming host, and had lit the fire and made us some scones for arriving, which was a really nice touch.

The cottage is just lovely, very warm and cosy, especially with the wood burner. It was wild and windy (and snowing) while we were there, and it was really nice to be sitting in the comfy lounge looking out at the river and the wild landscape.

The bedrooms are all a good size with en-suites and are finished to a high standard. The kitchen is perfect for a big family meal. We were having a celebration dinner and we had everything we needed and more.

There is high speed internet throughout and lots of DVDs, books and toys.

The location is beautiful, right beside a river and with lots of birds. See the photo of the robin redbreast I took in the garden.

All in all I would definitely recommend Honeyholm Cottage, and can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FefeB1978
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at this fantastic cottage over the New Year period. The cottage was fully equipped with everything and more you could need. Received a lovely welcome pack from Julie and Ian and a bottle of malt whiskey to bring in the New Year. We have visited this area a number of times and still find loads of things to do. My 8 year old son loved the games that were supplied especially Zingo and. Twister. We also had two dog with us too who were very well looked after. Hope to come back again..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew q
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical xmas!!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed here over the festive period after our work left us stuck in the glasgow area for xmas day. Absolutely everything about the cottage was incredible. Julie and Ian couldn't do enough for us from preparing the turkey prior to our arrival to arranging extra bedding/crockery/glasses for our large party to having the fire burning for our arrival.
The location itself is stunning enough but the cottage is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need and more. We loved every second and the only disappointment was that we couldn't stay for longer. Do not hesitate in booking this place is a gem and the people that run it are wonderful!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M
Larbert, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb!”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed with family and dog, great gardens and tree swing over the river at the bottom of the garden. Modern and well equipped but with a homely feel. Books and games to suit all ages. Great views across the hills. Suitable for the less able bodied with a great en suite downstairs as well as the two upstairs. Had a good time, was cosy and comfortable, with homemade scones for our arrival. Hope to stay again next year. 10/10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaspervl
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hospitality, location and atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

With our extended family of 7 we had a great time in this cozy cottage! The owners were incredibly hospitable and helpful: brochures about the surroundings and tasty scones awaited us on our arrival and we got great tips about what kind of activities to do. The cottage itself was in perfect shape, with a atmospheric fire place, neat bedrooms (with multiple shower opportunities) and a great kitchen. The view to the back is amazing as well, with the river and an old bridge in a hilly setting. In short, a great location to spend some time off and enjoy the different aspects of Scotland!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the atmosphere, the river, the fire site, the location and the helpfulness and hospitality of the owners
Liked least: the bedding, some mattresses are saggy and the bed for the 7th and 8th person has a way to thin mattress
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb setting and very comfortable”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Honeyholm croft is comfortable, well equipped and in a beautiful part of Scotland. The owners live next door and are available, helpful, friendly, but not at all intrusive. Our dog was in her element with a lawn to herself and her own little river to play in. We visited Loch Lomond, Aberfoyle, Stirling, Glasgow, and Edinburgh as well as the immediate locality. We also had good weather to enjoy sitting on the patio with its stunning views. All in all we had a very relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character of property
Liked least: Being 6'3
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing