We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oasis of Tranquility”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Honeyholm

Honeyholm On the banks of the Endrick river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Honeyholm On the banks of the Endrick river
Outside dining your spacious lounge with wood stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Honeyholm On the banks of the Endrick river
Outside dining
your spacious lounge with wood stove
Views of Dumgoyne over Honeyholm Bridge
Fun for kids !
Large kitchen /diner with extending table.
Lounge overlooking the gardens with views to Dumgoyne hills
Sunrise over Dumgoyne
Ground floor wheelchair friendly bedrrom
Easy access shower room
Relax in the bath !
Master bedroom
A Scottish Gem!!
Sun up !
Fun for the kids
Old Honeyholm before renovations
Happy days at Honeyholm
Spot our otter family in spring under Honeyholm bridge
The neighbours
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Balfron, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Norriesco...
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Oasis of Tranquility”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Within an hour of our Ayrshire home, Honeyholm Cottage is set in a tranquil area on the river Endrick. What a location! Even our dog 'Baillie' loved the walks and the large garden to the front on the property.
Yes, the home baked scones and jam were there on the table for our arrival along with a starter pack of essentials - bread, eggs, milk etc.
This three bedroom cottage was superbly equipped and even a log-burning stove in the sitting room. Views out of the patio doors (and the three bedrooms) is stunning...down to the river and bridge and off into the distance the (snow-covered) hills.

This is one of the most comfortable cottages we have booked - especially as it is pet friendly. The welcome by Julie was great and everything was explained to us when we arrived.

A complete chill out venue within minutes of the towns of Balfron and Kilearn.

Within four miles is one of the best pub'restaurants we have come across - the Old Mill in Kilearn. Top marks for food and outstanding service - with a smile.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Please come to Honeyholm again. Hope to see you 2015. Kind regards
Julie and co.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallen12
1 review
“Great cottage, great views and very relaxing.”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Had a great time at this stunning cottage. The kids had a fantastic time playing outside on the trampoline, swings and treehouse. Beautiful views over rolling country side to the campsie hills Booked for 3 nights and ended up staying for 4.. It was that relaxing. Thanks to Julie and Ian. We will be back.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2013
Glad the kids had such a good time please come and stay at Honeyholm again. Kind regards
The Honeyholmers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy C
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location - want to go back!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Honeyholm for a week and we had a brilliant time. The cottage is really lovely, everything you could wish for and would recommend it to anyone. We walked through the door to freshly baked scones and homemade jam which was delicious. The cottage is really clean and well kept with all the essentials and more for a great holiday.
It is in a good location for getting around, we went walking everyday and explored the area of Loch Lomond.
We are now back home and want to be back there - only had one day of slight drizzle so did everything we wanted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great views with a small river at the bottom of the garden
Liked least: Having to come home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luchog77
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden retreat”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this beautiful restored cottage In March 2012, and as soon as we entered, we relaxed within this comfortable, spacious and inviting home. We loved the decor and would like to steal some of the design ideas! The kitchen and living area was large with lots of space for our small baby to roll around. Our bedroom was quaint and calming and the other rooms also looked nicely decorated. We were welcomed with sandwiches, fresh scones and jam, much needed fuel after a long drive from our previous accomodation. The weather was mild and sunny so we had the opportunity to sit out on the back patio for breakfast and lunch, where we had a lovely unobstructed view of the countryside, with a little stream in the foreground.
Juile and her husband were helpful yet did not intrude on our privacy despite living next door. They accomodated us with very late notice and gave us extra time to pack up all the baby items, which took quite a while... Would definitely recommend this place for couples, families or groups of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, architecture & furnishings of house and view
Liked least: We couldnt get the wifi working
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian w
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed October 9, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

fantastic setting, peaceful. owners very friendly & helpful.

decor tasteful & well equiped. Would love to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: bumpy roads
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malbrough
Lake District,England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in stunning surroundings.”
Reviewed September 26, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I and 2 friends stayed at Honeyholm Cottage near Balfron for 1 week from Saturday 17 September 2011. It was a delightful experience from the very start. Home made scones and a lemon tart were on the kitchen table, together with a welcome pack of essentials like milk,eggs,bread etc.The property was well appointed and very clean. It is situated in quiet rural countryside with stunning views from the garden,lounge and bedrooms. It is an ideal base for visiting Glasgow,Stirling and the Trossachs.In addition to central heating, there is a wood-burning stove in the lounge for atmosphere and additional warmth. The owners live in the adjacent cottage.They were friendly and available for help and advice, but allowed us to enjoy our holiday to the max. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General comfort and the wood-burning stove in the evening.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drsap
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a revisit”
Reviewed August 17, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this cottage for almost a week and were extremely impressed with the care that has been taken furnishing it. We found it to be very comfortable. Arriving late on a wet evening, it was refreshing to have been provided with a very good welcome tray for a few hungry mouths! The owners are very friendly and extremely helpful to ensure that you have a wonderful stay.

I would definitely revisit this place if I get another opportunity to visit Scotland again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of equipment and comfort
Liked least: Nothing to dislike really.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing