We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPOILT ROTTEN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Steadings at the Grouse & Trout
Ranked #1 of 1 Flichity B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“SPOILT ROTTEN”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our second trip to loch ness and we were ever going to stay anywhere else On our first trip we slept well in the converted cowshed and were treated to some great food prepared by husband and wife team Mary and David good local knowledge sent us off at the right times always in a different direction to see the beautiful scenery This time was no different the food was better than I remember and the room in the main house boasted a whirlpool tub in the ensuite After the main coarse we took our cheese and port into the conservatory to watch the last of the autumn light disappear My only regret was we were there for only two nights ,but we will return

Room Tip: ask if the whirlpool ensuite is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    24
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Mull
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Steadings with our motorhome, and had dinner in the restaurant. The portions were epic, the presentation immaculate, the quality superb, and the welcome from David and Mary was second to none. We would recommend this wonderful place unreservedly... the only problem is too many of you might go there!! June and Andrew

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I booked our 40th Wedding Lunch at the Steading for 10 friends and ourselves on Saturday 17th November 2012.

From our preliminary visit to the actual day we cannot speak too highly of the flexible, attentive service we received. David and Mary's relaxed yet knowledgable style put us at ease. Nothing was too much trouble.

On the day we had a truely memorable time from an organisational, quality of food and service standpoints. All our guests agreed and as most were locals, I am sure that more bookings will result.

In commenting on the service we must also mention the high standard of service we received from the lady who assisted Mary on the day. All in all a great team.

The weather was coldish but blue skies and sunshine. Just what we were hoping for to let our guests see the fantastic location.

Room Tip: Couldn't comment on bedrooms as they were not used. However, the bar and dining room are just A1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallipoli007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Steadings. The hosts were warm and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. We were very pleased with the food. David is a very good cook. We also enjoyed sitting in the lounge, reading and looking out the windows. Thank You for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOULOUSE
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fabulous hotel/inn managed by Mary and David :
- Very warm and nice welcome/service
- Beautiful rooms, very comfortable
- Very quiet place lost on road between Inverness and Fort Augustus on east side of Loch Ness
- Very good restaurant and generous plates
- Typical scottish decoration
- Typical scottish atmosphere : bagpipe music (Highland Cathedral !) in a light background during the marvellous full scottish breakfast was purely a unique moment ! Excellent (of course if you love bagpipes !)...
Really a pearl to keep in mind during stay in that Highlands area - to be recommended !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wimcld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Overall very good, our room had an amazing view and a jaccuzzi (no ordinary bath or shower) which may prove a challenge for some to climb into. Deer grazing right under our room took our breath away. Food was good enough but some may find it a bit simple for 34 pounds for a 3-course meal. Hosts make you feel pampered with their personal touch. Best place we ever stayed in Scotland and we will certainly be back someday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Booked a night here after being let down by another hotel,it turned out to be the best place we stayed in on our recent trip round Scotland.David and Mary were the perfect hosts and the dinner was first class,as was the breakfast.The room was large and very comfy.We will most certainly be staying here again next time we visit the area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rosylee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flichity
16.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
12.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
571 reviews
6.5 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
10.7 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
1,829 reviews
11.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steadings at the Grouse & Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steadings at the Grouse & Trout

Property: Steadings at the Grouse & Trout
Address: Flichity IV2 6XD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Flichity
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Flichity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Steadings at the Grouse & Trout 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steadings at the Grouse & Trout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing