We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, legendary hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Steadings at the Grouse & Trout
Ranked #1 of 1 Flichity B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Steadings with our motorhome, and had dinner in the restaurant. The portions were epic, the presentation immaculate, the quality superb, and the welcome from David and Mary was second to none. We would recommend this wonderful place unreservedly... the only problem is too many of you might go there!! June and Andrew

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Steadings at the Grouse & Trout
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 104 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I booked our 40th Wedding Lunch at the Steading for 10 friends and ourselves on Saturday 17th November 2012.

From our preliminary visit to the actual day we cannot speak too highly of the flexible, attentive service we received. David and Mary's relaxed yet knowledgable style put us at ease. Nothing was too much trouble.

On the day we had a truely memorable time from an organisational, quality of food and service standpoints. All our guests agreed and as most were locals, I am sure that more bookings will result.

In commenting on the service we must also mention the high standard of service we received from the lady who assisted Mary on the day. All in all a great team.

The weather was coldish but blue skies and sunshine. Just what we were hoping for to let our guests see the fantastic location.

Room Tip: Couldn't comment on bedrooms as they were not used. However, the bar and dining room are just A1...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallipoli007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Steadings. The hosts were warm and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. We were very pleased with the food. David is a very good cook. We also enjoyed sitting in the lounge, reading and looking out the windows. Thank You for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fabulous hotel/inn managed by Mary and David :
- Very warm and nice welcome/service
- Beautiful rooms, very comfortable
- Very quiet place lost on road between Inverness and Fort Augustus on east side of Loch Ness
- Very good restaurant and generous plates
- Typical scottish decoration
- Typical scottish atmosphere : bagpipe music (Highland Cathedral !) in a light background during the marvellous full scottish breakfast was purely a unique moment ! Excellent (of course if you love bagpipes !)...
Really a pearl to keep in mind during stay in that Highlands area - to be recommended !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wimcld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Overall very good, our room had an amazing view and a jaccuzzi (no ordinary bath or shower) which may prove a challenge for some to climb into. Deer grazing right under our room took our breath away. Food was good enough but some may find it a bit simple for 34 pounds for a 3-course meal. Hosts make you feel pampered with their personal touch. Best place we ever stayed in Scotland and we will certainly be back someday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Booked a night here after being let down by another hotel,it turned out to be the best place we stayed in on our recent trip round Scotland.David and Mary were the perfect hosts and the dinner was first class,as was the breakfast.The room was large and very comfy.We will most certainly be staying here again next time we visit the area.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank rosylee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful place/hotel!
The excellent food/accommodation could only be beaten by the most generous hosts I've ever met! The service was unbelievably good/friendly.
I'm recommending this place to everyone, family/couples, perfect stay!
I'm sure I'll be back even this year!

Cheers
Rico

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flichity
6.5 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
772 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
20.9 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
16.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
#13 of 35 in Inverness
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steadings at the Grouse & Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steadings at the Grouse & Trout

Address: Flichity IV2 6XD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Flichity
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Flichity
Price Range: $128 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Steadings at the Grouse & Trout 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Steadings at the Grouse & Trout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing