We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine de Vareilles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vareilles
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed here before and found service to be very good.Polite staff and very helpful.
Good selection of meat,cheese, preserves,bread ,croissants and lashings of coffee at breakfast.
Good pool,very welcome when the temperature creeps up. Rooms clean and tidy.Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeBaldwin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Domaine de Vareilles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 109 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

A lovely hotel with a rustic flavour,recently refurbished by the young owners who looked after us really well.Excellent dining and comfortable spacious rooms with newly built bathrooms.The young owners really deserve to do well.

Room Tip: Very comfortable rooms with lovely bathrooms ll recently built.lovely young hard working couple who...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a contrast to my previous night in Dieppe in a corporate soulless establishment.
Very helpful staff and attentive to detail.
Great comfortable room.
Dinner for 23 euros was gourmet, Goat cheese salad, Pink duck breast and tarte tartin.
Well worth the 9km detour from the A20.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanderer750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel looked lovely from the photos on both the booking.com website and the hotel’s own website. The building is pretty from the outside and set in peaceful countryside.

We had paid slightly more and booked what was described as a ‘superior double room’ (max 2 people) only to find that it was in fact a normal size double room with an extra single bed. There were so many things wrong with the room and it smelt so badly of smoke that we asked if there was another room available (the hotel’s own website states that all rooms are non smoking) and since there were only 2 other cars in the car park we assumed that they weren’t fully booked, we were told ‘not possible’ by the receptionist.

Amongst the things wrong with the room were – a hole in the wall where the broken fire door arm hit it; stains on the ceiling and the carpet; a broken chair; cracked tiles with black stained grout in the shower; broken loo roll holder; broken loo flush. The room hadn’t been thoroughly cleaned – cobwebs in all the corners and the connector for someone’s telephone/computer on the floor beside the bed.

To cap it all, after a long hot drive up from the south of France we were looking forward to a dip in the pool, only to be told it was ‘not accessible’. We went to investigate it and found it half full of green water.

The hotel is shabby, run down and staffed by unfriendly, unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Review based on a three night stay. The rooms were comfortable and cleaned daily, however attention to detail was poor - a corridor light out and not repaired, there was mould in the shower grouting in both rooms I saw. The buildings were very interesting and the conversion from a farm sympathetically done, although outside there remains some work to be completed. The pool could have been really nice but the water was not clean, it was tinged green and poolside furniture was shabby. My biggest gripe was with the breakfast, the bread was never fresh, probably from having been cut too far in advance and there was never a member of staff in permanent attendance - so if anything ran out (and it did), it was necessary to wait or to go and find someone. The breakfast experience put us off trying the restaurant for an evening meal, so we went elsewhere.
Overall, it gave the appearance of poor, perhaps remote, management. The staff were pleasant but the housekeeping issues spoiled what could have been a really pleasant stay in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just a good stop-over. Not - in our modest view - a place to stay very long. Setting is beautifull. Nice size pool, standard sized rooms and decent dinner but nothing special. But slow service at table. However, good value for money.
No elevator and quite some steps and stairs, so pay attention.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to the Dordogne and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is very close to the A20, but you feel that you are in the middle of the countryside. We arrived too late to eat an evening meal but were served coffee in the lovely old courtyard, as we wanted to sit outside. Our room was beautiful and very good value for money. Breakfast was a very relaxed affair taken in the restaurant/breakfast room. The staff on duty were very courteous and helpful. We would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Make sure you have good directions to get to the hotel from the A20 (going south) as the road out of...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkladyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vareilles
6.8 mi away
Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort
11.7 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Nougier
Hotel-Restaurant Nougier
#1 of 1 in Saint-Etienne-de-Fursac
103 reviews
21.9 mi away
Kyriad Gueret
Kyriad Gueret
#1 of 5 in Gueret
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Logis L'Orangerie
Logis L'Orangerie
#1 of 1 in Bonnat
58 reviews
21.9 mi away
Campanile Gueret
Campanile Gueret
#2 of 5 in Gueret
217 reviews
15.6 mi away
L'Escapade
L'Escapade
#1 of 1 in Le Pechereau
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Vareilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Vareilles

Address: Fontvieille, 23300 Vareilles, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Creuse > Vareilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vareilles
Price Range: $79 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de Vareilles 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the village Fontvieille, between La Souterraine, St Benoit-du-Sault and Crozant, half-way between Paris and Toulouse,you will discover Domaine de Vareilles,- a haven of peace and beauty.This résidence combines charm with elegance and it is an oasis of comfort and tranquillity.You will appreciate the dining room in the ancient « l’Orangerie »and the spacious lounge surrounded by original stone walls and paintings.The domaine’s tastefuly decorated rooms ,which blend original oak beams, sumptuous materials and period furniture, also offer every modern comfort.Tasty local cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Domaine de Vareilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing