We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some teething issues but a lovely hotel nevertheless”
Review of Loch Maree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loch Maree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talladale
Reviewed May 29, 2013

First it took us a while to find the hotel because it was not sign posted, and there was no indication that this house we were driving past might be a hotel (turns out the delivery of the sign had been delayed).Apparently it hadn't occurred to anyone to put a temporary sign there. I had booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children and was told on arrival by a rather blunt lady (the owner I assume)that we had booked the wrong kind of room as our room could only accomodate 3. Her tone made us feel almost like we had tried to trick them by booking a cheaper kind of room.Unfortunately I hadn't brought a copy of the booking confirmation with me (but it turns out I was right and on checking the website today it still states (2 adults - 2 adults) which is confusing). No apologies were offered for the mix up and we were told we'd have to pay extra whilst no additional bed would be provided. A lose-lose situation but thankfully our 6 year old was more than happy to sleep on the floor. The food was OK and the whisky of the month and the house white wine were delicious. Also on the plus side the hotel has been renovated and had just reopened. It is very cosy and charming throughout. Except for the lady owner everyone was very friendly. The chef came out of the kitchen for a nice little chat. The reception chap was lovely and friendly. So were the waitress and waiter. There was a family atmosphere to the hotel which was pleasant. The setting on the banks of Loch Maree is dramatic and beautiful. The front of the hotel with the terrace could do with some landscaping as it is a shame to have such a beautiful view and
something missing there. I suspect this is a work in progress. It looks like the rating system of the hotel's website does not work properly but I would give it a 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 207 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Only a week after opening Caroline and Raymond showed how genuinely they strive to make guests feel at home. Their personal and individual service shines through - even providing hot water bottles for a sore back! They are were so flexible, doing everything they could to make our stay right for us. Breakfast at the time we wanted; encouragement to go fishing; dinner served in the bar, in the restaurant - wherever would be best for us. They are ably supported by an excellent young team. The hotel is beautifully refurbished, but still of course has its amazing situation on the edge of Loch Maree and its everchanging view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninjaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Sunday after a long dive from Edinburgh and wow as soon as you entered you were made to feel at home.
The hotel had just reopened after a major refurbishment, and looked fab. We had drinks outside overlooking the Loch, were given a bit of history of the Loch and the hotel. Room was super with its tartan blinds and bedding. Both supper and breakfast were perfect. Charming staff and owners alike.
The water in the hotel is fed from a stream up the hill so it's not clear but wow it's delicious, it's a bit odd bathing in green water but it does leave you feeling soft.
Can't wait for our next trip back to our 'Highlands Retreat' thanks folks, Mark and John

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcrt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

They cancelled my booking done via booking.com only two (!) days before my arrival. It caused a big trouble to me, I consider it to be very unprofessional. So I can't rate any other qualities as I have to find another accommodation very quickly. Never more.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
15  Thank Michal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We enjoyed a couple of nights at the newly renovated Loch Maree Hotel, just re-opened after complete refurbishment. Friendly welcome from the local family who are the new proprietors. Comfortable warm rooms and good facilities throughout the hotel. What hasn't changed of course is the terrific location overlooking Loch Maree's islands--grab a loch-view room if you can! The hotel lies right in the midst of Torridon's spectacular mountain and coastal scenery and is a perfect base for exploring Wester Ross. Historic hotel deservedly a long-time favourite with anglers, hikers, and with one of the hotel's first visitors, Queen Victoria.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the loch-facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AlbaCH_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

The hotel was being renovated during our Easter stay and we stayed at the adjacent self catering log wood cabin just by the hotel on Loch Maree. It is ideal for 1 or 2 families (we were 2 families with 4 children and 2 babies!). It has 4 en-suite bedrooms and is spacious and simply decorated, with a good sitting room, comfy beds, and wonderful log-cabin-in-the-great-open-nature feel to it - no luxury except that of getting away from it all. The place is ideal for children, trekkers or couples/friends wishing to explore the fantastic surroundings. Nick (with his lovely labrador Leo) is a charming, welcoming host and is full of advice on all the things to visit in the area, one of the most stunningly beautiful in the whole of Scotland. The location of the hotel and cabin, I would say, is the best location in the surrounding area, as you are on the most stunning Loch, surrounded by beautiful mountains. You are also about equal distance from the amazing sights and activities the area has to offer such as the Torridon mountains, Poolewe, the amazing sandy beaches at Redpoint and Gairloch, the Benn Eigh nature reserve, Badachro, Dry Island's shellfish safari, the Gairloch trekking centre... And most special of all, a trip on Nick's boat to the the magical Isle Maree - not to be missed! A wonderful holiday destination to experience the wild beauty of Scotland's northwestern coast. Hotel should finish it's renovation in the autumn.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BarbaradeC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This is a great hotel, old-fashioned but in the best sense of it with comfortable rooms and great views over the Loch. Nick was an enthusiastic and friendly host. The food was excellent. Highly recommended if you explore the area !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fantomette_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talladale
6.9 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
7.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
631 reviews
7 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
160 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Maree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Maree Hotel

Address: Achnasheen | Gairloch, Talladale IV22 2HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Talladale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talladale
Price Range: $102 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Maree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Loch Maree Hotel, Ross-shire set in some of the most breathtaking scenery on the west coast of Scotland. The Loch Maree Hotel was built in 1872 and offers a warm welcome to anglers, walkers and the visitor wishing to explore this territory of untamed beauty. Loch Maree is one of the most beautiful in Scotland and many songs have been written about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loch Maree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Maree Hotel Talladale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing