We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Unexpected stop at North Kessock” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Kessock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Kessock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kessock
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected stop at North Kessock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We are travelling in our motorhome with my mother. Stopped at North Kessock at the car park to watch the dolphins and booked mother into North Kessock Hotel opposite. The owners, Cilla & Dennis couldn't have been more helpful. Due to my motorhome being hit by a land rover and losing a wing mirror we were unsure as to the length of stay required(whilst we enquired at the Fiat garage). Staff were very helpful also and the food was excellent. Mother's room was spotless and very comfortable. Excellent TV on the wall to watch the Olympics!
Can recommend this hotel but sadly - be aware all rooms are upstairs and there isn't a lift.

Room Tip: Room 2. Corner room with double sea view. Can see the dolphins coming with the tide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topsy1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    64
    14
    3
    9
See reviews for
58
71
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Do not go near this dump. The only thing going for it is the view from the carpark across the road. The waitress was trying her best but wasting her time. Warm flat coke. Warm lager. Frozen stale bread. Dry tasteless fish. A menu from 1970. Poor poor show. Broken chairs. Odd smell. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank zigzogbigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Husband suggested a treat on way home from Inverness, we called in to the Kessock Hotel. Nice welcome - table was set for four with an abundance of glasses we did not need and no one removed. Service was prompt and polite. Food arrived and looked amazing very well presented but unfortunately it lacked flavour or taste. King prawns cooked in batter (Scampi) nice idea but prawns were dry and tasteless and not enhanced by tartare sauce - homemade chips looked great - how can a chip be tasteless. Not cheap. Will not go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normski111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Where do I start - difficult to negociate in with a wheelchair - staff at best indifferent.decor needed updating 3 decades ago. We were booked for evening meal ordered an orange and lemonade and got orange squash and a can of cheap barrs lemonade which was sent back in preference for water. The starter was some sort of basil blancemonge - the likes of which I hope will never be seen again - uneatable but no real complaining yet - it was when the fish was served which tasted on its way out and spelt bad too - this resulted in Chef coming out from the kitchen for an arguement. My pork chop which sounded lovely on the menu was a dried up piece of old leather Please do not be fooled by the gorgeous sea side setting - this was a truly dreadful experience which was meant to be a treat for the visiting in-laws.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at North Kessock Hotel passing through to Scrabster but if we go back to Inverness area we would certainly stay her longer. A family run hotel with well appointed rooms and the south facing ones have splendid views over the Firth with a chance to see seals and dolphins. A good restaurant worthy of the 3 stars so there is no need to search for food. A very quiet location and a very warm welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing or water front room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

From the moment we arrived Pam welcomed us and showed us to our room. Our room was basic, but clean and comfortable.
Pam told us a lovelywalk to go on.
Our meal however was fantastic. The staff could not do enough for you and the quality of food is just something else. Our whole table had squid which was the best I have ever had and then our main were just as delicious. Darren made us feel very welcome and I would recommend anyone that was heading to Inverness to travel over the bridge and stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebakersdozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We met up with friends here on our way back from holiday it was a mutually convenient location but none of us had dined here before so it was pot luck ......... what a gem! food was delicious ...straightforward menu, nothing too fancy but well presented, generous portions of very well cooked food, staff were friendly and welcoming and the fact that the restaurant was busy speaks for itself

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollycatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kessock
4.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 33 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#9 of 33 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
13.0 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Kessock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Kessock Hotel

Property: North Kessock Hotel
Address: Main Street | The Black Isle, North Kessock IV1 3XN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > North Kessock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kessock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your North Kessock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Kessock Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing