We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard B & B”
Review of The River House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The River House
Ranked #1 of 1 Dilston B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Carl and Helen's attention to detail is meticulous. Their home has a beautiful setting and is a haven of quiet and comfort. We loved staying there and can think of nothing to add to previous reviews, they are all so true! One tiny thing: a razor socket in our bathroom would have been good!

Stayed: January 2013
Thank TripadviceTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 158 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed one night at the River House in December 2012. It was such a fantastic experience that we wished we could have stayed longer. Key highlights:
* Carl is such a wonderful host. He was really helpful in picking out wineries to try in the region. He cooked us an amazing breakfast (details below). And all in all, just a really good bloke.
* Breakfast - most B&Bs have decent breakfasts, but Carl's breakfast is something special. A delicious fruit salad with lots of different berries; Fresh baked bread (as well as some extra fruit bread); bacon, poached eggs, mushrooms and tomatoes. So yummy.
* Scenic property - right on the Tamar river it is an incredible setting. We loved just sitting out in the garden enjoying the view and the wildlife
* Close drive to Launceston - If I were to go back to Launceston I would absolutely stay here. Easy to get to Launceston (10 minutes or so by car) as well as convenient for the Tamar wine region.

Thank you again, Carl, for such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

It is a very rare bed and breakfast that gets it all right - but even this nitpicking guest could find nothing to complain about at The River House. In a lovely setting overlooking the Tamar River, it has comfortable and well-equipped rooms with all those important things right: plenty of hot water, good-sized fluffy towels, free wifi and complimentary port and sweet snacks. Hosts Carl and Helen are helpful but not intrusive, and the breakfasts are magnificent. Excellent - and only a 15-minute drive from downtown Launceston.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoni100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in the apartment which had all the benefits of a B & B but was perfect for us as we just needed some rest and relaxation. Everything was perfect, great size, great gourmet breakfast provisions and breakfast cooked for us by Carl every third night. The bed and bathroom were the ultimate in luxury and comfort with beautiful views over the River Tamar. See the other reviews for more of the highlights of the River House.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanga64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is what many bed and breakfasts strive to be.We arrived 'wineless' to find chilled wine at cellar door prices available to purchase from the wine fridge in the lounge. We poured a glass and sat on the bench, in the spring sunshine overlooking the Tamar river.The views, the friendliness and 'can do' attitude of the host, Carl, the immaculate room and bathroom, the tasteful lounge with home made sweet treats and port (yes Carl, we were the couple who raided them!), the quite sumptuous and upmarket breakfast made by Helen. Books, CD's, DVD's, fuffy huge white towels, fuffy white robes, heated bathroom floor. There's even a pillow menu which I may avail myself of next time.Yes, I can't imagine returning to Launceston and staying anywhere else. If that hasn't convinced you, there is even a sparkiling pool, heated to a comfortable 25 degrees or so. Kudos Carl and Helen.

Room Tip: Next time I would probably opt for the king suite which is more spacious than the Riverdeck room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keats11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The tourist information centre in Launceston recommended "The River House" as a place to rest and relax. They weren't wrong we spent four nights there and have re- booked for the new year.
The rooms have every luxury you could possibly want , including beautiful surrounds and views.
Our host Carl is a delight, what ever we needed he provided.
Thats why we have decided to become regular visitors!
Linda & Graeme

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment, which had a full size kitchen , lounge , large bedroom with small sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Wonderful hosts Helen and Carl always make me welcome. Stay there three times a year. Beautiful breakfast overlooking the Tamar river. Clean and well presented rooms. Highly recommended. David Salton.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River House

Address: 39 Rostella Road, Dilston, Tasmania 7252, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Dilston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dilston
Price Range: $130 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The River House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4.5 star river-front contemporary accommodation less than 15 minutes from Launceston CBD and gateway to the Tamar Valley wine country. The River House is set in two hectares of peaceful mature gardens and Australian bush. This idyllic place is where the country meets the city, providing multiple options for you to seriously rest, relax and regenerate. We offer accommodation choices with both traditional and self catering in-house rooms, with gorgeous bathrooms and gourmet breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River House Dilston, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing