We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice Hosteria with excellent food”
Review of Yendegaia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yendegaia House
Ranked #1 of 5 Porvenir B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I really enjoyed my short stay here. The food was excellent and the service was great. A great place to stay. Only had one beer available though and it was not my favorite--Austral Beer, but I did drink my share. Also had an excellent Chilean wine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muncie_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 68 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

The one I thing I love about travelling is you often come across little gems in completely unexpected places. Porvenir is a small town in Tierra Del Fuego with a real frontier feel. It definitely feels like you have reached the end of the world and just walking around town is an experience in itself.

Staying at the hotel Yendegaia was probably one of the highlights of our trip. It is a small hotel with warm, bright, welcoming rooms and bags of character. It is in one of the historic buildings in Porvenir and the owners have obviously taken a lot of care to try and keep its original features. Our room was large, with comfortable beds and immaculately clean.

Downstairs was open plan with lots of communal space, including a seating area with lots of great books on Chile and the local area. There were also lots of beautiful hand knitted products on sale. The place just had a lovely feel about it, and we thoroughly enjoyed chilling out inside whilst the Patagonian weather did its worst outside.

We ended up staying here by chance. We had booked an overnight trip to see the King Penguins with fsexpeditions. It was probably one of the best trips we have ever been on. The son managed the hotel whilst the father ran the trips. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming, it felt like we were staying with family rather than in a hotel. I really wish we had been able to stay longer and we will definitely be back.

(As mentioned by some of the other reviewers the Croatian Club round the corner is great for dinner).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monty_Harpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I was in Porvenir last March and stayed in Hosteria Yendegaia. I am travelling around the world for over an year now doing a TV Show for a Brazilian cable channel and I can tell Cecilia, the owner, was among of the most helpful and elegant people I met in all my trip. She helped me in all details regarding to have the best experience in Tierra del Fuego. The accommodations are very good and I recommend the Hosteria as THE PLACE to stay in Porvenir. Cecilia also makes beautiful and necessary wool items. I bought a very nice Boina Patagonica to protect myself from the inclement and omnipresent winds that come from Antarctica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Porvenir is a city with very interesting architecture and the well-known 'end of the world'-atmosphere and surely deserves some time from any tourist travelling to this part of the world. I stayed in Yendegaia for one night, and found it excellent: first of all, the hotel itself is in a house with the architectural characteristics of the town, and the manager is renovating it. The rooms are spacious and clean, breakfast is absolutely adequate and the rooms are very nice. Surprisingly good quality WiFi is free with the room and the price is very reasonable.

The Croatian Club (recommended for meals) is just around the corner.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moritz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This small hotel was totally delightful. Porvenir is a small town with an intriguing "end of the line" atmosphere; Hosteria Yendegaia was warm, welcoming and comfortable. Our room was spacious (I believe some rooms are smaller), the beds were comfortable and hot water was plentiful and reliable. The house is of historic interest having been built in 1926, and much of the furniture is suitably old. Our dinner and breakfast were both ample and delicious. Locally spun wool and knitted crafts are for sale. Altogether I would have loved to have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneBNorfolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Africa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Alvaro_Seco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yendegaia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yendegaia House

Address: Croacia # 702, Porvenir 6300000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Porvenir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Porvenir
Price Range: $98 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an inn of family features where care and concern for the customer are personalized; we have the format of a small hotel, having the possibility to accommodate sixteen passengers. We have to your disposal six twin bedrooms and one triple room, all of them with private bath. We count, on the first floor, with spaces for sharing and a comfortable and spacious dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yendegaia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing