We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

The Lighthouse Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Pirnmill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This restaurant is a hidden gem. You take your own drink but they do supply glasses and bottle openers. The food is gorgeous and plentiful with everything sauced on Arran itself. Well recommended although you do have to travel to Pirnmill to visit it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karendurham12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    53
    21
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Pleasant Setting”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

If on Arran visit this place. Excellent day and evening menus with additional specials board. Superb setting by the sea and wonderful views. The place is unlicensed but are happy for you take along your own wine at night with no corkage charge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips with a fantastic view”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were staying overnight nearby so had booked a table at the Lighthouse. I asked for one by the window when booking so that we could enjoy the view out across the water whilst the sun was going down, it was spectacular. We had the Haggis 2 ways starter which was really good and the children all stole some of it and enjoyed it as well, then all 5 of us had the Fish and Chips which had come highly recommended and was very good. Friendly attentive service made for an enjoyable evening which as any parent of small children will know is not always the case when you go out for dinner. Remember that the Lighthouse is a Bring Your Own Booze restaurant, luckily our B&B owner put some of our wine in the fridge for us when we arrived so that we could enjoy a cold glass or two, if you forget the village shop next door has some beer and wine available.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This is a charming, welcoming place to eat.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were advised by a fellow traveller to try the place which is a cafe by day and a restaurant by night. We called in for lunch having driven along the most stunning coastline. We were warmly welcomed and we had a lovely lunch from a seafood menu. There was a good selection of light lunches at very reasonable prices and clearly of good quality. There was an obvious passion to deliver good food here. Visit and you won't be disappointed.
We were advised to book for evening meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Piggywiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

First-class meals and a friendly, welcoming service. Superb views across Kintyre. Can thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Restaurant also viewed

Lochranza, Isle of Arran
Machrie, Isle of Arran
 
Blackwaterfoot, Isle of Arran
Brodick, Isle of Arran
 

Been to The Lighthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing