We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We didn't want to leave'...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clisham B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pirnmill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clisham B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Pirnmill B&B and Inns
Snodland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave'...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

We spent a week in this lovely house.Diane is a gem, especially during her Craft' moments...she will explain if you stay there.
Great breakfast menu,super comfy room overlooking the sea.Very tranquil.The resident red squirrel was cute dashing around the garden.
We ate at The Lighthouse restaurant which was good.Take your own wine or,beer{no corking charge}.Unlike Creelers in Brodick who wanted to charge £3 to open your bottle'.We checked the menu at Creelers as it was advertised as the best sea food etc but,found it limited so,didn't go in.Were also put off by the corking charge.
The Kinloch hotel{Best Western} at,Blackwaterfoot looked a little drab on the outside but,the menu was good so we ate there twice.The food was wonderful and,not too pricey.
The Sannox hotel had a good menu too,the meal was the great,but,you won't need a pudding as our plates were piled high'.
Arran is a lovely island,amazing views around every corner.Lochranza is a good place to see red deer who graze on and,around the golf course and,come down to the beach most evenings.
I must mention The Curtain House in Lamlash.I went in to buy a gift as the shop has unusual gifts at very realistic prices unlike the usual holiday stuff.I returned two days later as I couldn't resist the amazing cushions on sale.This shop is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NessaJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

My sister and I spent four nights here recently sharing the twin-bedded room which was very comfortable with two armchairs, flat screen TV and a wonderful view of the sea with the Kintyre Peninsula in the distance. Only problem with that was Paul McCartney's "Mull of Kintyre" song going round my brain for days! The bathroom was next door and for our sole use. Both rooms were situated on a small landing away from other guests so were very private. Bathroom was a very pretty room with a window seat, lots of Arran Aromatics toiletries, large bath with overhead shower, very nicely decorated and plenty of hot water.

The breakfasts were excellent - choice of cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit, porridge, juice to begin with and could be followed with a full Scottish breakfast of eggs, bacon, mushrooms, potato scones, tomatoes or kippers (which I definitely recommend - delicious), plus toast, preserves, cafetierre coffee or tea. Plenty to eat and well cooked. The breakfast room is very attractive and has the same lovely view as both bedrooms. Plenty of guide books and leaflets to help guests plan their time on Arran.

Pirnmill is a very small village on the north-west coast. It has a very handy restaurant, the Lighthouse, almost next door which serves a large range of dishes every day except Monday although more geared towards meat eaters. Only one vegetarian dish which was only OK but at least there was one. There is also a small shop/post office nearby for a few basic items.

Arran is only about 20 miles long by 9 miles wide with a couple of roads going across the middle so everywhere is easy and fairly quick to get to. Can definitely recommend the Machrie Moor Stone Circles and the walk to the King's Cave. Brodick Castle grounds are worth seeing but the rooms in the Castle are rather dull and boring. Nice gift shop. The restaurant in the castle served a mercifully small portion of a very poor lentil broth (watery with too many dried herbs floating around) with a small air-filled roll (two bites and it was gone) which was very bad value for £3.25. Wish we'd waited and had the excellent soup in The Lighthouse later that day. Scones were good though.

Julia, the owner of Clisham B&B, is a very nice and friendly lady who made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed talking to her. Lots of interesting stories. She has a self-catering cottage next door which she rents out. May try that next time we are in Arran as it is a wonderful place to visit and four days just wasn't long enough.

Would definitely recommend this B&B and hope to return next year some time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vegetariantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

Booked in for 2 nights but stayed 3 as this b&b is in a lovely location (beautiful views towards the Mull of Kyntire) and Diane, the owner is very welcoming and helpful. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesrmLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Mrs MacDonald was a charming host who happily chilled our wine for us!
The room had super views across the inlet to Arran. The room was adequate in size with a super ensuite with a big shower. The bed was comfy and everywhere was spotlessly clean.
It was a five minute stroll along the seashore to the local restaurant (take you own bottle).
Breakfast was fine with a good choice. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoast2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

Won't repeat everything that was said in the other reviews because it was all true! Lovely, lovely place and friendly welcome. Beautiful views from any bedroom you get. Just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NALeavitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Lovely hidden gem in Pirnmill, a small village on the West coast of Arran. Good walking nearby and fantastic sea views from both bedroom windows. The double room is ensuite but the twin room has a separate bathroom (which is so lovely, it makes up for it!). Great breakfasts and Diane is really friendly - lovely lovely B&B and in a very quiet location. Would recommend car hire though as, although the bus service is good, the times are rather strange!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

Pirnmill is on the west coast of Arran, after Machrie Moor and before Lochranza. It's one of the quietest parts of Arran, and as such is a great place for people who want a break from the relative crowds in Brodick.

I was on a cycling holiday and stumbled across Clisham quite late in the evening. It proved a great place to stay: the owner Diane was really friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and very comfortable - the tranquillity was disturbed only by the swallows nesting in the eaves who awoke early.

The extra bonus with this place is that there is a restauraunt right next door which does very good home-cooked food. So as a package, staying at Pirnmill and eating at the Lighthouse made for the perfect evening.

Clisham also does a fine breakfast, and provided Chocolate mini-
animals. What more could a tired cyclist want?

  • Liked — welcome and views
  • Disliked — not all rooms ensuite
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pirnmill
0.0 mi away
The Glenartney
The Glenartney
#2 of 19 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Butt Lodge
Butt Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lochranza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hunters Guest House
Hunters Guest House
#3 of 19 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Clisham B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clisham B&B

Property: Clisham B&B
Address: Pirnmill KA27 8HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Pirnmill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pirnmill
Hotel Class:4 star — Clisham B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing