We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clisham B&B
Nearby Hotels
$210
LateRooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Hotel(Tarbert)
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$177
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Kames Hotel(Tighnabruaich)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gigha Hotel(Isle of Gigha)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
57
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslighthouse restaurantview of the waterdouble roomevery morningcomfortable roomsvisiting arranbird tablegood sizedianekintyreshoreislandbnbferryaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 68 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Diane really looked after us even before we had arrived. We were on a walking tour of Arran and had arranged for our bags to be transported to our next stop. The previous hotel had done some laundry for us but it had not dried in time so Diane had kindly put our damp laundry into the dryer and even folded it up for us. AMAZING! And far beyond my expectations! We arrived on a gloriously sunny day and sat in the garden in the sunshine looking at the view and sipping on something cold. Absolutely idylic. Our room was beautiful and of a very high standard throughout. A lovely breakfast too. We felt very rested and would have loved to have stayed for a few more nights. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safari_Traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Diane is a very nice, helpful great host. We found the room and bed to be very comfortable. The breakfast was well prepared and very delicious. We hope to return to Arran someday and if available will stay here again. It is a very good B&B and deserving of the 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronosbornemopars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

So I feel a bit mean writing about the Clisham B&B because the owner, Diane, is a very pleasant woman. But I am amazed when I read the reviews from people saying they had a very comfortable stay. We didn't sleep a wink because the mattress was the cheapest mattress we had ever slept on. The couple in the other room said exactly the same about the twin room they were in. The coils were so near the surface it was like sleeping on a bed of nails. It's a pretty basic thing to get right when you are a B&B owner. Also, I am very surprised about the 4 star grading of the property - maybe the inspectors haven't been for a while. The view of the sea was marred by the front garden which was like something from Steptoe & Son - old cars, engines, oil drums, bits of this and that all scattered around. On the plus side, it was nice and handy for the Lighthouse Restaurant a couple of doors up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Diane MacDonald is a very kind hostess, who runs a lovely bed and breakfast business in her home. Her rooms are large, clean and well appointed. Breakfast is excellent. Clisham is situated in a delightful, quiet village on the seafront and has the advantage of an excellent restaurant, the Lighthouse, almost next door, which has a bring your own bottle policy with no corkage. I you are looking for a peaceful break on the wonderful Isle of Arran, you could do no better than staying with Diane.
Donald and Monika Gordon
Tarland, Scotland

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We had the most amazing stay at Clisham B&B - and we couldn't have asked for more! Diane was the 'hostess of the mostest' - nothing was too much trouble - from chilling our wine in her fridge to having free-run of the breakfast room - it was home from home! And she was more than happy to share her wealth of knowledge about Arran - we found out things you wouldn't find in the guide books - true local knowledge. The rooms were stunning and very tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, comfortable and the most amazing views to the sea. And to top it all the breakfasts were delicious with a wide range to suit all tastes which set us up nicely for the day. What more could you ask for - a real jewel of Arran.

Room Tip: If you prefer spectacular views, wildlife and the most amazing sunsets in the world.... rather than the hustle & bustle of a city/town - then this is the B&B for you. And there's a BYO restaurant 2 doors away!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews