We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently High Standards”
Review of Sannox Bay Hotel & Restaurant - CLOSED

Sannox Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Somerset, England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Consistently High Standards”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We revisit Arran most years and always make a point of visiting this restaurant as it is one of the best places to eat on the Island. The owners have been in residence for many years and we have twice stayed at the hotel during short breaks.

As always, the front of house staff were cheerful,welcoming and attentive and the establishment has a very relaxed informal feel. The quality of food and value for money is exceptional, but be warned, if you don't have a big appetite ask for small helpings as the portions are always very generous.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilkos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food - huge portions!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had a bit of a wait for our meal, as it was full and that's always a good sign.
The meal was excellent. You will need a big appetite though, as the portions are huge!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coylehugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Lunch”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Popped here for lunch today, was met with a very warm welcome.
Lunch menu is decent and the portion sizes are very good, food tasted very fresh and the service was polite and helpful
Will be coming back again

Helpful?
1 Thank brit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely final night of our holiday”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Really loved the Sannox Bay. Friendly atmosphere, very welcoming staff and delicious food.
We had a lovely table in the Conservatory over looking the bay where we thoroughly enjoyed Tomato and Lentil Soup with Herb Bread, followed by Fillet Steak with a Red Wine Sauce, Fine Green Beans and Dauphinoise Potato. Delicious food beautifully served.
I can certainly recommend The Sannox Bay.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ailsa661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very family friendly and lovely meal and view”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were staying on Arran for a family holiday (3 generations of the family) and went to the Sannox Bay Hotel for dinner. We had a toddler with us and we had lovely service and they were really accommodating to us. The meal was delicious and we had a table looking out the bay and were able to watch 2 seals bobbing up and down in the bay. We will definitely be back on our next visit to Arran. We would really recommend this hotel to other visitors.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sannox Bay Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Lochranza, Isle of Arran
 
Brodick, Isle of Arran
 
Machrie, Isle of Arran
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing